We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, nice view. Comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location, nice view. Comfy room”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My sons and I stayed here during our stay in Luzern. The hotel is just a short walk across the bridge from the main train station. Most of the sights are within walking distance from the hotel. A bus stop is just a short distance from the hotel. The room is roomy and comfortable. One neat feature of this hotel is the historic elevator. It is very small, but has a nice bench in it. Staff is overall helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    81
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
101
273
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

A friend and I spent one night here and wished we would have booked for longer. The hotel has a beautiful location at the lake. We got a room looking onto the lake so we could enjoy the scenery the whole evening. Our room had a 'music' theme which was pretty cool and something different (had a quote at the top too). I have to mention the Spa which was beautiful. You overlook the lake and mountains and we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves. There is plenty of water and tea at your disposal. A sauna, great showers and a relaxation area. We had room service which was really good. I think the waiter's name was Michael (or was it Patrick?) - he was also at Breakfast the next day. Very friendly - thank you very much. Room service was also very good, the food was delicious. We had the Gnocchi and the Club Sandwich with a tomato salad. A compliment to the whole team. I can only recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSLLuzern, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Janine H

Thank you for your review which pleases us very much. We will forward it to Michael from our service team as well to all other team members of the hotel. We love to make our guests happy. Your feedback is a great motivation to go on.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Clemens Hunziker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

very good location. nice room . very nice and halpfull staff. near the main atractions. near a lot of shops and resturants very good icecream near. Migrose behind the hotel. free water in the room.
breakfast is very expansive 35 CHF

Room Tip: my room was 53 . big nice and with window bath , very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Collins
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had the opportunity to spend New Years eve here. Upon Check in I was greated by a well dressed young lady that greated me in german who quickly realized I was struggling with my German and switched to english. I was quickly wisked away to my top floor room by the bellman where he took my bags inside and opened the balcony doors reveiling my view of the mountains across Lake Luzern.

That night I ordered weinerschnitzel for room service. it was actually larger than the plate that it was served on. The veal was so tender it melted in my mouth.

The hotel was within walking distance of all the cafes, shopping, dining, and night life that I would to indulge in.

For New Years Eve the hotle had a party in the bar area by the lobby. It was very fun with a very mixed group of people from all over Europe. I believe i was the only American there. I had a great time and had a nice toast at midnight. Then the festivities started the next day! WHAT A BLAST!

This hotel is a must stay for anyone that is visitiing one of the most beautiful and historic areas of Switzerland. You will never run out of things to do and beautiful things to look at

Room Tip: Mke sure you get a room with a balcony. It is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wehrli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

OMG! What a fabulous 5 star hotel - Rate it No 1 in Lucern - Rate it No 1 in Switzerland! - We stayed 2 nites 29/7-30/7 - Had Lakeview Balcony room - 2 chairs on balcony. Upon arrival were upgraded. Rooms newly renovated - Tastefully contemporary modern. So lovely that there was no need to leave the room to view Lucern- The Lake was opposite & good view of the city. Location great - close to old town & shopping. Rooms modern, large, beautiful - so comfortable & superbly clean. Top value. Buffet breakfast nice. Great Herbal Sauna. Staff amazingly helpful, fast & proactive with request & service. Check-in & checkout fast. Very close to railway station -
7 minutes walk. Highly recommend this beautiful hotel with so much history & great people have lived here including Napolean's wife.
Love the personalised welcome message by hotel owner & GM on house Tv. Take time to go around the hotel to enjoy floorings, ceilings & interiors. Good sightseeing with a little train that starts at hotel entrance.
Highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to return again!!!

Room Tip: "Lake view Balcony rooms are lovely & romantic"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikareeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a fantastic 5 Star hotel located directly on Lake Luzern. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable, with all the modern conveniences. The fitness facility and equipment is among the best I have seen in Europe. A definite must stay location for anybody visiting this lovely city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTAINB92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Outstanding rooms, service, and location. Excellent breakfast buffet. Located right on Lake Lucerne, there is no better location. We had a corner suite that was unbelievably nice, with two windows facing the lake and three side windows. Within walking distance to the old town area, the train station, and the boat docks. Definitely a 5-star property.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini-suite, it is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
2.0 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Address: Schweizerhofquai, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Empathy & Excellence at Lucerne's Festival Hotel: Situated near the Old Town and directly on the shore of Lake Lucerne, the Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern is only stepy away from all major points of interest, the KKL, severing shopping facilities and the railway station. The house, since 1861 owned by the family Hauser, offers a spectacular view over the lake and the Swiss Alps. We are welcoming you with award-winning rooms and suitss where the Schweizerhof-history comes alive. However, the design of our rooms is only part of the overall concept: every single guest rooms also tells a story about the visits of famous people such as writers, musicians or actors to the Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern. The 2 restaurants 'Pavillon' and 'Galerie' make for culinary highlights, the trendy Schweizerhof Bar delights hotel guests as well as local pedestrians with daily live music. 9 Different function rooms, concierge service, parking garage, fitness-corner, business-corner and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing