We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veyr good and well priced hotel”
Review of Hotel Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Terrace
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I had a ski weekend in Engelberg with my friends and we had very good time to terrace hotel. The breakfast and the service was very good. It is very convinient since it is close to the train station. Finaly, the view is amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanValjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2010

Just spent a long ski weekend in the Terrace Hotel, Engelberg. It must have been a beautiful hotel in its heydey - it's situated above the village, connected to it by lifts and tunnels and is lit up at night in a way that's reminiscent of Harrods (!). The main building has Art Nouveau touches, is stuffed full of antiques (all for sale!) and could be lovely but it all looks really tired. There is a tiny bar adjacent to the huge entrance lobby but the only other bar is in the disco. The main restaurant is like a canteen, packed full of mosly German holidaymakers on all-inclusive deals. There was a real sense of Them and Us between those on the deal and the rest of us who were on B&B and were seated in a quieter side room overlooking the mountain. The buffet dinners are expensive (39SF) and very average but the breakfasts are good. Avoid rooms in the annex - they are tiny and only have showers (and especially the ones nearest the lift, which are very noisy) but do ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a week. Really good choice - excellent view, stylish building, and most important - All inclusive package. Very convenient for those who are skiing - so nice to get beer/ wine / coffe / tea (unlimited) plus some soup and cake in the afternoon. That is before dinner starts! Staff is very friendly. Good entertainment program at night that does not disturb the guests who are not attending.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_traveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Right from the beginning, the hotel exceeded our expectations. A bright red board with the hotel name welcomed us.

We had to walk through a tunnel and catch an elevator to reach the hotel. This in itself was adventurous. The tunnel was well lit and the elevators spacious enough to accomodate our entire group. Our baggages were transported to/from the vehicle by the hotel staff.

The reception was excellent and the waiting area was quite large. We were served with hot cup of tea/chocolate and made us feel good in the cold weather outside.

The restaurant menu surprised us. It was exhaustive and there were all varieties of food available. We had opted for a buffet. The dining area was also very large.

The rooms were pretty and neatly maintained. The hotel was located close to Mount Titlis. It was easy to reach the hotel after a long day at Mt Titlis.

It was a memorable stay at this hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tourist094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed in the 2 person 'luxury' room. Room was really small, everything was really aged and shower jumped from cold to hot and back.
The breakfast was good and the hotel also looks good from the inside; that is true.
The most upsetting thing was the price 280 CHF for 1 night; you are in a ski resort; but you might expect something more for that kind of money. Reno

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ski-fanatic-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My partner and myself spent Christmas 2009 at Hotel Terrace. It was simply wonderful from the moment we arrived on Christmas Eve (from Ireland). Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the splendid view of the Swiss snow clad mountain range. Listening to the Benedictine Monastery bells chime, staring at the ski run and the tall well lit Christmas tree in the town of the fabulous dream like Engelberg. The hotel carpark and grounds are quite spectacular with the trees lit up for Christmas and the gluevine and foodfare on offer free of charge to guests in the grounds with music to suit the Christmas festivities of Christmas Eve with Carol singers in the background. Romantis and warm environment. The hotel bedrooms were comfortable, warm and inviting. Staff were very helpful at all times and made our Christmas very special. Food was perfect for the Christmas fayre. Great location for hotel. We had a fabulous and fantastic Christmas and enjoyed our time in Engelberg at The Hotel Terrace.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Dundalk_Co_Louth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We stayed here for a ski tournament and were booked in this hotel. The room (7 was mine) gives just enough comfort for your stay. They are not too big, and for this party-week I didn't need more than just a bed and a shower. So, for that purpose it fits. If you stay longer in the room it is probably too small.
What was great about this hotel was its food. Every night a big buffet, with plenty of choice and every night a different theme. The waiters were dressed according the theme: Nice.
The breakfast in the morning was great as well, like the diner a big buffet. Enough to get a lot of energy for an active day in the mountains.
Disadvantage of this hotel: the lifts that you need to take to get to the village.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace

Address: Terracestrasse 33, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £102 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Terrace is situated on a south-facing slope in Engelberg and is surrounded by majestic mountains. The hotel is just a short lift ride from the village centre and the bus stop for the free ski shuttle to the cable car station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Terrace Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing