We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but decor wasnt for me”
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel earlier this week. The room was MASSIVE compared to the one I stayed in in Zurich. The style of the room wasn't for me as I prefer modern and it was more set for someone in their 60's. Location was excellent and really close to the train station, bathroom was huge, it was quiet at night and the staff and service were great so I would definetely stay here again even with the floral curtains!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoopdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear zoopdog brisbane

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne.
Your comments are much appreciated.
Looking forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards.

Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Wilden Mann (Wild man) is a great hotel. It's made up of several old properties joined together and therefore is quirky, but this just makes it more interesting. There are many antiques to see in the public areas - it's worth exploring the corridors to see them. The rooms are very clean and well presented with very good facilities. The beds are turned down for you every evening and a sweet treat is left for each person. There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but these are available free on the second floor (just help yourself - if there are any cups left).
Food is very high quality and any special requirements are no problem. Breakfast buffet is great with plenty on offer, both cooked and cold, just fill up ready for the day ahead. Used dishes are cleared from your table as you move onto the next round.
The staff are both friendly and helpful. Evening meal waiters and waitresses are really attentive with nothing being too much trouble.
We were made to feel very welcome and relaxed throughout our one week stay.
The only down side is the noise from outside during the night. When we stayed it was hot and we needed the windows open all night. There were lots of revellers in the area. This is a city hotel and so they cannot help the external noise. Despite this we would stay again as the hotel is superb.
From this hotel it's an easy walk to the Lucerne attractions including the old town on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swampy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Swampy12

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne and for taking the time to share your experience with us and other users.
Your comments on our team and service quality are much appreciated.
The Blue Balls Festival is going on in Lucerne so, the noise during your stay was probably from guest coming from the festival. However as you said: there is not much we can do.
Looking forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards.

Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recently stayed here for three nights and were completely happy with the hotel and our room. The bathroom had a tub and separate shower and was quite large with double sinks, nice!! Not all rooms are the same so you need to inquire about this to get a room you will be happy with. Breakfast was quite adequate with plenty of variety to choose from. The hotel is old and I enjoyed discovering all the nooks with interesting art and furniture. The location is probably the best reason to stay here as you are within walking distance to almost everything. The train station is a ten minute walk and that's with us lugging our suitcases. All of the people working here were very helpful and accommodating. We received great advice on transportation to Mt. Pilatus and appreciated their helpfulness. There are several restaurants in the hotel and you are close to many others. The only thing that keeps me from giving a five rating is that the hotel has no air conditioning. It was in the mid to high 70's while we were there and our room got very warm. A fan is provided which helps a little but even with our windows open the room was uncomfortable. I would stay here again just not during warmer summer months.

Room Tip: You need to ask about rooms and prices as they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear OrSunshine

Thank you for staying at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann during your stay in Lucerne.
Your comments are much appreciated
You say: «the hotel is old» In fact, the first time our property is mentioned goes back to 1517. So you can imagine how difficult would be air conditioning the rooms.
Looking forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards.

Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

... I'm 6'4 and male.

I can't really express how disappointing the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann was. We had booked the hotel for two nights so that we could tour around Lucerne while on vacation. We booked a standard room with one bed. We were so unhappy with the hotel, we forfeited our second night (which was paid in advance) and left.

When we arrived, the lobby was under construction (the tile floors were being replaced). We couldn't use the elevator as it was out of order because of the floors I suppose. That meant we got to walk up 4 flights of stairs to get to our room. It's worth noting that when we were finally able to access the elevator, that internally - it's missing a wall! Yes, the bare wall glides by you as the elevator moves - watch your children's fingers :-).

The room itself was cramped and uncomfortable. The furnishings were old. We found remnants of the previous guests - a plastic tag in the middle of the floor when we walked in, small bits of trash. The bathroom only had one small light for the entire room, and if you wanna talk tiny - well, I've had larger bathrooms on cruise ships. Yes, I'm 6'4" - and an average-size American - the shower was nearly impossible to use it was so tight, and it felt gross to have to come into contact with the curtain and the walls as I attempted to turn around.

The night we stayed was uncharacteristically hot for Lucerne (or so we were told), so we asked for a fan, which was placed in the room before we checked in - however they left the windows closed - so it didn't have a chance to keep the place cool.

If you're a design fan, it's worth noting that the room had drapes made out of a pierre frey teacup pattern - a fabric that's probably $200/yard. In my opinion, they should have spent the money on getting internet throughout the building. The wireless signal was too weak to use (if we were actually able to connect to it), and the sole workstation on the second floor was a joke.

I'm not sure what's wrong with the star rating system in Switzerland, or with this hotel, but if you want a comparison, look at the website for the Hotel Montana, also a 4 star.

Our biggest mistake was booking this room as pre-paid (as we feared what the price might jump to if we waited)... yeah, that's how they got us... my new rule is to never prepay for a room.

Skip this place - you'd be better off sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlatinumStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear NewYorkStrider

Thank you for comments on Tripadvisor.
We apologize for the inconveniences caused because of the renovation works of our lobby. The construction works are now longer finished and the results are wonderful.
The Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann is extended across seven town houses dated 1517 so, air conditioning the rooms is very difficult if not impossible.
Concerning the elevator, it is an small one but all safety measures are fulfilled.
The prepaid option is always a good one since booking such arrangement you get a considerable reduction on the rates of the chosen room type.
Thank you for appreciated the quality of the furnishings. 3 to 5 rooms are completely refurbish every year.
We considered your last sentence definitely a «too hard one»
Next time you come to Lucerne, try one of our superior rooms called Romantic rooms as well or a Junior suite. You will love them.
Best regards

Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is quite an expensive hotel and for the rates charges we were a little disappointed. Location is excellent; staff very friendly, room well furnished (albeit very hot and stuffy); good bathroom with separate bath and a great shower and a good breakfast.It seems to cater extensively for touring groups who stay for one or 2 nights at most. Our main disappointment was with the food particularly with that served in the Burgerstube. The cost was outrageous for the quality of the food as was the cost of the wine served in minute portions.Dinner in the other restaurant of this hotel (Sauvage) was a little better than in the Burgerstube but still it was far from what one would expect in this level of hotel. We were a little too tired ( after some sightseeing) to look for somewhere else to eat but that would be my recommendation if staying at the Wilden Mann. Avoid both restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Aart8

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in TripAdvisor.
Thank you as well for pointing out: staff, room, baht and breakfast. It is always a great motivation for the whole team.

Concerning your comments on your visit to our restaurants, we are sorry not to exceed your expectations.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back soon at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann. When so, please try again the Burgerstube or the Sauvage, we think, you will change your mind.

Best regards
Your Romantik Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Wilden Mann is a jewel in this beautiful city. The rooms were all uniquely furnished, spacious and clean. Everything was modernized without loosing the charm of a 500 year old building. You will find that the location makes for an easy walk to the old town, Lake Lucerne, Chapel Bridge and the train station. Breakfast was exceptional with high quality cheeses and freshly baked breads. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Seek out a second floor room facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff_elp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Guest

Thank you for you for staying with us during your Lucerne visit. Your review is much appreciated.
Your statement: «I would stay there again» it's a big compliment! Thank you.
Looking forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards
Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel has been in existence since 1517 and it is so unique, quaint, and top notch! Each room is updated and different and the hotel has historical character and ambiance. Located a short walk from the Chapel Bridge, the Lake, and the shopping area it also has a breakfast room and nice sitting room. The staff was professional and accommodating. The rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable, but the showers were tiny as you can imagine from an 500 year old building!

Room Tip: Self service tea or coffee at all hours was a big plus for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Jmits1

Thank you for your kindness sharing with us your experience at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
Much appreciated your comment on the coffee & tea self-service. Nice to see that not for all guest is that obvious to get this service for free as we offer.
Looking forward accommodating you again soon.
Kind regards.
Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £138 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing