We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Restaurant Lapin

Restaurant Lapin
Ranked #51 of 412 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$48
Cuisines: Swiss, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Lapin is a family run hotel-restaurant situated in the centre of Lucerne and is one of the city's leading restaurants. It has a cosy, rustic appearance and serves modern European cuisine specialising in regional dishes. The menu offers fish, meat and seafood dishes as well as traditional Swiss Käsespätzli (small dumplings with melted cheese) with chives and pumpkin potato strudel with parsley cream sauce. In addition to the standard menu, the restaurant offers a special every day and extensive 3 to 4 course weekly menus. The speciality of the house are the Ratsherrenspieße (a type of food served en brochette) with various types of meat and vegetables and are served flambéed at your table. Wine lovers can enjoy a selection of international wines to go with their meal. The Lapin also provides a traditional Lucerne setting.
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Food was excellent, with generous portions, so good that we ate here 2 nights in a row. Prices seem in line with the other local restaurants. Staff very friendly. Pity it's not in uk !!!!

Thank nicnak666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello from Lucerne

Well well, thank you for your nice review. We shall think about opening another Restaurant Lapin abroad. For the time beeing we want to surprise our clients with a very good service and our dishes freshly prepared. It is one of the best compliments if a client from abroad comes two times in a row to enjoy the food and service in our restaurant. The best compliment for our chef and service staff. I am most pleased to pass it on.

We wish you a good summer and who knows maybe you can make it back to our restaurant.

With best Regards from Lucerne

Ferdinand Zehnder and the Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful salad bar, soups to die for and the sweets... ohhhh.
Excellent variety on half board for main course, although there is a superb A La Cart menu.

Thank Swissfan131146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Grüezi

thank you for your good reciew with full points. It seams we match your taste. We do have a very good Kitchen crew with experienced chefs. They are so good in creating the dishes. In one way traditional in the other way with local products. Thank you again for your nice words. We will pass on the comments. Hopefully you can make it back to our Hotel and lovely city of Lucerne.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the entire Lapin Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Restaurant Lapin made room for our party of 8 Americans with great attentiveness. The manager helped with our orders, since he spoke excellent English. I had the Jubilee Menu (3 course prix fixe), which was delicious and a very good value. Gazpacho was unusually presented (cold broth with diced vegetables to add in) but very tasty. Roast saddle of rabbit was served with excellent brown sauce and risotto. Creme Catalan dessert was like a soft creme brûlée.

The staff and manager were outstandingly kind and helpful (even with special requests), and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Great experience!

Thank ByARH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Grüezi

Thank you very very much for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure having you with us. I did serve your table. I was very pleased to see that you had followed some of my suggestions and did try our house specialities. I hope you had a good ongoing holiday and hopefully you can make it back sometimes.

With best Regards from Lucerrne from all of our team.

Ferdinand Zehnder
and the Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We discovered this restaurant on our walk back from the Lion Gate. What a wonderful find. Himself had the 100 year old recipe for veal while I had the lapin leg. His was perfect and mine was so tender. We could not have been more pleased.

Thank Kit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello
And thank you very much for your nice review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your meal with us. Yes our Kitchen is preparing with great effort the dishes and our service cares about our clients. We wish you a good summer and maybe see you soon here again.

With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and the Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The restaurant (in the same building as the Hotel De la Paix)
is perifere to the old town, on the way to the Lion Monument (close)
and not fare from the lake. To reach by foot.

Thank Lighthouse38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hello and Grüezi from Lucerne

thank you very much for your nice review and compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your Lunch in our Restaurant Lapin. We hope you had a good and safe trip back home and maybe see you again here in our City?

with best Regards

Ferdinand A. Zehnder
and the Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Lapin also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Lapin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing