We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Garni Hostatt
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality and breakfast”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

When we first walked into the door, we could already feel that great hospitality was awaiting us... and that was exactly what happened! After a warm welcome, we were brought up to our room and were stunned by the great view onto the mountains. Even though the hotel is a little distant from the town center, there are some nice restaurants in the area. The room was very clean and so was the hotel overall. The breakfast buffet was just gorgeous... I have never seen such a variety of food in a small hotel like this one. It was fresh and tasty - for a great start into a new day. Great value overall!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diogou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    12
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Our room was cosy and comfortable and the view from our room was to die for. The snow covered alps in the distance and a blanket of snow on the ground. Perfect accommodation for our European vacation. Our Host was very friendly and welcoming. There was a restaurant within 10 minutes and offered a wonderful 4 course meal and was worth the walk. Our room was up the stairs and we had access to a communal kitchen with tea and coffee included. There was a fridge and you could purchase extras such as snacks, soft drinks, and confectionery if desired.
The breakfast was excellent and again fabulous views from the breakfast room. The hotel had such a typical 'Swiss' feel with the cow bells and unique handicrafts placed throughout the building. The Swiss chalet style accommodation was welcomed by a couple of Aussies and Engelberg turned on the weather and helped make a wonderful holiday. Its worth the trip to Engleberg and the cable ride up the mountain to take in the wonderful sights.

Room Tip: We had a choice of rooms and all were clean with warm bedding and fantastic views. We had an en suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

It's 1 am and the party in the room next door seems to be ongoing despite asking the management to resolve the situation. Hotel is very clean, room is of a good size but the bathroom is no more than a cupboard with a toilet squeezed next to a small shower cubicle. So small in fact that the wash basin is in the bedroom as there is no room for it in the cubicle. If you were paying youth hostel rates I have no problem with listening to someone else's party and grazing my knees on the 'bathroom' door when I sit on the loo. Suffice to say even though we paid in advance we are packed and moving out early in the morning. I do hope the owners do the right thing by refunding our short stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jônathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spent 2 nights here in early January this year with my partner. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and the staff were very nice and helpful. We received a room upgrade because we booked in low season which was awesome! Breakfast was good too. Will definitely come here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDanger92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Very simply, this is one of the most spotless hotels I have ever stayed in. It is also very friendly and well situated, only a few minutes drive out of the main town. We stayed at the beginning of December when everywhere was covered on snow which brought an extra special touch to our visit. Rooms are nice and the hotel has an extra area for guests where you can use a small kitchen to prepare food. Overall excellent value. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank unde1dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Me and wife arrived on a snowing day (a bit unusual for Apr). Stayed for 2 days. The place is highly maintained, very clean, nice rooms with a stunning view of the village and the mountains, and real rich breakfast! Very welcoming personal, always smiling, helping in any way possible and with good recommendation for the nearby attractions. Beautiful place to stay with beautiful personal. Will definitely visit again. Highly recommended for successful holidays!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bendovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We (2 young friends) booked last minute (Friday for Saturday night until Sunday) on a generic, unpersonal website and never expected to find such a familiar, friendly and special hotel. With just a bunch of rooms and a very friendly service, together with the free parking, free wireless and a great breakfast buffet (incl. 3-minutes eggs cooked right for you when you get there), all this makes it a little corner of Paradise among the mountains. We both appreciated that everything was decorated and furnished with attention to every, even the tiniest detail. Great piace to stay and in 15min walking distance you get to Engelberg centre. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but especially for families. Would come back, and would stay more than 1 day..:-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.8 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Engelberg Trail Hotel
Engelberg Trail Hotel
#8 of 21 in Engelberg
113 reviews
0.9 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenclub
Hotel Alpenclub
#15 of 21 in Engelberg
50 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Angels Lodge
The Angels Lodge
#14 of 21 in Engelberg
108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Hostatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Hostatt

Property: Hotel Garni Hostatt
Address: Schweizerhausstrasse 22, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Hostatt 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Garni Hostatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing