We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, everything we were looking for and more!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

allie2730
Cheshire
1 review
“Amazing, everything we were looking for and more!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

We stayed here in Apartment C for 4 nights as a family of 6. We were greeted by John who wasted no time in pointing out the sights and advising on walking routes to town - so helpful!
The apartment was very spacious, extremely clean and contained everything that we could have possibly needed - a real home from home.
The views were breathtaking and have to be seen to be believed!
Location was fabulous, just a short walk to town. Lots for all the family to do on Mount Titlis- the toboggan run is a must, not had that much fun in years!
All in all a perfect holiday in the most wonderful location in the loveliest accommodation I've stayed in for a long time.

Date of stay: February 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2011
Hi Alison,

Lovely of you to post this review, you are very kind and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is very important to us that guests expectations are met and ideally exceeded and reviews definitely help other potential guests to get an accurate and unbiased view of the Alphaven experience.

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards
John & Ursula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailJames
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Alphaven was everything we dreamt of and much more!!”
Reviewed 13 February 2011 for a stay in November 2010

We stayed in Apartment A at Alphaven and it was pure luxury. Everything within the apartment was absolutely perfect with stunning panoramic views, Log fire, outside hot tub.
It was extremely spacious and very private indeed. We spent most our days within the apartment and really didn't feel the need to leave - it was that wonderful!
The owners John and Ursula were extremely helpful throughout the whole booking process and communication with them was first class. I would highly recommend this place as it really is a little gem. We look forward to returning to Alphaven in the near future.

Date of stay: November 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive_Chr...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“you will be very fortunate to stay here”
Reviewed 21 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

we are a family of 4 (2 teenagers) from New Zealand on a 2 month tour of Europe. This place is a holiday from a holiday. The owners description is accurate though the view is even more stunning than any description. We visited on train and so didn't have a car to manage the hill. Some unfit people, (like my wife) may find the 20 min (15min if you are fit) walk up the hiill from the village daunting. My wife walked down to the regular bus and taxied back up (about 15-20chf) so no problem; the view is so stunning and any location in the village will not have this and will have street (or party) noise. All the family rate this apartment (B) and location the best, and best value, of the tours we have done.

Date of stay: January 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2010 for a stay in May 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2008
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Modern and spacious
Liked least: N/A
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Luxemburg
Reviewed 5 March 2010 for a stay in February 2010

Date of stay: February 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2010 for a stay in December 2009

Date of stay: December 2009
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No fireplace
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham
Reviewed 4 March 2010 for a stay in March 2009

Date of stay: March 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.