We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is pretty basic - no extras”
Review of Romerohaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romerohaus
Ranked #8 of 14 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“This is pretty basic - no extras”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Switzerland is expensive and Lucerne even more so. Most of the interesting hotels in the old part of Luzern are very expensive. We found that the Romerohaus was as basic as you can find for a reasonable price. The best description previously mentioned was that the Hotel (if you can call it that) was like a college dormatory. Painted concrete block wall, washbasin in the room, small toilet and shower in separate compartment, basic built in desk, bedside tables and two single beds to make a double. Linoleum floor. No airconditioning. Free wireless internet - medium quality - with access code.
The best two things going for this hotel are that it is very quiet and relatively inexpensive. The walk into downtown Luzern is 30min mainly along the lakeshore and there is a grocery market right across the street. No elevator.
Breakfast is free but very basic, parking is also convinient and free.

Room Tip: Get first floor (one floor above ground)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smalltowncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
12
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I am so happy to have found this unpretentious hotel, and will definately return. Very pleasant staff, very clean, very quiet, being just outside the centre but still close to the lake, with all the essentials that one needs.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynheadco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We were a larger party and had 3 rooms. very clean basic large rooms at an excellent price. Quiet but a lovely change after busy central luzern. Helpful staff. Supermarket across the street. Bus to the city central and main train station outside the door. Excellent free parking. A few good restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good if basic. This is a small conference centre, so staff is not there 24 hours a day. check the website for times that staff are there - if you will be late, call and they will make other arrangements. No lift/elevator - not suitable for those who can not climb stairs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidelbergredwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

A very simple but functional and quiet room away from the tourist action of Lucerne. We slept with open windows and no bugs. We also enjoyed the 15-20 minute walk to the heart of the city along the lake path. The free wi-fi and free parking were advantages. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lucerne.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and I chose this as I was on tight budget. This is run by NGO (that does charity work in third world countries I suppose but didn't have time to check the posters).

The rooms offered were very clean, huge and with balcony. The breakfast next day was usual, continental one.

The reception is available only till 8:30PM. If one arrives after that, one may find oneself in problem.

The hotel is near the transport museum and can be reached by buses 6/8 and 23 from Luzern Bahnhof.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misslinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We stayed one night in Luzern at Romerohaus and were pleasantly surprised. It has a bit of a student dormitory feel inside but was quiet, very clean, comfortable and, for Luzern, very good value. The room was generously sized but the bathroom was so tiny that the wash-basin had to be in the main part of the bedroom, with only the toilet and shower separate. Towels and toiletries were provided. Free WLAN available in the rooms and parking was free too, with a bus depot just across the street. The reception isn't manned after a certain time at night so you have to remember to take your house key with you if you go out in the evening. Breakfast was sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnotoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Romerohaus appears to be a part of a conference centre. It was quite easy to find, with plenty of parking. The room was spacious and clean. There was a large variety of food on offer for breakfast. The service from the staff was good. Simple yet pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.6 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
1.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romerohaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romerohaus

Property: Romerohaus
Address: Kreuzbuchstrasse 44, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Hotel Class:1 star — Romerohaus 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Romerohaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing