We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly people”
Review of Hotel Hahnenblick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hahnenblick
Ranked #6 of 13 Engelberg B&B and Inns
Trout Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“friendly people”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

nice clean room, very friendly service, I stayed for 4 nights, great breakfast..lots of choices
location perfect , close to everything. very reasonable price for engelberg.
especially waitress Vreni is a gem.

Room Tip: room with a view on the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tess760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for only 2 nights, last week, with 3 children. Everything was very clean, breakfast was just what we needed, the view from both sides of the building is impressive, location is perfect, but what we'll probably remember more is the great smile of the owner, when you check-in, check-out, at breakfast, and always.
A real pleasure, in a country where everything is so beautiful.
We'll definitely come back !

Room Tip: both sides are great, maybe the Hahneh side is a little better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
341 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I had the chance to get a room with view to the Hahnen-Mountain. The view is just georgous, especially in the morning before some fog cover parts of the mountains. Splendid place to go for hiking, to climb the Titlis (by cablecar hehehe) or just to relax. The food I got was excellent and to a normal price.
Congratulations to the staff: they are so polite and helpful. I will come back!

Room Tip: The room looking to the Hahnen-Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Hotel Hahnenblick is a new hotel in Engelberg so when I booked this hotel I was working off of limited reviews and history but was not dissappointed. I found it nice, clean and friendly.

The staff were helpful over the 4 day ski vacation my wife, brother in-law and sister in-law took here winter 2012/13.

It is a bit far from the center of town or the Titlis/Engelberg lifts (especially if you arrive without a car after the bus system shuts down at 6pm or so) but it is idealy located for the Bruni lifts.

The biggest dissappointment was breakfast/the in house resaurant. They had a nice cold cuts and croissant breakfast layout but for the money I would have hoped for more. I would have killed for an omlette or sausages or something. Their lunch dinner options were similarly lacking.

Overall if they can sort out the resaurant I think I would have been extremely pleased with the stay. As it stands, still quite happy, just not as much value for price as I would have hoped.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor facing Brunni for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Can't believe I'm the first one review this hotel, especially such a nice running one.

Once I step into the hotel door, the owner give me a nice greeting and we feel like home. He also introduce us the ski facilities around, and give us discount coupons for the ski shops. The hotel is large in B&B standard which have elevator. It is also relatively modern in B&B standard with smart card locks, etc.

The hotel room is clean and spacious, with a big balcony with really nice mountain view, bed big and comfortable.

Location-wise it is about 1km from town center, a little far for walking in snow. But since we drove a car so not a problem for us. Across the street there is a ski area, but we went to a bigger one near town center, which goes to the Mount Titlis.

There is a restaurant in the hotel, which breakfast is included. The breakfast is good but not perfect. We also tried the Swiss hotpot on the night of our arrival, the fire of the hotpot is not working that I have to lit it up every 3 minute. Frankly the food quality of the restaurant is less than perfect but still acceptable. I think there is much room for improvement.

Staffs are really friendly and helpful. I have a small daughter, which the hotel could charge for her, but since she is sleeping with us, the owner waive her fee and only charge for her breakfast. That is one of the reason I give this hotel a perfect rating, because down to earth, it is not about modern hardware and fancy gadgets, but the guest experience that matter most. This hotel get this right, so deserve a perfect rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_YY_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Engelberg
#8 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sporthotel Eienwaldli
Sporthotel Eienwaldli
#10 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.5 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hahnenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hahnenblick

Property: Hotel Hahnenblick
Address: Wasserfallstrasse 6 | Hotel Und Restaurant, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hahnenblick 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hahnenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing