We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Cant get any better than this! Best Stay in Swiss with a fantastic view of Alps”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
““Cant get any better than this! Best Stay in Swiss with a fantastic view of Alps”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in the early winter season. The view from the room was absolutely mesmerizing. Rooms were decent ,had nice storage space and wardrobe. The bathrooms were also neat with a separate shower area.

The Hotel had nice restaurant which served Indian food and also had a cute bar too. The best part was the breakfast which included the Indian delicacies. There was Free WIFI provided. Staff was friendly and welcoming. The hotel is situated right next to Engelberg station and also to the Mount Titlis Flyer. Take a stroll down the lane of hotel to see the breathtaking view of the snow capped mountains. The hotel also provided Universal Charger by giving a deposit of 20 Euros and refunded the same while i gave back on check out.

Room Tip: Suggest to take the 3rd Floor and above rooms to Enjoy the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajeevkarunakaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel as well as the Restaurant have undergone several renovations since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to experience the new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    62
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
49
60
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

our Group stay in this hotel. hotel service is very good and staff is very good. location is excellent and food quality is fantastic. i want to stay again when i will come again.

Thanks hotel staff to make our memorable holidays.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alam439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel as well as the Restaurant have undergone several renovations since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to experience the new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at Central for only 1 night during our recent visit to Engelberg. We were nearly 18 of us and had a ball of time there. It is a very nice property located very close to Engelberg Station. Its not a fancy property but a good one with big rooms. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. The Bartender was really good too.
The view from our balcony in the morning was mesmerizing... How much we wished we stayed for one more night there.
In short Good food, good music,lovely place :) Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallavichitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel as well as the Restaurant have undergone several renovations since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to experience the new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband toddler and I stayed at hotel central for 10 nights and enjoyed our experience so much I had to share it. The staff there were so friendly and accommodating! We had a balcony and the views from it were picturesque. They serve the best Indian food too! They offer an option to have a driver for road trips which took the worry out of commuting and made sight seeing fun and relaxing!

This is a very family friendly hotel, making our stay a very memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrah3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel as well as the Restaurant have undergone several renovations since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to experience the new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Engelberg is a small town in Switzerland...very beautiful..you can see snow capped mountains everywhere around..taking a stroll down the streets near the hotels was an amazing experience.

This is a small hotel with nice interiors...Since we visited in feb and it was way too cold..the heaters were very effective and kept the rooms and washrooms warm.The hotel is centrally located and has lovely cafes and Souvernier shops nearby. Aslo Mt Titlis flyer is nearby. They served Indian food...one of the pluses for Asian travelers...like being in Europe and having poha and upma for breakfast was certainly amazing...they do serve English breakfast too..

Rooms were small but had storage almirah and were tastefully done for a comfortable stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would again mention the food was too good and sumptuous with lots of variety. The only glitch was that the Wi-fi worked only in the lobby area and not in the rooms.

All in all a nice and comfortable stay...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pre2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel as well as the Restaurant have undergone several renovations since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to experience the new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and I just spent 13 nights in the Hotel Central and would like to share our experience for your benefit. The hotel was built in 1908 but has gone through several renovations, and the latest one is ongoing. Our room had been renovated, and featured a very large bathroom with tub and hand held shower, as well as a hair dryer. There was adequate storage space in the room. We had a mini refrigerator, which proved useful in keeping wine and cheese cold. Our mattress was excellent, which was of great importance to my wife who has fibromyalgia and to me with lower back issues.

An earlier review commented on the inadequacy of the elevator (lift). We found it to function well and to be of average size by European standards. Inspectors say it has a capacity of 7, but we found 6 to be more realistic. It always operated properly, and had inspection certificates clearly posted.

The hotel is very popular with Indian tourists, as Engelberg is a favorite spot for Bollywood movie production. There is an excellent Indian buffet, which is visited regularly by well informed Indian tourists in groups or on their own. Hotel ownership is Indian. At first we wondered if we would be eating nothing but Indian food, but during the two weeks we ate a wide variety of Swiss and European dishes too, including fondue, spaghetti bolognese, salmon and pork chops. Since we were in a German-speaking canton, my wife was disappointed that sauerkraut was not on the menu. We did find the restaurant staff very willing to please, including a willingness to prepare dishes that were not on the menu. One previous reviewer had trouble obtaining morning tea, but that issue has apparently been corrected. Black tea, green tea, hot chocolate and coffee were available every day for breakfast, along with milk and two different juices.

Not all rooms had the same amenities. We had a balcony with a fantastic view of the mountains, but some rooms did not. Some rooms had a safe; ours did not. Our bathroom was larger than many others, and not all had a tub, which we had. We had a refrigerator, but others did not. I suggest you decide what amenities are most important to you and ask for a room with the amenities that matter most to you.

The hotel is very close to the train station, banks, pharmacies, and many shops and restaurants. It is a fairly long walk to the monastery, which is a must see. There is a free bus which will take you to most places in Engelberg and the surrounding valley, and you can catch it at the nearby train station.

By all means, take one of the gondolas or chairlifts up the mountains for fantastic views. There are a number of hikes in the area, and trails are smooth and well marked. The TI can provide you with detailed information about the gondolas. Be sure to pick a clear day to go up the mountains; if you are in the clouds, you won't see enough to make it worthwhile.

In summary, we had a very pleasant stay in a nice room with a fantastic view with helpful and attentive hotel staff. No one would claim this to be a five star hotel, but with reasonable expectations, you should find it a convenient place to stay at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I would ask for a renovated room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your encouraging feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel as well as the Restaurant have undergone several changes since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to experience the new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for two nights, wished we could stay more,
offers best indian food with the best swiss services,
we reached earlier than the check in time and still teh staff was very helpdeful and gave the us room.
and not to forget there is an angel in there, dont remeber her name though :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TARUN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel as well as the Restaurant have undergone several changes since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to experience the new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Engelberg Trail Hotel
Engelberg Trail Hotel
#9 of 21 in Engelberg
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Dorfstrasse 48, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing