We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Alpine Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment A  Private Covered HOT TUB with stunning views of the 'Titllis' Mountain (3200m)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment A  Private Covered HOT TUB with stunning views of the 'Titllis' Mountain (3200m)
Apartment A  Living Area with Breathtaking Panoramic Views through Floor to Ceiling Windows ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking. Apartment A is on the Middle Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Apartment A  Private Covered HOT TUB with stunning views of the 'Titllis' Mountain (3200m)
Apartment A  Living Area with Breathtaking Panoramic Views through Floor to Ceiling Windows
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking. Apartment A is on the Middle Floor
Apartment A  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment A  Living Area  180- degree View
ALPHAVEN  featuring Apartment A's Terrace and Private Covered HOT TUB
Apartment A  Living Area featuring Office Space & Reading Area
Apartment A   Fully equipped Kitchen and Dining area
Apartment A  Office Area
Apartment A  Master Bedroom with Stunning Morning Views and Sunshine
Apartment A  Very Spacious Terrace with gorgeous Views across Engelberg to 'Mount Titlis' (3200m)
Apartment A  Very spacious Luxury Bathroom
ALPHAVEN Winter
Apartment A  Reading Area
Apartment A   Living Area and  Front Balcony
View from Apartment A  Engelberg at Dusk
Apartment A  Office Space & Reading Area
Apartment A  Sitting Area with Log Burning Fireplace
Apartment A  Master Bedroom with Stunning Panoramic Views and Morning Sunshine
ALPHAVEN   Front view of the house (Apartment A is on the middle floor)
Apartment A  Sitting Area with wonderful views surrounding you
View from Apartment A  The Hahnen Mountain (originally named Engelberg or Angel Mountain)
Apartment A   Sitting Area   WINTER
View from Apartment A  the mighty Titlis Mountain (3200 meters) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Apartment A  Private HOT TUB with Breathtaking Views   WINTER
View from Apartment A  Top of Church spire in low mist
View from Apartment A   WINTER  Tree in front of the house
Apartment A  Stunning View from the Sofa!!
ALPHAVEN  Winter Morning (Alphaven is on the left)
Apartment A  Living Area featuring Log Burning Fire
Apartment A  Sitting Area with absolutely Breathtaking Panoramic Views ... the best in Switzerland
View form Apartment A   ENGELBERG
ALPHAVEN    Summer
View from Apartment A   The mighty Titlis Mountain (3200 metres)
View from Apartment A   The Benedictine Monastery Church at dusk
View from Apartment A   Daybreak
View from Apartment A   The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iain P
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect Alpine Retreat”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had a wonderful relaxing time here. The views are incredible, the apartment is spacious and well maintained and the terrace and hot tub are perfect for unwinding at the end of the day. Can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald Q
Queens, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience!!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This place is just breathtaking!!! The views from this apartment is one of the reasons why i love to travel. Until this day my family cannot stop talking about how great our stay was at Alphaven. John and Ursula were just wonderful hosts. They made sure you felt comfortable and had everything you needed for your stay. They were always available for questions and suggestions on where to go, eat and site see. Word of caution though.....the apartment is on top of a hill and not meant to be walked to unless you're in excellent shape. There is a bus that takes you half way but you still will need to walk up the other half. Nonetheless, i would not mind staying here again in the future and would definitely recommend this place to anyone willing to experience something unique and live like the locals do. Thanks John and Ursula for making our stay special!!!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevens15...
Clackamas, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon Highlight!”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had the most wonderful time at John & Irsula's Alphaven for a part of our honeymoon!

The apartment was so clean, welcoming and beautiful, not to mention the stunning views from our balcony! It was stormy while we were there and we watched the most beautiful lightening storm over the mountains from our balcony. We enjoyed walking around Engleberg, eating the best fondue we've ever had and the incredible gondola rise up to Titlis.

John was so great to plan with and left some great tips for our stay in a engleberg. Everything was so perfect--I can't think of a better word for it! We hope to someday return to Alphaven, since we've been dreaming of it ever since we left. Definitely the highlight of our honeymoon!

Thank you so much, for everything!

Amelia
Oregon, USA

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KyZane
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had the pleasure to stay in Engelberg, Alphaven at Ursula & John O'Brien's apartments for our family ski holiday this year.

The apartments were clean and kitted out to the highest of standards. The views breath takingly beautiful, the apartments with utmost luxury.

John was absolutely superb and helpful with all my questions prior to our visit, which made our stay even more enjoyable and relaxing.

A stress free stay! Most highly recommend these apartments and the professionalism of service.

Thank you - we will definitely be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kp1612
Pottstown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The views from Alphaven will leave you breathless! Paradise.”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have had great VRBO experiences every time but this rental just blew us away! The pictures posted won us over and they are indeed very accurate. We stayed in the beautiful apartment A which was fully and beautifully appointed, extremely clean and comfortable. It has every amenity. Engleberg is charming. It's citizens are friendly and helpful as well as patient with English speaking tourists. Skiing was challenging but spectacular but Titlis has plenty of non-skiiing activities too-sledging (sledding and tobogganing), hiking, cross country skiing, the glacial cave and the suspension bridge. Even lunch up on the mountain can be exhilarating. Try the Igloo Bar or the restaurant at Joch Pass for a fun vibe. The hike (and it is a hike) from town to Alphaven and then up the stairs to the apartment is for those who can handle physical exertion (or who want to get in shape!). But you can stop to rest and take in the view or hop in the Gin Bar at the Terrace Hotel for a libation and sometimes live music. Or simply stay put at Alphaven! It is that nice or an accommodation-you really won't want to leave. The owners were fantastic to work with and it is easily accessible by train and taxi.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashleymre...
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Honeymoon in Engelberg”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

AlpHaven is the BEST place in Engelberg!! This was the highlight of our honeymoon, and having traveled internationally, the highlight of any trip we have ever taken. The house and views were better than we could have ever hoped for, and Candy was so hospitable and helpful. We couldn't have felt more at home

The house couldn't have been more thoughtfully stocked between the amenities, binder of info, firewood, comfy bed/linens, etc..I can't sing its praises enough. The views speak for themselves, in which pictures don't do it justice! We agree with your description of AlpHaven having the most beautiful views of Engleberg day and night.

Since we left, I can't stop thinking about coming back! We will be getting to work on our next trip back soon :)

We will never forget our first trip (hopefully of many) to Engleberg, especially thanks to AlpHaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
854joseph...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unbelievable! The most memorable place we have every stayed!”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We travel often, but this was our first stay in Switzerland, and it didn't disappoint. Alphaven is probably the most beautiful and memorable place that we have ever stayed. During our 45 day trip from Amsterdam to Venice, the absolute highlight was our stay and John and Ursula's place in Engelberg. The view and ambiance far exceeded our expectations and John was very helpful in advising us on places to dine and sights to see. We will definitely be back to Alphaven!!! Thanks John and Ursula!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing