We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once we found it...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Once we found it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Arrived in Zurich and promptly boarded train to Luzern - it helps if you don't leave your itinerary folder on the plane! Anyway I knew the name of hotel but no address. Not wanting to turn on data roaming so soon into trip, thought to ask someone. Everyone pointed in different directions until finally a policeman was correct. One hour looking but we did see a lot else. Hint if you stay here - arrive at train and don't cross the river. Walk along river with it on your right - and stay on Banhofstrasse bearing left after the church which will be on your left.

Anyway, we finally checked into a quiet, quaint, spotless hotel to very friendly staff. Our room is a suite (404) with terrace overlooking four church steeples all chiming on the hour.

Walking so much we stayed in to Restaurant Savage - same menu as other hotel restaurant - suggested to us by front desk as quieter - in front of roaring fire. Delicious food and epicurean presentation.

Room Tip: I would suggest top floor for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faemuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment your stay a tour Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.

In fact, coming from the railway station ones you cross the river you make your way to us much longer and complicated.
Now you find us, you see how easy it is to reach the hotel.
I’ll be very pleased to give your feedback to our staff. Thank you for your compliments.
Looking forward accommodating you again –now you know how to arrive.
Best regards
Andrés Calvo – Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    128
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
62
203
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

I had not picked this Hotel originally, but my Regular one ( across the river no name mentioned ) was being renovated and they asked me if I was happy to move to Wilden Mann. I was worried, but once I saw it I was so glad and relived,. Now I stay here every time I am in Luzern.

I really don't understand how anyone can give it less than 4 rating.
Someone mentioned that it was noisy and Bells were heard and was near Red Light area, , I must have missed that and I appeared to have slept though the bells.
Thanks again , and hope to see you again next month.
Gordon,. Belfast

Room Tip: Let the Hotel decide , I have never sleft in any bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordydud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your nice your nice comments on our property.
It was our pleasure having you with us and look forward accommodating you again.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Best regards
Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
341 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Very nice small hotel in the heart of old town Lucerne and beautifully decorated for Christmas. We had a wonderful room, very spacious, and very clean. The central location is convenient for walking anywhere in the historic area and along the river. It is also very close to the train station but a taxi is still recommended if you have lots of luggage. Staff was attentive.
Take an excursion up to Mt. Pilatus for a wonderful extra!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for expending some of your holidays with us
I thank you as well for taking the time tp share your experience at our place with us and other users.
Looking forward accommodating you again.
Best regards
Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulla, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Loved this hotel even though we had just booked and ordinary room when the management heard it was our wedding anniversary they moved us the the largest room in the "house". 4 poster bed fluffy robes, fruit basket. It was wonderful!!
The hotel it's self is very old and has creaky floors with funny add ons, loved this!!
The restaurant was old style and quaint the service was impeccable and the food more so.
Luzern as a city is wonderful, I used to live in Neuchatel and visited Luzern and fell in love with it's winding cobble streets and beautiful scenery.
We travelled here in Oct 2004, I couldn't change the date, but I am sure the hotel is just as good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

A Hotel made from 5 historic houses in the center of Lucerne. This is not one of these industrialized concrete block where ervery thing is built to produce the lowest costs and everything is the same. Here every floor and room has its own special charm, size and style while room, bathroom etc are clean and nice. The staff is very friendly. Only minus WIFI does cost extra which is a relict of the past it seams.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skysurf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our services and property with your nice comments.
About the WIFI, we think, that CHF 5.- per day for free internet connection is really not much.

Looking forward accommodating you again soon
Best regards
Andrés Calvo, Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

An elegant hotel, well located near the river and bridges for sightseeing.
We had booked a superior room, but I think we may have been upgraded to a junior suite. (It had a separate sitting area.) The room and bathroom were spacious, well equipped and very clean, with elegant decor. Bathrobes and slippers were provided, and complimentary mineral water in the room was appreciated. Our only complaint would be that the shower didn’t seem to be working properly. (There was an overhead shower and a flexible shower hose, but we couldn’t get it to switch to the overhead one.)
Breakfast was a standard buffet, as you would expect in this class of hotel, although it was quite busy when we were there.
Reception staff were helpful and efficient, including advising on location of restaurants and loaning us umbrellas!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann guest

We really appreciate your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are glad, that you enjoyed the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann experience.

The location from the hotel is excellent and within a two minutes’ walk you reach the river, lake and bridges of Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you again soon and hope you had a safe journey back.

Best regards

Andrés Calvo | Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed for two nights as part of a Swiss rail tour and wish it had been there for 12 nights. One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in for some time. The room (and that of our friends) was very well appointed, clean and had those little extras which make a stay more enjoyable. The staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Just one tip for future visitors, if you stay and want to use the restaurant, make a booking. Unfortunately we didn't and the restaurant was full which is usually a sign of good food. We liked the hotel so much we have already decided to return there for a week and tour by train using the Wilden Mann as our base. Finally thank you to all the staff for a very pleasant stay.
DL

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you very much for chosen us for your stay in Lucerne and for the nice comments on the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
Look forward accommodating you again.
Best regards | Andrés Calvo, Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Property: Hotel Wilden Mann
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing