We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent at the price, but past its prime”
Review of Bellevue-Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue-Terminus
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent at the price, but past its prime”
Reviewed 27 February 2010

The location is good excelent with respect to the very few restaurants and shops in town, but quite a long walk to the Titlis lift. However, busses leave frequently right outside the hotel so location is not an issue. If you arrive by train, it couldn't be easier.

The place must have been very nice once: the lobby bears witness to former times of some splendor. Today, the partially refurbished lobby with a lounge bar and a fireplace is not too bad. However, everything else is worn down and somewhat sad. The price is fairly low compared to other Engelberg hotels, and this is great, but it also means that the hotel attracts groups of young people, so be prepared for some noise.

There are rooms with and without private showers. The shared showers are clean, but, of course, uninspiring.

Engelberg is a small and very expensive ski area, so you may be better off considering an altogether different destination.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runsfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    41
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
37
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I stayed two nights here with a friend, during a 10-day ski trip to Engelberg and Andermatt. We'd come from the Youth Hostel (Jugendherberge) down the road and this - for the same price or cheaper - was more central, comfortable and 'grown up' - as well as quieter.
It's a handsome and faded 'grand hotel'-era building, with high ceilings, grand-ish entrance, super-wide (and creaky) corridors and staircase and quite a stylish renovated reception/bar, over about four storeys. There's a lift. It's right opposite the station, a minute's walk to the main street and next to the ski bus stop. Our room (SF50 pppn) was basic, with two comfy single beds, a wardrobe, a basin and a huge (and unnecessary) desk.
We used a shared shower and loo on the same floor, but had it to ourselves. Nothing is spanking new but it's all comfy and adequate; the shower is powerful, everything works. There are also three-bedded rooms; en suite is almost double the price. You can also stay on half-board. There are two computers with very quick internet; SF1 for seven mins.
Breakfast - in a huge dining hall - is excellent: just as good as I've had in far more expensive hotels in Switzerland and Austria. The boot room is just warm enough to dry out boots; the mountain guides' office (and one of the ski schools) is in the same building; one of the apres-ski bars (Yucatan) is also part of the same building but seems totally sound-proofed. This is where I'll stay next time I come to Engelberg (a great place for off-piste, by the way).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Check-in-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orewa Beach, NZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

We accidentally booked this hotel with a shared bathroom instead of a private bathroom (got excited by the cheaper price that popped up on our screens and didnt read the fine print ;-) it was the STC website) but in the end this was fine for our one night stay. The room was much larger than we expected and has a single couch, desk and chair, wardrobe and a sink and mirror as well. The view from the room was quite lovely of the mountains. The shared bathrooms were kept clean, no complaints there. Where the reception is there is a large lobby which feels quite homely with all the couches though could do with a lick of paint here and there. The receptionists were always friendly and efficient. Breakfast had cereals, yoghurt, cold cuts and breads. The breakfast room is looking a bit tired but nothing a bit of paint etc couldnt fix. Location wise it is right opposite the train station and was about 10mins walk to the bottom of Titlis. Overall we have no complaints about the hotel, it is looking a bit tired and a bit of maintenance would lift the place, but otherwise was fine for a budget stay in an otherwise quite expensive area to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
216 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

Hotel: Big old historic hotel outside the train station in the center of Engelberg. Spacious high-cielinged lobby and dining rooms are reminiscent of a previous era of mountain escapes in Switzerland. Large reception desk, usually with just one person on duty. Hotel upkeep has been simple and spartan on the inside. Nothing fancy, aside from the structure itself which is clearly a historic place. Inside is kept functional and practical, as the winter sports will surely leave their mark on the carpets, etc. Stay here for low price, location and simplicity.
Room: Basic and simple, though with high cielings, bright big windows and ours even had a nice balcony looking out the front of the hotel! Good closet space, as well. We were in a quad, with 2 single beds and 2 beds bunked. Simple wooden frames and basic mattresses.
Location: Center of town of Engelberg, directly across the street from the train station. In the center of town, with a popular apres-ski bar outside in front of the hotel, as well as a popular nightlife bar/restaurant for drinking and dancing next door. Easy to walk around the village here, as you're in the center.
Parking: Ample parking spots behind the hotel. Free or nearly free.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2008

The Bellevue is well placed in Engelberg - location suberb.
Typical tourist hotel and our room (room 231) was one of the better one's right in the corner with 2x balconies and a suberb view.
The hotel has so much potential - sadly no one seem to bother.
Interior needs a lot of refurbishment and floors/carpets in need of a drastic overall.
Breakfast almost non existent - we inveriably had to ask for more bread/cheese etc.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Aubergelefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2006

We had booked to stay at the Hotel Europe, but were bumped to the Bellevue due to overbooking - great start! The reception staff at the Bellevue were frinedly and helpful, and the room was spaceous and clean, if a bit shabby and old fashioned. The shower room was spotless and newly fitted, and the shower itself was hot and refreshing after a hard day on the slopes! Breakfast was an all-you-could eat cold buffet - adequate to set you up for the day, but nothing fancy. The location - across the road from the station and ski-bus stop - is brilliant; some other hotels are a long walk from the centre of town. The Yukatan Bar is right next door and is all you need for lively apres ski! There's nothing very glamorous about the Bellevue, but overall it is clean, comfortable and friendly. If you intend to spend more time out of the hotel than in it, the Bellevue is fine, even if the upper floors are really creaky!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicattrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2004

Tired old hotel in need of a complete overhaul. Don't be fooled by the website photos - they were evidently taken years ago. The hotel is basic and relatively inexpensive so draws a young crowd dedicated to serious skiing. It is well located (across the street from the rail station) and offers easy access to the ski lifts. Our room was clean but threadbare and for the relatively low price we paid, I'd say we got fair value. If your looking for amenities, luxury or charm - keep looking. If you're travelling by train to Engelberg for the skiing and want an an inexpensive, friendly place to stay, the Bellevue Teminus is okay.

Helpful?
6 Thank jkojkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Engelberg Trail Hotel
Engelberg Trail Hotel
#9 of 21 in Engelberg
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenclub
Hotel Alpenclub
#15 of 21 in Engelberg
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#14 of 21 in Engelberg
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue-Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue-Terminus

Property: Bellevue-Terminus
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 10, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellevue-Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Hotel Bellevue-Terminus liegt im Zentrum von Engelberg gegenuber dem Bahnhof. In dem uber 100-jahrigen Haus spurt man den Charme der Belle Epoque und gleichzeitig bietet es alle Annehmlichkeiten des 21. Jahrhunderts. Zum Haus gehoren verschiedene Bars, ein Restaurant und mehrere Raumlichkeiten fur Bankette. Zwischen Mai und November 2011 wurde die erste grosse Umbauetappe des 1898 eroffneten Hotel Bellevue-Terminus realisiert. Der Sudflugel mit bisher 57 Zimmern wurde komplett ausgehohlt und mit modernem Innenleben gefullt. Aber nicht nur das Innenleben macht von sich Reden, auch der Look der Zimmer. In den neuen Zimmern wird die Belle Epoque mit modernen Elementen kombiniert, teilweise sogar neu interpretiert. Wir legen Wert auf schone Materialien und definieren unseren Stil nicht im Hinzufugen, sondern im Weglassen. Unsere Zimmer sollen Ausdruck zeitgemassen, kosmopolitischen Lifestyles in einem Bau aus der Wende vom 19. Zum 20. Jahrhundert sein - wir nennen es Fusion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bellevue-Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue-Terminus Hotel Engelberg
Bellevue Terminus Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing