We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, worth to make a trip”

Restaurant Geissmatt
Ranked #17 of 406 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent, worth to make a trip”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Recommended by Trip Advisor, we went there when we visited Lucerne in June. It is a small and friendly restaurant, and we were warmly welcomed by the restaurant owner. No there was only a set menu with no choice, the food was wonderful and with nice presentation. The Salad was particularly fresh and tasty while the steak was juicy and tender. Of course, being a chocolate lover, I tried their " the best chocolate cake in the world" as dessert. It was really good though you may not agree it is the best in the world :) . But it was one of the best chocolate cakes I tried so far. ( As a reference point, I prefer French Chocolate than Swiss Chocolate) ( smiley )

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tai O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    27
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Been there twice, and the food was decent, but hospitality lacked the basics. Telling the chef that the meat was not really tender earned a not-so-nice-reply: Not everyone likes sous-vide. Well, I happen to know that I do like it and that if done the right way, the meat is tender as hell. But well, the owner couldn't handle my well-intended critique. Lost it with me as the overall food experience was not excessively good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Sgali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

There is good food and then there is great food. This was great food. The menu is 5 courses and is pre-set. Along with a chef's offering, there is salad, pasta, entree, cheese and dessert. The entree we had was veal with potatoes and arugula. It was the best, most tender veal I think I have ever had, with a sauce that was rich, but not overpowering. Had a very enjoyable 2+ hours. Couple of notes...a cab from the center of town should not cost more than about 12 Swiss francs (we were grossly overcharged on the way there), also be patient with the staff, English is not always their first language and there may be some miscommunication. I was able to speak German to them and it was much easier.

While the name sounds Swiss/German, I believe the cooking is Italian based, with the menu written in a chalk board in Italian. This restaurant has found a delicious and unique niche in a world where people expect really fresh food, wonderfully cooked.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank eve1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not really welcoming”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

the restaurant is supposed to be open until late. the opening hours on the doors are until 11pm. I arrived there at 9.50 and they refused to sit me. they were neither welcoming nor helpful. the 'late night' mention should be removed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank magillagodzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Experience”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food is delicious, great wine and the staff are excellent. The owner is a real character who will entertain you. Try their local Geissmatt beer if they have it in stock.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Multistrada1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Geissmatt also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Geissmatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing