We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Strongman”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect for Strongman”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for the night after the Fisherman Friend Strongman run. Many services were given that are not always common in hotels and they were all very appreciated! First of all, we arrived by train and were hoping to just drop our bags off at the reception and get our room after the race, as it was not even noon yet. The hotel is ideally located directly across from the train station, so no hassle with bags. When we arrived, they had our room ready and we were allowed to check in. First plus. Then the next day, breakfast was served until 11 (awesome) and check out was not until 1:00! That was super great and I wish it was the standard for all hotels!!!

Our room (109) was a big room in the remodeled side of the hotel. The decoration was really tasteful and had many original touches that I have not seen elsewhere. Lots of though and care when into the design.

Room Tip: room 109 is a large remodeled room with a nice sitting area and couch and all that. It has three la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Chris
Congratulations to participate in this year's Strongman Run and thank you for taking time to provide feedback about our hotel.
Of course we are always striving to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible and appreciate it very much if this is appreciated by our guests.
It's great that you like our "style" and hope to see you soon, Sina Filliger

P. S. Weekend`s breakfast is always untill 12.00 clock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    42
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
38
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My stay was perfect at Hotel Bellevue -Terminus. We were upgraded to Junior Suite because of large tourist group staying there. Room was excellent with all modern amenities and a open plan tub area overlooking the Alps. Hotel is few steps from the train station. Bus for the cable car is just across the hotel. Restaurant Yucatan was nice but dull may be cos of off-season in May. Our breakfast was very good , A-la-carte in a small room as the big hall was occupied by tourist groups. Overall a beautiful stay in Engelberg ...

Room Tip: Go for newly renovated junior suite or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr SSS MRCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Dr SSS...
Thanks for taking time to give us a feedback to your stay at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Engelberg and appreciate the upgrade in a Junior Suite.
We hope to see you again, yours sincerely Sina Filliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

the renovated rooms are very nice and clean, great beds to sleep and watch football on tv, bathroom and facilities are excellent. It was a big pleasure to wake up and to go to bed.
Breakfast was like a dinner party, half pension very good price-quality, and the bus service in the village to all the venues is a great extra service. And: we had six days blue sky.
Thanks to all the employees to enjoy our stay and thanks Fredy Miller for your strong advise to come to and stay in Engelberg with his big and nice slopes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frits B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Frits
Thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel and team. We had a great week with you and your family, too and really look forward to your next visit in Engelberg.

Roger und Sina Filliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut USA
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This centrally located hotel in Engelberg was built in 1898. From the outside it's classical in it's style and inside it has been partly renovated. Rooms are very modern, clean and fresh if not to say hip. The view are breathtaking. It has a very nice and contemporary bar with live entertainment on some weekdays. Included in the hotel is a mexican restaurant. Staff is friendly. Breakfast buffet is somewhat below the very highstanding swiss standard, albeit breakfast is included in the room price. If you stay in this pleasant and friendly place make sure you reserve a room in the new and renovated section.

Room Tip: Out to the front of the hotel and in the renovated section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picafloralpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Nice to hear that you felt so comfortable with us and thank you very much for your review. During the renovation of the hotels south wing in summer 2011, it was our aim to take the hotel opened in 1898 into the 21st century without forgetting its roots. We have interpreted elements of the Belle Epoque new and combined modern styles. We are very pleased that you like the result.
Our restaurants and bars have different looks and offers so that all guests can choose their favorite place to be comfortable.
I am very surprised that our breakfast offer has not convinced. We have a very rich and changing range and present it visually appealing. Sorry to disappoint you.
It is nice to hear that you appreciate our investment in the newly renovated part and will decide in the future for the "new room wing”. This confirms our intention to completely convert even the north wing in the coming years.
Thanks again for your kind words I will let our Service and Houskeeping crews know about your praises.
Sina Filliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We took the budget room, but the price is far from cheap (320 chf)for what you get. There was no private shower or toilet. The shower was clean but the temperature of the water changed constantly. Everything in the room was clean but very outdated. Parking fees, touristtax and annulation fees are not included. For the same price you can have a nice room a bit more outside the center.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank m q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear guests
Thank you for your feedback.
You have booked one of our rooms in the non-renovated north wing of the category "budget". In this very low-priced category -offering swiss lodge comfort - the rooms have only a handwash- basin in the room itself, with shower and WC on the same floor as it is mention in the hotel discribtion.
Yes, it is true, parking, taxes and cancellation fees are not included in the room, but even that is writen in your confirmation and is handled like this in every hotel all over the world. What you have forgotten to mention is that you have paid for a double room for two people and two nights for the weekend 320.00 CHF. I think this information is relevant for all readers of this commentary.
Sincerly Sina Filliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked this hotel with very little expectation because of its moderate price, but got a wonderful surprise in return! The location is very convenient as its right next to the bus and train station. We got there in the late afternoon, but we still manage to walk around the town before sunset because its right in the middle of the town. It's also a short walking distance to the cable car to go up to the Titlis and the view up there is absolutely amazing.

But the thing that stood out for me the most is the hospitality by the reception at the hotel. I regret that I didn't catch his name, but he was really helpful in every request we had from finding a great restaurant to buying the train ticket to our next destination.

The only thing I find peculiar is the design of the bathroom as it doesn't have a door and offer very little privacy, but it was fine with me because I went with my wife.

The bottom line is, we had a great time in engelberg and Bellevue is a very big reason for it. DEFINITELY WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Tony
Thank you very much for your nice words and the compliments to our staff.
The aim of our young, dynamic and international team is to showcase a new form of hospitality where no wish is too great, no request goes unheeded and each day our guests`holiday is a truly memorable one.
See you soon, Sina Filliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was late in the evening that my group reached to this hotel, and being an indian i realized it was quite a nice weather for me, just a little cold, anyways ,,,, the hotel is generally very clean, light adjustments from every place especially bed sides is appreciable,,, decent furniture, iPod/ iPhone docks were super exciting,,, we had nice sleep for two nights,,,,,, but families watch out,,, they don't have latches in the washrooms,,, wonder if it is the new European trend or what,, the same door that slides between the toilet and the washroom,,,,,, was pretty strange for us (giggle)
over all a nice quaint experiience,,, :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GauravAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sir
so nice to hear that you had an exiting trip to switzerland and to our Hotel Bellevue-Terminus.
When we rebuilt the hotel in summer 2011, we tried to get the latest technical solutions for things like light adjustments or Multimedia Device. The look of a room can be so different, depending the furniture an materials you us - we tried our best.
We hope to see you again, best regards Sina Filliger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Engelberg Trail Hotel
Engelberg Trail Hotel
#8 of 21 in Engelberg
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#10 of 21 in Engelberg
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue-Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue-Terminus

Property: Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 10, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellevue-Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first major phase of renovations at the Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, which first opened in 1898, was completed between May and November 2011. The south wing was completely gutted and has been replaced with a contemporary interior. The building services and all the safety requirements are now once again state-of-the-art. The acoustics have also been taken into account with a five- layer floor structure, and the thermal insulation boosted with triple-glazed windows. But it’s not just the interior design that’s a talking point – the look of the rooms is just a s eye-catching. In the Hotel ’s new rooms the Belle Epoque style has been combined with modern elements and in some cases entirely re-interpreted. We have attached a great deal of importance to the aesthetics of the materials, and our style might certainly be defined by the notion of “less is more”. We want our rooms to be the expression of a contem porary cosmopolitan lifestyle in a fin-de-siecle setting, something we like to call fusion. Since April 2017 the north wing is under construction. There will be 31 brand new rooms in October 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellevue-Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue-Terminus Hotel Engelberg
Bellevue Terminus Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing