We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a distance from Lucerne”
Review of Hotel Thorenberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Thorenberg
Ranked #7 of 14 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quite a distance from Lucerne”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I did not expect it to be so far from Lucerne, and even the distance from the station to the hotel was not exactly short, especially if you were wheeling bags. As far as the hotel itself was concerned, the rooms were comfortable, clean with good showers and ample breakfast. We got a room at the back so it was not noisy. The train comes to this station only hourly, so that restricts your time if you are visiting Lucerne for a brief stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want to avoid the traffic noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee4447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    38
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
23
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agios Ioannis, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Pleasant enough stay, found the beds to be very low to the floor but comfortable enough. Very noisy owing to being on a main road, had to keep the windows closed at night. Dined in the restaurant in the evening & found the food to be excellent with good service. Thought the breakfast to be poor, need to take a lesson from Ibis Hotels.
Would I stay again, no.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a car, so this made getting to and from Lucerne easy (less than 10mins by car). The rooms were spacious and clean and the bathroom also offered toiletries. Breakfast there was also satisfactory and car parking behind the hotel is free. The only snag was that our room faced the busy road out front and in the morning, it can get quite noisy with the cars. Otherwise it was a fairly enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPartTimeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

There was a problem with our booking. The hotel made a mistake and because they were full we were left with one less room than we needed. However the management apologised and sorted out the problem - they put one of our party in a room at another nearby hotel and picked up the bill for that room. It was all handled very well so we left happy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I stayed here for three nights in May 2013. It's a modern hotel on a busy road with clean and comfortable rooms, and free wifi. The hotel is just outside Lucerne, but pretty close to the city itself and the highway so it's easy to get to places from there. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. On the downside, being on a road it can get a bit noisy but nothing that kept me awake or anything. And it was pretty warm inside the room, no AC.
Overall I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martijnbruinsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The pros: The bathroom shower was amazing. It was huge and had a nice large waterfall type shower head. The hotel offered a nice breakfast and it also had a restaurant and we could get drinks and take them back to the room. The beds were comfortable.

The cons: Location was very inconvenient. It wasn't in the city of Lucerne, we had to walk about 10 minutes to a train stop and catch a train into the city about 8 minutes away. The bathroom door was a sliding glass door which meant privacy was lacking in the room. The room was very humid, like walking into a swamp and if you opened the window, a lot of bugs and mosquitos came in. My husband had multiple mosquito bites. We had to ask for a fan. There was the constant smell of cigarette smoke outside our door.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Great location though away from Lucerne city but very well connected by bus and train. Nice property with good rooms and great service. We had difficulty finding the place but the owners were very nice and kind to pick us up from the bus stop. Breakfast had a decent spread with eggs, breads, cheese, fruits and yoghurt.

Room Tip: We had a room which opened up to a open patch of land where horses were grazing, it was just breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_for_Couples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.9 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
1,531 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#16 of 68 in Lucerne
569 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sonnenberg
Hotel Sonnenberg
#4 of 6 in Kriens
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
98 reviews
2.4 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thorenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thorenberg

Property: Hotel Thorenberg
Address: Thorenbergstrasse 5, Lucerne 6014, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Thorenberg 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Thorenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing