We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good, scenic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good, scenic”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I really liked the place & the location of the hotel. Rooms were good enough. Nice view from the window of the mountains. Peaceful & blissful. would like to spend more days over there. Service was good.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the mountain are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hetal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for such a positive review of our hotel. The friendliness is our prime duty to ensure this and every day for our guests.
Such positive feedback is wonderful and very motivated me and my team.
We look forward to welcoming and pampering you again.
Thank you and see you soon.
best regards
Ulrike Reich
Gastgeberin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    41
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Please note that this hotel has NO pool, NO working Sauna and there is 'free' parking for just three cars and because of the amount of Indian coach tour customers you WILL be segregated for breakfast, maybe for your own good, but still... the breakfast facilities are very limited because you're in a side room whilst Star Tours occupy and occupy very noisily the main dining room...

Room Tip: We occupied a superior room and had a full width balcony with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for taken the time to review your stay with us. I really am very sorry that your recent stay has not met your expectations with us.
I would welcome it if you would visit us again, and give us the opportunity to ensure a comfortable stay. I hereby would like to express once again our regret for the inconvenience during your stay and would be happy to see you at your next visit.
best regards
Ulrike Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This place was a real find. Booking for a few days in the Alps, the rates were good enough to keep our expectations low - and we were amazed when we checked in! The room was a corner room with unbelieveable views of the mountains. The staff go out of their way to assist and offer advice. The breakfast was delicious.

What's more, the hotel is within very short walking distance of the cable car, the train station, and the village centre. It also doesn't seem big enough to be patronised by tour groups, so no coaches with a million tourists taking over.

The only word of caution I have is not to prepay parking, which I did. That was a waste of CHF10 per night, as there is plenty of free parking right outside the hotel.

If we end up in Engelberg again, we will certainly stay here, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room on a higher floor for very spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for such a positive review of our hotel. The friendliness is our prime duty to ensure this and every day for our guests.
Such positive feedback is wonderful and very motivated me and my team.
We look forward to welcoming and pampering you again.
Thank you and see you soon.
best regards
Ulrike Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I will highly recommend those who are planning to make a day trip to Mount Titlis to stay overnight here. You have more time to explore Mount Titlis and the surroundings. Engelberg was lovely when were there in July. This hotel is easy to locate,I saw it even when I was on the train! It is a 5 minute walk from the Mount Titlis cable car station. You can leave your luggage at the hotel and explore Mount Titlis.The room is lovely and spacious,with a balcony overlooking Mount Titlis and complimentary wifi. If you stay here,you have access to the facilities at Ramada Hotel nearby which is a good deal.Breakfast selections are rather limited but the room has a lovely view.

Room Tip: Request for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoongSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear guest
I am very glad that you really liked our stay at Treff Hotel Sonnwendhof.
Also thanks for the compliment on my staff that I have enjoyed being forwarded to my whole team. This is a great an incentive to us to to continue working on the quality of our service.
best regards
Ulrike Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel was booked on basis of tripadvisor review and we were def not dissapointed. Its almost next to the station but still away and on our request we got the room away from street and two aor surprise it was facing mt titlis.Spectacular view. The room was huge and washroom with bathtub and all toileteries. U really dont expect to get that in europe and that too at a reasonable price. We enjoyed our bfast too. One of the days we spend chatting in our balcony as we enjoyed the vie so much. Front desk girl Annie was really helpful and sweet. She even helped us with our flight confirmation and guided us with to do things in engelberg and eating joints. Overall a very nice experience and its def underrated hotel and deserves more ratings and that too a good one.

Room Tip: Room with Titlis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaibhav24_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for such a positive review of our hotel. The friendliness is our prime duty to ensure this and every day for our guests.
Such positive feedback is wonderful and very motivated me and my team.
Thank you and see you soon.
best regards
Ulrike Reich
Gastgeberin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Treff Hotel Sonnwendhof is a small, comfy yet really great hotel. It offers it's guests a warm welcome with extremely helpful staff, all our requests being met with a smile and a quick response - from train timetables to places to eat - so Thank you Anne!!
The hotel itself is set very close to the railway station -just a 5 minute walk away and the town centre a few minutes further on, all very convenient, in the opposite direction is the cable car station to the Titilis mountain again just a 5 minute stroll away.
The room had its own little a balcony with a small table and chairs giving wonderful views which ever way your room was facing, the bed was very comfortable, plenty of storage in the room, also a pleasant and clean bathroom with plenty of lovely hot water. Think the only thing lacking would be the tea/coffee tray that us English folk crave after a day out, but this was remedied by reception up until 9pm where tea, coffee or hot chocolate could be made for you. The breakfast was very good and offered the usual continental choices of croissants yoghurts, cheese, meats and boiled eggs, together with plenty of hot coffee on tap.
Was I happy with my stay?......... yes certainly!
Would I recommend it? ...... yes certainly!
Would I stay again? ......... Yes most certainly!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornishmaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for such a positive review of our hotel. The friendliness is our prime duty to ensure this and every day for our guests.
Such positive feedback is wonderful and very motivated me and my team.
Thank you and see you soon.
best regards
Ulrike Reich
Gastgeberin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a corner room that overlooked the Titlis in one direction and another mountain in the other. The room was immaculately clean, rather basic, but had good beds and storage space and even a mini refrigerator. It was too cool to enjoy the porch with its table and chairs at the time we visited, but must be wonderful later in the summer. The staff was friendly and attentive and eager to fill our every request. When we needed an adapter for a cell phone charger, they graciously supplied one. When my husband needed a computer for a few moments, they allowed him to use the one in the office. A request for additional pillows was answered almost immediately. It is a short, easy walk from the railway station and shops and to the cable car to the Titlis. We did not partake of the offered breakfast or dine in the restaurant, so I can't comment on them. Value was terrific and I can't imagine a better experience (or view) at a higher priced hotel. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: corner room #33 had views to two mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eingedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for such a positive review of our hotel. Cleanliness and friendliness is our prime duty to guarantee this and every day for our guests. It is a wonderful praise of you that we have achieved just this. Thank you and see you soon.
best regards
Ulrike Reich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 21 in Engelberg
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg

Property: H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
Address: Gerschniweg 1, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland (Formerly Treff Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderful location in the heart of Central Switzerland as well as the crystal clear air and Engelberg's wonderful mountain landscape are attractions worth a trip in any seaso. Our H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg s located in the middle of Engelberg's town centre. Stay overnight in rooms furnished in a cosy and traditional style with a fantastic view of the mountains and start the day with a copious breakfast buffet. Explore Engelberg's highlight, the Benedictine monastery, which continues to shape the village character of Engelberg today and has provided a home to monks since 1120. Or discover Engelberg's wonderful landscape on a hike along one of the well-signposted mountain paths or hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing