We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central accommodation with a family feel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Engelberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Engelberg
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
West Berks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good central accommodation with a family feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Engelberg for three nights after New Year for some skiing. We found the staff extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful on arrival with a good understanding of English. Prior to our arrival the hotel was able to suggest car parks, connections, ski hire and other important information which helped our stay greatly. Breakfast was good and a reasonable selection of breads, cheeses, ham, cereals and pastries. We enjoyed evening dinner once and sampled the hotel's fine award winning cuisine. The service was great, however there was a tiny bit of confusion regarding the quote they gave prior to our arrival and the bill price. The basic room price is quoted per person, not per room. The management were very swift in finding a suitable solution for both parties. The hotel is dog friendly and allows dogs in the rooms, this is great and was a key reason in us choosing the hotel. I would stay here again on a similar visit to this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWCWestBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldoni Infange... N, Responsable réception at Hotel Engelberg, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you very much for your message in month of January.
It's helping us a lot.

We are wishing you a very nice day and a wonderfull spring time

Nadia Baldoni Infanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    46
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
42
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

"Great Experience"
We booked this hotel for out honeymoon in Switzerland. Its the cheap and the best.
The connectivity is good and facilities are amazing. Best part is the location of the hotel, the sight seen is amazing with all the beauty. For the people having less budget, this hotel is fun.
Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramanpahwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

We went with a group of 8 people, and I can say that the price for the stay was very good. Some rooms have bathrooms, and ours did not. It was ok anyway, since we were mentally prepared for it. The rooms were a ok size, but the beds are too short for people over 180cm.

We did not try the restaurant, and I would have appreciated a bit more choices for the breakfast - but overall, this hotel is for travellers that needs the basics. A (short) bed to sleep in and breakfast in the morning.

The staff were friendly and the hotel is located in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montgomery1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed in Hotel Engelberg during our skiing holiday. I booked the hotel via Engelberg web pages for two adults and a child. In the alps, when you a travelling with a child, there is always some excitement about the size of the room. Hotel Engelberg was a pleasant surprise: we had a large room in the topmost floor and our window was facing the Brunni cable car.

We had half board and the quality of food was excellent. The dinner had three courses and a separate menu for child. Also the breakfast was very good, they also had several Swiss cheeses in the breakfast buffet. New years buffet was huge!

The staff was very friendly. The rooms are clean. The hotel is located on the pedestrian zone, so there is no noise coming from cars. There is a short was to the ski buss and to the train station. I can truly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is not five star, but it is very cosy and comfortable.

  • Liked — Cosy, clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2007

We were very happy with our experience at the Minotel Engelberg, from the moment we checked-in until the moment we checked-out. The rooms were not as updated as we had expected based on the website's claim; however, they were exceptionally clean and comfortable, including the bathrooms and shower room which were cleaned throughout the day. The breakfast was simple, but very filling - for three days we never had to stop skiing to eat lunch. The staff was delightfully friendly and helpful. Due to the age of the building we were concerned about the potential for noise; however, this was never a problem. The guests were very respectful of each other and even though our room overlooked the main street it was completely quiet thanks to the new insulated windows! The room temperature was consistently comfortable and there was always hot water in the shower (great water pressure too!). If you are looking for a 4 star resort this isn't the place for you, but if you don't mind having to walk down the hall to take a shower or use the bathroom then by all means book a room! I was curious to see what the experience would be like and I am happy to say that I will come back and stay here again! I would highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Liked — How clean everything was.
  • Disliked — Rooms could be updated.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baclausn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engelberg

Property: Hotel Engelberg
Address: Dorfstrasse 14, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Engelberg
Engelberg Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing