We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in ideal location”
Review of Hotel Cathrin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cathrin
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We chose this hotel because it was a mid-range category hotel close to the ski station of Engelberg. We found it friendly and efficiently run, ideal for families with kids. With around 30 rooms, the hotel has a cozy personal feel. We were immediately impressed by its lovely lounge area with fire place, where guests could relax with an aperitif before dinner or a tea or coffee afterwards. There is no entertainment, so for young people looking for a wild time, you need to look elsewhere in Engelberg. As for the rooms, we took a superior room as we were three people. The room was big enough (23 sq meters), but the bathroom was very small. When sitting on the loo, you almost had your nose against the wall. I am 179 cm tall and it was just ok. If you are much taller than me, you may have a problem. Whether it is the same in the other rooms, I cannot say. Nevertheless, the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. As for the food, breakfast was fine with a small buffet of breads, yoghurt, fruits, eggs and cereals. We noticed that the eggs and milk were delivered from local producers. The only thing that disturbed us was that the orange juice was a cheap sugary watered down 30-50% juice. Such a pity. In the evening, there is one choice only, but the menu is posted in the morning so if you don't like something on it you just need to tell them in the morning and they will try to accommodate you. The food was usually simple and somewhat average (but edible).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2009

If you are looking for an economical, clean, convenient and cozy place to stay, this is it. I purchased a weekend package for 2 nights and 2 days of skiing for 345 Swiss francs. Much cheaper than many other places closeby. It also came as advertised; clean, less than a 5 minute walk to the cablecar, 8 minute walk to the village etc.. The breakfast buffet was a continental breakfast style. Since I took the train from Zurich, being right next to the cablecar meant no need to take a bus or taxi. I even went back to the hotel to change gloves after the first trip down the hill. It really is right at the bottom of the ski trail. The room & bathroom were small but I was there to ski, not to spend time in the room. I would stay there again without hesitation. The staff was also warm and very helpful. The Yucatan bar/restaurant in the village across from the train station had a very fun nightlife and good food.

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 12 days in June 2008. We booked for 14 days, but we left the hotel for we want more comfort and more space.
The rooms are terrible; they are small (13 M2 and this is including the bathroom) and have little comfort.
We had a room with a balcony and a "large" bed (1.6 x 2.0).
Due to the size of the bed the door to the balcony could be opend only for 20 cm, so were hardly able to enter the balcony.
The quality of the food is simple an has a moderate quality. You can have only dinner between 18:30 and 19:00 h. After that timeslot you are not allowed to enter the diningroom!!??!!
In the evening, after 22:00 there is no service available. If you want a drink, you must get your drink out of the small cupboard in the lounge.
In the summer the sauna is not available.
The owner and his wife are not friendly.

This is not the quality espected from a hotel with 3 Swiss stars.
This is the the quality of a simple guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BaVaZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2008

We stayed here for 11 nights and found the location near the Titlis cable car was ideal - only 5 minutes walk. The food was good and varied including a cheese evening on Wednesdays, either a raclette or fondue. The time of the meals was a little inflexible - 18.30 -19.00 and was usually finished by 20.00. The owners were quietly efficient providing help and information as required. The room was clean and although not spacious it was well planned - we were able to find plenty of space for all our ski gear. A heated boot room is provided on the lower ground floor. The breakfast was excellent and is available from 07.30-10.00. Overall the accomodation was very good, providing good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Skibandit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

This was a very clean and pleasant hotel about 10 min from the centre in a quiet scenic location. the rooms were well equipped but with low wood ceilings if you tend to be claustraphobic. We stayed for 10 days so by week 2 the menu was pretty much the same as week one. Not much fresh fruit, lots of pasta would say convenience/pre-packaged. owners were rather humourless and strict e.g. shouted at couple for taking breakfast rolls! Would say they need to learn more interpersonal skills! Very nice and helpful person called Nadja worked on reception. Breakfast was good but not for a gluten free dairy free diet, again no fresh fruit etc

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wildwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2005

My wife and I have just returned from Engelberg and our 10 day stay at the Hotel Cathrin.
Our stay was excellent, the owners and staff were very helpful, the food very varied and plenty of, particually enjoyed the extensive buffet breakfast and the different soups each night from the owner chef.
The hotel boasts a quite beautiful sun lounge to relax in at any time of the day/evening, a very pleasant dining room and good sized bedrooms with a balcony in most cases.
The bathroom is fairly small but okay with a good shower cubicle.
The location for us was perfect, being a 10 minute walk ( on the flat ) from the centre of Engelberg and close to the lifts for Mount Titlus.
Engelberg we found very quiet at this time of year although it did come alive on Swiss National day.
We highly commend the Hotel Cathrin, being by far the best hotel we have stayed in on our visits to Switzerland

Graham & Alison Taylor

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank graham1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Yohan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstherZum, Betriebsleiterin at Hotel Cathrin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#15 of 23 in Engelberg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
#8 of 23 in Engelberg
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Crystal
Hotel Crystal
#23 of 23 in Engelberg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cathrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cathrin

Address: Birrenweg 22, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Engelberg
#11 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £118 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cathrin 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This non-smoking, chalet-style hotel is only 100 m away from the Titlis Cable Car in Engelberg. It includes a wellness area with a sauna, steam bath, and gym. Free WiFi is available in all areas. Hotel Cathrin is an 8-minute walk from the centre and the railway station. Free private parking is provided. The town of Stans is a 20-minute drive away. The rooms at the Cathrin are very quiet and come with a flat-screen cable TV, a work desk, and a safe. The bathrooms have showers and hairdryers. Guests can start their day with a buffet breakfast, which is served in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cathrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathrin Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing