We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Ibis Budget is a budget, 1 star hotel (if you are South African, think Formula 1), but it has all you need - if you expect 1 star facilities, you will find good facilities here, and then a bit - it has a lift and aircon in the rooms (but the windows don't open). The staff are friendly and speak good English.

It is also very well located - you can walk to the main station, Chapel bridge and the lake, all within 15 minutes. And from there, you can get anywhere.

The breakfast is also very good at CHF11 - well worth it. We didn't see anything else nearby either, but didn't feel the need to look

As expected, the room is small and cramped, but no real problem if all you want is somewhere to sleep. It does also feel a bit 'sterile', part of a big chain and I'm guessing the rooms look the same in every one of their hotels.

The room was also a bit noisy in the morning - the walls aren't that thick!

In short, if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to sleep, but not expecting anything more, the Ibis is for you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Kevin

Thank you very much for your detailed review.
I am happy to share your feedback with the team as it helps us to keep up our service.

We hope to welcome you again next time.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Manuel Fajardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
There are newer reviews for ibis budget Luzern City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not As good as other ibis budget in other city. The room is small and no tv giude on the tv. I stayed here for 2 nights but the room card did not work on the second day. I went to the reception for update the room card. The staff just asked me the room number without verification of it. Then. She just encoded my card with the room number. It seems very unsecured!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Winnie11161990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Winnie
Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor.
These days TV guides are kept electronically. On the remote control is a button called "Guide". Using that, a wonderful variety of channels for you to choose from will pop up.
I will follow up on the room card issue.

Thank you for your visit. We hope you had a great time here in Lucerne!

Kind regards

Manuel Fajardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Accor group due to tariff and location ( close to rail station) . It is conveniently located near station and not too far from lucern lake beach area. A must mention of staff as they were very freindly and efficient. Rooms are small ( as per indian standard) but clean and tidy. Overall good stay at the budget.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Devender S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's not the Ritz but it's not bad in Lucerne for the price. "Budget" describes the hotel very well. The rooms are tiny but clean and the staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is conveniently located near the train station and a 10 minute walk from the old city. We were able to park our car in a garage for $14/ day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mmgiunti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Yes, The rooms are small but we did not intend to do more than sleep there!Friendly staff, clean rooms, beds slightly hard. If you are shy with bathroom activities choose another hotel ;) for us, The layout was perfect! Breakfast decent. Wifi free and really fast! Location god If you arrive by trainee
train.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

good location, 15 mins walk from town, or 4 mins by bus no 4 (free for pass holder or CHF 2.40 per journey from train station)check in was smooth, staff was friendly.room was small, neat, basic.stayed on ground floor. pillows need to be change. they were really flat. overall good 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBUJANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It's kind of central location for budget hotel. You can reach 15-20 min. by foot to center. I believe that you can hardly find cheaper hotel in similar location in Lucern. Rooms are really small, parking is 12 CHF a day, overall it's good just for 1 night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMINDAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
798 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 67 in Lucerne
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#46 of 67 in Lucerne
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
476 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £64 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing