We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but very clean place to stay in Luzern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Basic but very clean place to stay in Luzern”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location is about 10-15 minutes from train station. Hotel room are very basic but it is very clean. Would suggest to those who travel Luzern on a budget. Grocery store is just 10 meter away to get anything before and after the trip around the city or Mountain trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    672
    491
    120
    63
See reviews for
447
686
64
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
587 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotels in Switzerland are expensive than in other places, so this is a good economic option at Luzern City. It is very close to Train Station and about 200m from bus station to main attractions in this city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Much better than the price would suggest - when you're travelling and needs hotel to arrive at, sleep and leave Ibis budget continue to impress us.

The room is clinically clean, nothing fancy but spacious and with a good shower. Quiet rooms (excellent sound proofing) and faceless but polite staff.


Recommended.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank edrichseibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear edrichseibert

Thank you very much for this positive response.
We are always keen on keeping our prices low and attractive.

In fact, you can even save more if you book your room in advance and profit from
our early booking discounts. Or if you sign up for a ibis business card you are entitled to a constant discount of 10% on top.

Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again next time!

kind regards

Manuel Fajardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in the Ibis budget during a little trip around a few countries in Europe. It was BOILING when we were in Lucerne, and we were pleased that the room was nice and cool! The room was basic but comfortable and had everything we needed. It's good value for money, especially in Switzerland. The hotel is a little out of town, but it doesn't take long to wonder down to the lake and all the restaurants/shops etc. We travelled by train, and the hotel is not too far from the train station which was very helpful for us. The staff were all friendly and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was fine. A good trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorpyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear MorpyC
Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor.
It is nice to read that you were happy with our hotel.

All our 128 rooms have their air condition. So you can heat or cool your room as you wish.

We hope to welcome you once again next time!

kind regards

Manuel Fajardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I strongly recommend this hotel when you are visiting Luzern on a budget. It's a true budget hotel. Rooms are small, bathroom is very small, not enough space... but you must understand that this is a budget hotel. They give you clean, neat room to stay at a half the charge of hotels located in the vicinity. It's very conveniently located... walking distance from the railway station, lake and most of the major attractions. Staff, though hardly any, are helpful and nice. Wifi is fast and reliable.
Overall, we had a good experience staying in this hotel. It's true value for the money paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Ajay K
Thank you very much for your honest and objective review.
We are very happy that you were satisfied with our services.

Our name says it all, "ibis budget". Good service for a budget price.

I will share your good comment with the teams. It keeps us motivated to maintain
our service high.

greetings from Lucerne

Manuel Fajardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

It is the cheapest hotel in Luzern and just a 15 mins walk to old town, opposite the hotel have a bus stop to old town too. The room and bathroom was small but very clean but very comfort for a short stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvelynJk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Evelynkhor80
Thank you for your positive review.
It is very nice to read that you were satisfied with our standards.

I will share your comment with the staff.

We hope to welcome you back once again here in Lucerne.

kind regards

Manuel Fajardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
220 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is conveniently located close to a bus stop so travelling is fairly easy. Luzern is a small city and hence all the major attractions are located within 20-30 mins travel time.

The rooms are very small and there is hardly any space to keep luggage. But are ideal for a budget trip. Hotel staff was extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear travellerajat
Thank you for your honest feedback.
It is true that our rooms are not very big. However we give our best to keep our service
kind and efficient.
Comments like yours keep our staff motivated. Thank you very much!

We hope to welcome you once again another time.

kind regards from Lucerne

Manuel Fajardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 68 in Lucerne
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#43 of 68 in Lucerne
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Property: ibis budget Luzern City
Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing