We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hospitality, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Edelweiss Engelberg
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect hospitality, nice location”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After 12 hrs of journey by bus, we reached this hotel and were served by hot India chai. What more could we have wanted? The view from the hotel was breathtaking. Rooms were nice, breakfast was very good with an Indian dish. Most important was the hospitality. On our departure day it was raining heavily. Frau Sussane, the owner of the hotel drove 25 of us in multiple trips to the base of hillock where our bus was standing. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parimalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    83
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
131
58
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel retains all the quirky charm of its years, without feeling shabby or tired. We had a fantastic corner room with views all the way to the top of Mt Titlis. The children enjoyed the garden, the hot tub and the organised activities a, whilst we enjoyed the sauna and steam room.
The service was first class. The hotel will send the shuttle to pick you up from the station, as well as running to and from the cable stations. They'll even store your luggage so you can enjoy a full day before you leave.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

There have been a small number of poor reviews but I don't recognise any if the criticisms. For the record, breakfasts are of a high standard, and with plenty of choices. Rooms are fresh and spacious. There are no hidden extras. Rant over.

The magic of the hotel starts with its owners then filters through the staff to the food, the traditional decor and the comfortable, clean rooms. Young children a speciality! Plenty of variety with the evening meals, one of which was taken in a mountain farm restaurant when we were there. The food isn't cheap but then again you won't get a better deal elsewhere in Engelberg.

For us, with older 'children', we chose a family suite which was really two bedrooms (one twin, one bunk beds) and one bathroom. It also had views across the village to the mountains beyond. (Room no 112/113). Perfect!

Susanne was especially helpful when I left my phone at the ski lift, and Peter drove us to and from the slopes every day.

The hotel also has a whirlpool tub on the terrace and a sauna, steam room and gym downstairs.

Oh, and did I mention how helpful everybody was?

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank McWulf25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We (2 adults and 2 young kids) enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Edelweiss hotel in Engelberg. The hosts were outstanding, making sure that our stay left nothing to be desired. There are several play rooms for the children and supervised play from 5pm till 9pm, which is a godsend for parents travelling with children. We enjoyed the facilities, including a generous sauna and the outside spa pool and our meals, (included breakfast and optional dinner) were delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our hosts at the hotel were helpful in sending us a pick up from Engelberg train station to the hotel. It isn't very far but the the walk uphill will tire you, especially if you're carrying extra luggage like we did. It is a well maintained, family-owned and run hotel with warm people to greet you and make sure your stay is comfortable. We were put up in a beautiful room overlooking the whole city of Engelberg. They'll help you with your travel planning in and around Engelberg and suggest some places according to your interests. With a sumptuous spread of breakfast, a video-game parlour, a grande piano, a walk-in library, a quaint lil' garden outside and great service, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Thank-you, Susanne and Peter.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VanessaRods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

At first glance the hotel is filled with an eclectic mix of rather random bits and bobs but don't let this put you off! We received a lovely welcome and all the staff were extremely friendly. The room we were given was basic and a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to the centre and they run a fantastic pick up service where they drive you to and from the ski lift in the morning and afternoon. Overall we had a great time and would defiantly stay here again! :) thank you to all the staff for making our trip so enjoyable!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomibuck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and 3 children (19, 15, and 12) stayed here for 2 nights in March 2014. The staff were very friendly. They were waiting for us at the train station to drive us back to the hotel (which is only a 10 minute walk from train station). We had two rooms - a double and a triple with great views of the mountains. All of the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and most if not all spoke English very well. They were able to handle all of our requests and even issued us ski lift tickets at the front desk so we did not have to wait on line at Mt Titlis. They serve a good breakfast with eggs, meats, breads, yogurt and cereals. Both nights we had drinks in the bar area after our dinner in town (that has a kids play area right next to it). The baretenders were very friendly. Especailly Gael who was great to talk with and helped us understand the area and culture. Dinner is offered upon request (in the morning). They have a number of play areas for the kids with old fashion games (e.g., blocks) and new ones (e.g., x-box). There is a hot tub on the patio.

Room Tip: We had rooms 102 and 103 (which in Europe is the 2nd floor). Each had a large balcony (at least 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Engelberg
#8 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#14 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Engelberg

Property: Edelweiss Engelberg
Address: Terracestrasse 10, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Edelweiss Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although much has changed within the past 100 years - e.g. the new wellness area or the games room for the kids - one thing remains successful: The Charming way of Swiss hospitality. "Extraordinary personal" as we say. May we introduce you to our Hotel Edelweiss: Built in 1901 in the Art Nouveau style, our is offering magnificent views of Engelberg's "angel mountains" from every window. Thanks to the quiet location you are able to profit of relaxing holidays away from traffic in a pleasant surroundings. We love to spoil you in our cozy hotel lounge bar with open fireplace. Treat yourself with one of the various cocktails and the warm atmosphere. Enjoy a creative 4-course-menu with a tasty bottle wine in our dining room with a panoramic view in the mountains. For families Spacious rooms and family apartments, secluded hotel garden, 4 kids' playrooms catering to different age groups - Duplo area, Xbox area etc. Supervised games and handicrafts from 5pm to 9pm for 6 days in winter and 5 days in summer. Special kids' menus, week programme with mountain hut evenings, railways dinners, bike tours and skiing. Kids' shuttlebus to the ski schools. For lovers of Typically Swiss Hotels For over a hundred years now, this quiet hotel has been providing hospitality at 1,000 metres above sea level. The Art Nouveau dining room and antique details bear eloquent witness to a bygone era. However, the compact wellness area and practical family rooms prove that time has not stood still here. The motto of this "outrageously personal" holiday hotel is very evident – no matter whether the programme features torchlight hikes or freeride tours - the hosts are sure to be involved! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Edelweiss Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Edelweiss Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing