We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edelweiss Engelberg
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a 4 nights in the hotel. We stayed in a 2 bedroom family room which was convenient for us and the kids.

Our room had 2 twin beds joined together and the kids room had 3 beds. There was one bath room with 2 doors with no locks !

The building is old but in good condition. The hotel is rated with 3 stars and the facilities are accordingly.

Now what makes the hotel deserve the higher rating you see on tripadvisor are the following:
- Great location and view in Engelberg
- Super friendly service as the hotel staff will attend to all your needs with a smile
- The garden and play rooms will keep your kids busy after you back in the evening. Giving you time to relax.

The hotel provides super fast Wifi service in all areas. Unfortunately our room was at the end of the corridor and signal was weak.

Breakfast was ok all the basics. Free parking. TV had a few channels showing live feed from cams all around Engelberg and surrounding mountain peaks which helped us a lot in deciding which day to visit the Titlis Peak.

Laundry service was great washing cost was only 15 Franks per laundry bag. You get back the cloths neatly folded on the same or next day.

The room didn't have a fridge and the hotel iron and ironing board are not allowed to be used in the rooms.

We faced only one incident while staying in Engelberg which I think is worth mentioning. There was a train/car accident on the main road (only road) leading to the town which stopped all car traffic and trains from leaving/entering the town for few hours. We felt trapped. But the police were very helpful in explaining the road condition and the hotel informed us when a temp road was opened.

If your planning to go directly to the airport I would suggest leaving early just incase the road gets closed.



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and honestly i have to say its the friendliest homiest hotel we have stayed in so far, the kids had a great time in the trampoline and the game-room, staff as friendly and loving as can get,, will only stay here next time I'm in this part of the world
I highly recommend it to every one

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Shahin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

first at all Big Thanks to Ms. Sussane and Ms. Monika for their warm Welcome and Hospitality. On heading to Hotel, with out knowing us and our name, Sussane stopped her car and asking from us whether we are the guest of her hotel today? Once confirmed, she immediately pick us to Hotel. Hotel reception explained us in detail about how to go to TITLIS and what to wear depends on the that day weather. even we were not having time to had a breakfast, Sussane personally packed the breakfast for us to have on the way. she arranged the drop off to station early in the morning. very good very cool and calm location, very clean, good price Veg food available near by restaurants. recommended very strongly. Again thanks to Sussane for your great Hospitality.

Room Tip: room with big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rajeshrs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Attitude of the staff and the owner are not desirable and spoils your holiday to and extent that spoils the spirit of a beautiful town. On arrival warm welcome but not the same while departing. The hotel is close to important places to visit in the town but the behaviour of the front office staff set a bad mood to appreciate the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: Overlooking the country side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rapasiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K, Owner at Edelweiss Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent holiday with us at Hotel Edelweiss in Engelberg.

I am very glad, you enjoyed the warm welcome and beautiful view of our hotel!

I personally recall the situation at your departure, where you informed us, that you would share your disaffection about the events during your check out on Trip Advisor. Obviously you are a man of your word, which I highly respect.

I rue to have been involved in a matter which caused such a unpleasant end of your stay in our house. We had been advised by the tour manager of the group you were travelling with, that you need to leave the room until 9 am that morning. I had been under the impression, that he had informed you well about it, so I was confused when you still had been in the room at 9.15 am. That’s why I told our front office lady, to call you and tell you, that you would have to exit the room as soon as possible. Please don’t blame her, because I ordered her to be strict about it. In retrospective I regret the consistency, with which we communicated the orders of your tour manager. So please accept my deep apologies for this.

But I solicit you for your comprehension about the cause of the situation itself. There is a basic difference between group and individual guests. Even though, we of course try to provide the best experience possible for all our guests, we always have to be 100% loyal to the person in charge of a reservation. In the case of individual travelers, this is naturally the individual guest. But for group guests, this is the tour manager. We are obliged to respect all of his wishes, even when they are not in line with the interests of the group guests themselves.

My staff and I would be very happy to welcome you another time in our hotel as an individual guest!

Sincere regards
Peter Kuhn, Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is one of the better hotels in engelberg however did not have a chance to stay in another hotel so cannot compare however the hotel is on a hilltop and they have excellent rooms with views of the mountains
We stayed for three nights with family and though we had not asked for an extra bed they did provide an extra bed
the bathroom was also spacious and the room was adequate in size
the hotel is like a chalet so it gives the true swiss feel

however some cons
1. we have to walk it up as the tour bus does not drop at the hotel gate
2. there is no dinner served in the hotel but they have printed this and recommend restaurant nearby ( we were in kesari tour so we did not have a probem )
3. They serve very limited breakfast as they had one indian dish everyday prepared by a swiss chef ( he requires further training )
They have activities for kids also so i will certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: I think the location is such that all the rooms have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbijlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a 110 years old hotel. It is at a height. The rooms are old but well maintained. The hotel is a bit traditional but spick and span. There are lot of dos and donts mentioned. Each room has a small balcony and it is directly overlooking the alps and is on the foot hills of Mt Titlis. The cable car for Mt Titlis could be viewed from the balcony. This also gives a panaromic view of the snow clad mountains all around. Breakfast was good. The lady owner of the hotel was excellent and she treated the guests as her own house guests. She was stern in giving instructions but we got a homely feeling. We were a group and she took the pains of coming and taking us all from the hotel where we went for dining as it was late in the night. Further nowhere in Europe we got such personalised service as she had given and even the entire set of luggage of all the members of the group was transferred from the coach to the hotel. In europe we have to take our luggage. Overall we had a wonderful three day stay here.Thanks Sussane.

Room Tip: Take the front facing rooms which also faces the Mt Titlis side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msseetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed in Room 215. We thank the owner for giving personal attention .All aspects a guest look forward to in a hotel, we rate them SUPERLATIVE.
Would recommend very strongly if you are looking for a home away from home. Thanks Sussane.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravisoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#7 of 23 in Engelberg
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#10 of 23 in Engelberg
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Engelberg

Address: Terracestrasse 10, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: £116 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edelweiss Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although much has changed within the past 100 years - e.g. the new wellness area or the games room for the kids - one thing remains successful: The Charming way of Swiss hospitality. "Extraordinary personal" as we say. May we introduce you to our Hotel Edelweiss: Built in 1901 in the Art Nouveau style, our is offering magnificent views of Engelberg's "angel mountains" from every window. Thanks to the quiet location you are able to profit of relaxing holidays away from traffic in a pleasant surroundings. We love to spoil you in our cozy hotel lounge bar with open fireplace. Treat yourself with one of the various cocktails and the warm atmosphere. Enjoy a creative 4-course-menu with a tasty bottle wine in our dining room with a panoramic view in the mountains. For families Spacious rooms and family apartments, secluded hotel garden, 4 kids' playrooms catering to different age groups - Duplo area, Xbox area etc. Supervised games and handicrafts from 5pm to 9pm for 6 days in winter and 5 days in summer. Special kids' menus, week programme with mountain hut evenings, railways dinners, bike tours and skiing. Kids' shuttlebus to the ski schools. For lovers of Typically Swiss Hotels For over a hundred years now, this quiet hotel has been providing hospitality at 1,000 metres above sea level. The Art Nouveau dining room and antique details bear eloquent witness to a bygone era. However, the compact wellness area and practical family rooms prove that time has not stood still here. The motto of this "outrageously personal" holiday hotel is very evident – no matter whether the programme features torchlight hikes or freeride tours - the hosts are sure to be involved! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edelweiss Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Edelweiss Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing