We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay.”
Review of Hotel Waldegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Waldegg
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here in the summers for 3 Nights.

Got a room on the corner which meant it was a little bigger.

Nice view from the balcony. Lovely heated swimming pool and Steam and sauna facilities to keep you going.

Nice views from the restaurant and to top it off very friendly staff too.. :) :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank darshit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Waldegg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for a week long ski vacation and were very pleased. The staff made us feel right at home upon arrival and conintued to be helpful and friendly our entire stay. Cannot say enough nice things about the staff. The rooms were large and comfortable, the food was good and the spa/wellness area fantastic (great pool). A great find in Engelberg!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff, well appointed rooms, wonderful pool and spa, fine dining. And all just 90 mins from Zurich airport, making this an ideal place for a w/e ski break. We hired a car at the airport but the hotel will pick you up at the station if you go by train, and the bus to the lifts goes from the hotel door every half hour. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Superior room is worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days at the Waldegg hotel in Engelberg for a ski vacation. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The staff was charming warm and welcoming. We had an upgrade to a wonderfull room with an amazing view of the Titlis. Everyday we went to the spa after a long day of skiing to relax in the most amazing warm pool and sauna. The restaurant was excelent with a gorme dinner every night. All in all we had the most relaxing and fun holiday we could possibly imagine. We especially want to thank Monique for the warm welcome and loving hospitality. We warmly recommend spending a vacation at the hotel and we would definately return...

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kalmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Staying here during a distributor week with a Swiss company. Hotel was amazing and the service wonderful. I was there during the spring, but a winter stay must be amazing. A little way from the town centre, but a minor moan.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Had a wonderful and memorable stay. The staff at the reception, restaurant and gym/swimming pool is very attentive and always ready to help. They do that extra bit. Rooms were fantastic and cosy.
Food is great too.
It's a little bit of a walk from the railway station but you can dial and call a cab.. So that not a problem.
Try getting a room on the higher floors, views are stunning.
Will love to go back sometime.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kanishk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Found my self lost in Engelberg, hiking up this mountain in the middle of the night ... and the Waldegg lights acted as a beacon of hope.
The service was beyond awesome, staff were so nice & friendly, the amenities lovely, the view fabulous and the food excellent.
If you find yourself up there, you must try their Creme Brulee. It's has a hint of rosemary in it, that just makes it DIVINE!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#4 of 23 in Engelberg
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angels Lodge
The Angels Lodge
#13 of 23 in Engelberg
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sporthotel Eienwaldli
Sporthotel Eienwaldli
#9 of 23 in Engelberg
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldegg

Address: Schwandstrasse 91 | 6390 Engelberg, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Engelberg
#1 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Spa Hotel in Engelberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £178 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldegg 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Waldegg enjoys an elevated south-facing position in Engelberg. It offers panoramic mountain views, a spa area with an indoor pool, and a restaurant. Free Wi-Fi is available, and a free ski bus stops right in front. The sunbathing lawn, the salt bath in the spa area, and the restaurant also offer panoramic views of the village and the mountains. The Waldegg Hotel's spa area can be used free of charge and includes aromatic steam baths, a sauna, and a fitness room. Various massages and treatments are also available. Bathrobes, slippers and towels are provided on request. Swiss and international cuisine and seasonal dishes are served in the restaurant which features a terrace. Fresh fruits are provided in the lobby. A free shuttle service to Engelberg Train Station is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waldegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Engelberg
Waldegg Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing