We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but had a bad service encounter.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Good location but had a bad service encounter.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and the location is very convenient with a bus stop (Brunigstrasse) 20m from the hotel. The bus (no 4) to Luzern main train station takes about 10 mins.
The hotel is very basic with small room as you would expect a budget hotel standard.
We used a hotel mug with permission one night but was told off rudely by a male front desk staff. Not sure it's just our luck but surely because of this bad experience, we will NOT return to stay in spite of the hotel very convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    675
    493
    121
    64
See reviews for
451
688
65
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good overall experience. stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel rates are cheaper as compared to other hotels in the city.

Rooms - Small and cozy but sufficient enough for 2 people. They have separate toilet and bathroom and the washbasin is within the room.
Location - A little far from the station to walk with your luggage (1.1kms) and there is a bridge over the railway tracks which does not make it easy
Staff - welcoming staff and helpful in guiding for local attractions

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swapnil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar, Europe
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I shared a room with my daughter - I was paying the bill and was perfectly happy because I knew how expensive hotels in Lucerne are. We had to stay for four nights. She thought it was "a budget too far" ! She missed the space for a chair to sit on while we were in the room and although she did have her own bed - the bunk she said it was not comfortable.

Although I was happy with the hotel and would go back again (although sadly i don't think i will have the opportunity) I have to say that the reception were completely unhelpful when I was having difficulty locating my hire car which was not as stated on the website "downtown lucerne" but actually Ebikon which was a bus ride away.

There is a car park under the hotel, but it is no where near enough for the size of the hotel. I got street parking every night, but it was not easy to find.

Room Tip: It is ibis - all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibraltarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Less price and luxury don't come together..

We had a plan to stay for 1 night in this hotel and overall experience was good. Staffs were freindly and helpful. Rooms and bed are smaller but if you just need a spcae to sleep in the night and don't seek for luxury, It was clean and hygine. I think this is the best option if you want to save some money to go to costly places like Jungfrau and Mt. Titlis. :-)

The door of toilet doesnn't have any lock though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank animesh k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stay for 2 nights with my wife due its location & want to try this hotel.
Location is ok, only need walk approx 10 minutes to Chapel Bridge.
Its our first time and to stay in ibis budget, its better to stay in normal Ibis.
The room & bathroom are extremely small, but the funny thing is when I throw myself into the mattress and its like throw myself into a wooden board hahah..

However sometimes you get great things sometimes you don't, but it was a fun holiday and we were laughing about the room & mattress. Next time stay in regular ibis is better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalimartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice and clean no-frills hotel. Great for solo traveller. Location was good and a short bus ride away from the train station. There is also a supermarket next to the hotel. The room was clean and quiet. Generally comfortable, but work desk was small so it's not ideal for people who need to do work in the hotel. The air conditioning was good and there was free wifi for unlimited devices. Hairdryer can be obtained from reception with a 20 CHF deposit. Hot and cold water can be obtained at the lobby and there was a microwave there as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shermaine-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#37 of 68 in Lucerne
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Property: ibis budget Luzern City
Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing