We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Kitsch Hotel in a good location”
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Kitsch Hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Well, what should one say about this place......?

It's probably a matter of taste.
Romantic in my opinion has nothing to do with Kitsch.
I was put in a room with mirrors behind the bed. Everything with (old, but not teared looking) heavy textiles, in "romantic" colors. Bathroom was okay, not outstanding. No nice balcony.
So in my opinion it was hard to get romantic feelings in this room.

Not a matter of taste is the breakfast: Not a big selection and you have to ask for more scrambled eggs. Not that they would see what you need or at least happily ask you for your need and then happily serve you....... (for what you have to pay there, they should do that)

It's a okay hotel. Don't expect romantic moments if you're not a Rosamunde Pilcher fan.....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schubert05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other Tripadvisor users.
Is kitsch romantic or is romantic kitsch? Your opinion about our property is much appreciated, thank you!
We look forward accommodating you again.
Best regards.
Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    145
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
229
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second stay during the Switzerland visit. Excellent location, very live area, looks everthing is very near to this place. Entry to the hotel give an idea that the hotel is converted as change of use from other structrue to the hotel. Very well miodified. very coorpertive front desk staff. Provide good guidance for sight seeing and various other informations.

The journey by staircase to the room and display of various artefacts very interesting. Room interior is good. No strong view surrounding.

Good chocolates at reception, very good breakfast and serving person very helpfull. Enjoyed the breakfast.

Stayed there on 29th and 30th April 2013. Can plan a restay there.

Room Tip: Select any one, no great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabhgaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing us again and again. It was our pleasure having you as guest at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
We thank you as well for your great review concerning our service and staff.
Sharing your experience with us after your stay is much appreciated.
You are right, when you said: «the hotel is change of use from other structure to the hotel»
In fact, use to be 7 old town houses connecting step by step. The last one around 15 years ago.
That explain the number of stairs and levels on the corridors.
We look forward accommodating you soon again.
Kind regards.
Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we had a corner room on a quiet street-thank goodness!!!! spacious big room with deluxe bathroom tub and shower- very pretty furnishings- we were so comfortable-- it was heaven. the staff very attentive, the lunch served in the hotel was surperb. highly , highly recomend this location.old town and sites were steps away.

Room Tip: the hotel is situated in a quiet part of town across from the old town, really nice neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurrPurr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear PurrPurr42

It was our pleasure having you as guest at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann. Thank you for choosing us.
We thank you as well for your fantastic review.
Sharing your time and experience with us after your stay is much appreciated. Probably will help other users to follow your choice.
We already look forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards.
Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoutleeuw
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I spent 2 weeks at this hotel on a mix of business travel during the week and personal travel including my wife on week-ends.

During that period I stayed in 5 rooms due to unplanned travel extensions on my part, the hotel being very well booked during that time and resulting room changes being required, but also because I was not happy with some of the rooms and was given an upgrade or alternate rooms as a result.

Overall, I rate the Wilden Mann positively, would recommend it to friends and will gladly consider staying there again in future times.

The hotel is located right in the heart of old-town Lucerne and within easy walking distance to all main sights there, yet it offers direct and easy connections to all major roads.

What the hotel offers in abundance is a charm quite its own. It is a collection of old town houses which have been connected together over time, and this gives the hotel a very unique character. Several of the rooms I had were just plain pretty and very tastefully laid-out and appointed. All other rooms were also functional and adequate and always clean.

I read several of the reviews here and do not agree with comments that the bath-room facilities are too small, they were more than adequate in all of the 5 rooms I experienced, nor that the rooms are too hot. The hotel has fitted either fans (ventilators) or even air-conditioning units in all of the rooms I was in and even though it was up to 35 degrees centigrade outside during that time, I was never too hot.

The property is appointed throughout with antique furniture and just oozes history and old-world style. Clearly, this is a hotel, which appeals more to individualists than those who expect the (safety of what they know from a) typical cookie-cutter mass-market consistency offered by chain hotels.

All food I had at the Wilden Mann during breakfast, lunches and dinners was good to very good. Service was consistently friendly and when something was not up to par they immediately worked on and found solutions. I particularly enjoyed the very efficient car valet service, meals on the hotel's open terrace and convenience of being able to enjoy all the old-town has to offer within a few steps of the hotel.

Alas, there were also a number of niggles during my stay.

The 1st room I was given, while very nice, had a persistent smell to it, the type of smell that does not go away even after a day's worth of airing out the room. I was immediately given another room. Also, I missed the types of welcome gifts I am used to receiving from other top-end hotels, such as a nice fruit assortment or similar.

Another niggle is that the TVs in all of the rooms I had were of a very tiny size. This can only be a niggle as I / we hardly used the TVs anyhow and usually watched content on our laptops or smartphones and WiFi connections were consistently good.

The breakfast buffet, while ample, just does not look compelling and lacks in sophistication when compared to many other hotels both local to Lucerne or globally. Also, the layout of the buffet itself seems to have been done not with the customer in mind, but to make it easier on themselves to set it up. The overall dining-room area could use a rejuvenation, and I got the strong sense that dining-related personnel at the Wilden Mann are in a rut that would benefit from rethinking what they are doing by putting themselves in the role of their clientele and also benchmarking their efforts with other hotels.

The biggest and most consistent let-down I witnessed at the Wilden Mann was (lack of) maintenance, maintenance, maintenance. This ranged from quite obvious scratches and abrasions in and around the elevator to a run-down look & feel of much of the upholstery on seats, sofas and carpets in many of the rooms I had, especially noticeable in the supposed 'best-room' they gave me, a dining-room that showed loose fittings and cables, shutters in a bad state of repair, a terrace sun-shade cover that is very deteriorated, walls in and around the property that desperately need a fresh coat of paint etc. This is really an area they need to invest in, as not doing so will continue to take much away from this property and increasingly so as time goes by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an elaborate review on our property. We are very honored about your overall rating for your stay and helpful remarks.

We experienced strong occupancy levels in the months leading to your stay. This demand inevitably left some scars on the property. These maintenance issues will be addressed during the upcoming quiet period.

We will take a good hard look on the appearance of the breakfast buffet.

Once again thank you very much for your time and for being our guest.
We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

10 minute walk from the train Station. (or 17CHF in a Taxi).
The hotel is very old, but has some amazing looking rooms and furniture.
The room we had was quite large which was nice.
Tea and coffee making facilities on the floor.
Handy location to the river, bridges and the old part of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear ScottMH

It was our pleasure having you as guest at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann. Thank you for choosing us.
We thank you as well for your reviewing us.
Sharing your time and experience with us after your stay is much appreciated. Probably will help other users to follow your choice.
We look forward accommodating you soon again.
Kind regards.
Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel was beautiful and comfortable. Loved the historic charm of the whole hotel including the rooms and the restaurant. Our room was spacious as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. Dinner at their restaurant was superb. We had a very romantic stay.
The location was perfect. We were easily able to walk to and from the train station and to all of the historic sites. Its also near many restaurants and is in the middle of a great shopping area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaclynR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann guest

First of all thank you for choosing us while your stay in Lucerne. Many thanks too for your great comments on the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
They help us a lot and will help other users to make up their opinion when looking for a hotel to stay the area.
Look forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location - just a stone's throw from Old Town and a 10 minute walk from the train station. The room was spacious; the bed was large and comfortable; there was a small table with two chairs, and plenty of room for the two of us. The bathroom was very modern and spacious, and it even had 2 sinks. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, but the little we did, they were attentive and accommodating, e.g., my husband thought the blow dryer was not working (it was); he mentioned it to the front desk, and within 5 minutes, someone came to the room to see what the problem was. I cannot attest to the food as we did not eat there. I mistakenly booked our room without breakfast; I still don't know how that happened; when I mentioned it to the front desk, they said it would be no problem for us to have breakfast there for 25 francs per person. Since we thought we could spend less money on our own, we opted out. 50 francs for breakfast is just too much money, since that equates to $55 US. Wifi is not free here; it is 5 francs per device per day. We were there for 3 nights; when we were settling up with the bill, the clerk at the front desk gave us one day's internet usage for free. There is complimentary coffee, tea, hot beverages on the second floor (which I only found out about by reading another Trip Advisor's review - no one at the hotel told us), and there is fruit in the lobby. Also, they have a delicious mint lemonade beverage in the lobby, which my husband and I loved. This is a very nice hotel and we were overall pleased with our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear blackbear701

Thank you very much for your great and large review on our property.
Many thanks for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne.

With pleasure we would accommodate you again soon, however: don’t forget to book with breakfast, you will love it.
Best regards
Yours Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Property: Hotel Wilden Mann
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing