We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phantastic Summer Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Waldegg
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phantastic Summer Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed in Engelberg for 3 days in August 2013. We got an upgrade to one of the brand new rooms with a beautiful view of Mount Titlis and the valley. There was free wifi and each room seems to be equipped with an iPad. Super friendly and helpful staff, great swiss food!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoKo407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    29
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
53
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very good service when we arrived late and straight being served our dinner. The front desk is also the server in the dining room. The room was good size and clean with a big balcony and beautiful view of the valley and mountain. It is a bit far from town but I think it is the best way to see Switzerland's beautiful landscape. Such a fresh air...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fri3nd4s0uL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

As the second last leg of our group tour, we stayed in this hotel for two nights in end of June 2012. The experience was unique just like the atmosphere and weather of Switzerland. A bit away from Lucerne in the middle of nature what one goes to see in Switzerland.

the hotel was soothing like a home with very pleasant and courteous staff. We enjoyed to the hilt with good breakfast.

Rooms were good with balconies opening to the valley giving a view to the cable cars to Mt Titlis. Good landscapes, a delight to photographers.

overall a very good experience. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick up rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATUL_K506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p.tikva
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

stayed in the hotel on 14-16.2.13 , rhe room and the south view was good, the service was good,the food was good and the spa was good. will come back again with my fhotel car took family.
transportation from zuirich airport was very simple, hotel car took me from and to the train station ,bus stop in front directly to Titlis lifts.

Room Tip: highly reccomened
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaakov y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We climbed the steep path to the hotel. We wanted to see what it was like. It was the end of the season and hardly anyone around. The staff were very welcoming and we had a drink at a corner table. We found out about the refurbishments that were to take place and other information about the hotel. Given the attention and care that we were given, it is definitely a place where we would consider staying the next time we are in Engelberg.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeyaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have stayed at the Waldegg a number of times in recent years and had noticed that it was getting tired. We have just stayed in August, 2012 and are delighted that it is back up to standard under new management. The staff are very obliging and were wonderful with our learning disabled son, who is strictly gulten free and dairy free. The chef produced an equivalent GFDF meal for everything on the menu!
There were a couple of coach parties while we stayed but they were separated discretely from the main dining area and we were vuirtually unaware if their presence. The spa, with its amazing views across the valley, remains one of the key things that draws us back to the Waldegg.
The only downside of this hotel is that it is quite a walk uphill from the town. However, a phone call to reception always brought the hotel minibus to collect us within minutes.

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floors have best views. End rooms on each floor have separate sleeping area for a chlild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is one of the better hotels we stayed in during our Europe tour. The rooms are spacious with a beautiful view of Mount Titlis especially from the balcony. We preferred a top floor room. The hotel is not very expensive, so you can be here and explore a major part of Switzerland.
A word of caution.....
If you are going as part of a package tour, there was talk amongst some groups to lock all your belongings when you go out. We did not have a problem but it is better to take precautions than repent later.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Bellevue-Terminus
Bellevue-Terminus
#10 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldegg

Property: Hotel Waldegg
Address: Schwandstrasse 91 | 6390 Engelberg, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Engelberg
#1 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#3 Spa Hotel in Engelberg
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldegg 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Waldegg enjoys an elevated south-facing position in Engelberg. It offers panoramic mountain views, a spa area with an indoor pool, and a restaurant. Free Wi-Fi is available, and a free ski bus stops right in front. The sunbathing lawn, the salt bath in the spa area, and the restaurant also offer panoramic views of the village and the mountains. The Waldegg Hotel's spa area can be used free of charge and includes aromatic steam baths, a sauna, and a fitness room. Various massages and treatments are also available. Bathrobes, slippers and towels are provided on request. Swiss and international cuisine and seasonal dishes are served in the restaurant which features a terrace. Fresh fruits are provided in the lobby. A free shuttle service to Engelberg Train Station is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Waldegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Engelberg
Waldegg Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing