We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice and clean no-frills hotel. Great for solo traveller. Location was good and a short bus ride away from the train station. There is also a supermarket next to the hotel. The room was clean and quiet. Generally comfortable, but work desk was small so it's not ideal for people who need to do work in the hotel. The air conditioning was good and there was free wifi for unlimited devices. Hairdryer can be obtained from reception with a 20 CHF deposit. Hot and cold water can be obtained at the lobby and there was a microwave there as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shermaine-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    660
    487
    120
    63
See reviews for
440
681
63
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,015 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This budget hotel is located less than 1km from the city centre and main train station, and a 15 minute walk to the Old Town and Kapellbrucke.

It's everything you expect in a budget hotel - small rooms, no ensuite, separate toilet. The shower is a cubicle in the room and the sink is opposite the bed.

Staff were excellent - friendly, professional and helpful. Wifi was fast with no issues.

The hotel was surprisingly quiet. Yes, there is a little noise from surrounding rooms, however this was nearly unnoticeable as it wasn't too loud.

Great location, great staff, great price. I'd stay here again.

Note : because I normally eat a small breakfast, I cancelled the breakfast inclusion for CHF 11 per day, which was better for me. If you're a big breakfast eater, it would be worth looking at including breakfast because it is expensive to eat out in Lucerne.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Ibis Budget is a budget, 1 star hotel (if you are South African, think Formula 1), but it has all you need - if you expect 1 star facilities, you will find good facilities here, and then a bit - it has a lift and aircon in the rooms (but the windows don't open). The staff are friendly and speak good English.

It is also very well located - you can walk to the main station, Chapel bridge and the lake, all within 15 minutes. And from there, you can get anywhere.

The breakfast is also very good at CHF11 - well worth it. We didn't see anything else nearby either, but didn't feel the need to look

As expected, the room is small and cramped, but no real problem if all you want is somewhere to sleep. It does also feel a bit 'sterile', part of a big chain and I'm guessing the rooms look the same in every one of their hotels.

The room was also a bit noisy in the morning - the walls aren't that thick!

In short, if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to sleep, but not expecting anything more, the Ibis is for you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Kevin

Thank you very much for your detailed review.
I am happy to share your feedback with the team as it helps us to keep up our service.

We hope to welcome you again next time.

Kind regards from Lucerne

Manuel Fajardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not As good as other ibis budget in other city. The room is small and no tv giude on the tv. I stayed here for 2 nights but the room card did not work on the second day. I went to the reception for update the room card. The staff just asked me the room number without verification of it. Then. She just encoded my card with the room number. It seems very unsecured!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Winnie11161990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel F, General Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Winnie
Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor.
These days TV guides are kept electronically. On the remote control is a button called "Guide". Using that, a wonderful variety of channels for you to choose from will pop up.
I will follow up on the room card issue.

Thank you for your visit. We hope you had a great time here in Lucerne!

Kind regards

Manuel Fajardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Accor group due to tariff and location ( close to rail station) . It is conveniently located near station and not too far from lucern lake beach area. A must mention of staff as they were very freindly and efficient. Rooms are small ( as per indian standard) but clean and tidy. Overall good stay at the budget.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Devender S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's not the Ritz but it's not bad in Lucerne for the price. "Budget" describes the hotel very well. The rooms are tiny but clean and the staff at the reception is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is conveniently located near the train station and a 10 minute walk from the old city. We were able to park our car in a garage for $14/ day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmgiunti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 68 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Property: ibis budget Luzern City
Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing