We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tiny town and its beautiful hotel...!!!”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A tiny town and its beautiful hotel...!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

A beautiful and cosy place, with an amazing view of Mt Titlis. Makes you wish to go back soon and just soak in the comfort of the place and the beauty of the surroundings once again. Close proximity to the train station and the lake makes the hotel more appealing. A lovely hotel in a lovely tiny town, go for it guys!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are extremely happy that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Central and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Engelberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    64
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
60
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The welcome was truly unexpected-piping hot tea was served as we alighted from our coach-drenched to the bone!
Modern rooms,hospitable staff and all the comforts of home.Will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are extremely happy that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Central and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Engelberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Not so far away from Mt. Titlis Hotel Central was a perfect stay. The location was just MIND BLOWING!!!! Greenery and cool wind all along. I had gone there during the spring time so the weather was just splendid. A warm and cozy room. Loved the concept of rooms being so unique unlike the common hotel rooms in hotels.

The hotel was temperature controlled so it was really warm and fuzzy. I made some really great friends with the staff as they were all around my age. Would definitely recommend anyone to give this place anyone and everyone.

The staff was EXTREMELY SWEET & FRIENDLY unlike the hotel staffs that I've come across who are really rude.There was an employee there Manav who was kind and helpful to understand that my family was strictly Vegetarian and was kind enough to bring the food as per our request. One of the really friendly chaps I met there :). Especially taking into consideration the hotel staff being very helpful and understanding ;).

Room Tip: Every room is unique. Although there is a room on the second floor for families which is as good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhoomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are extremely happy that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Central and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Engelberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was expecting a great experince in this hotel, but was dissapointed. Firstly the room, although clean and newly furnished with a great view, lacked the basic facilities. There was no dustbin in the bathroom, there was no mini bar, no fridge, no information material how to make a telephone call. The indian buffet was no good, i felt i was in india rather than in swiss. Poor decor of the buffet restaurant, not appealing to the eye and not maching the rest of the hotel.

The breakfast experince was horrible. The lady who served us had poor english. She didnt know what a boiled egg was what an omelette was. Took way longer to deliver the bread, by that time our omelette became cold. She was confused and clearly not happy to be there. She conversed with the kitchen over the fone, she had misunderstandings with us and with the cook. Took us 50 mins for the brekfast, getting the essentials from her. Would have been better if it was a self service. However the indian chai/tea was yummmmy. Ask for tea if you are there.

Room Tip: Could have been a better experince if they paid attention to some basic stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShAdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Central! We appreciate your feedback and will take into consideration your remarks. It is unfortunate that you did not have a memorable experience, however many changes and renovations have been made since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to a new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here on our way back from Titlis for one night. Location is good and the Hotel is very comfortable with big rooms. The best part is their restaurant where they serve great Indian food which is not very expensive. The service is also good. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamalpreet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are extremely happy that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Central along with a delightful meal at Spice Bazaar and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Engelberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very pleasant but short stay in early March 2013. Good breakfast, friendly staff, nice room - perfect for ski stop over and next door to the train station, if arriving from Zurich! Although a budget hotel, it has charm and comfort was very pleasant. Would happily return...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel and Restaurant have undergone several changes since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to a new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wife and I are on our honeymoon. The room was sprinkled with pink rose petals. There was half a dozen pink roses in a vase with a bottle of champagne...all waiting for us when we arrived. Our luggage was lost(including my boots for the snow) and a very polite lady at the desk actually went home and got her husbands new boots for meto wear for the day until our luggage arrived. The staff here were so helpful and generous! Hotel decor is mostly Indian oriented, but it didn't bother us one bit as we state in our room or out on the town. When we come back, we're definitely staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manashni A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Central, responded to this review, 20 July 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel! We appreciate your feedback and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
In addition, we would like to inform you that the Hotel and Restaurant have undergone several changes since your last visit and we would like to welcome you back to a new and improved Hotel Central!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Engelberg Trail Hotel
Engelberg Trail Hotel
#7 of 21 in Engelberg
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: Dorfstrasse 48, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing