We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilden Mann is worth a stay.”
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Recently, my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann. Having stayed at two other Romantik hotels during our two-week stay in Switzerland, we had a good basis for comparison, and the Hotel Wilden Mann did not disappoint.

The junior suite in which we stayed was lovely--well appointed, bright, modern, spacious. The staff was most attentive and helpful. The traditional restaurant served delicious, authentic Swiss food at a relatively reasonable price, in a pleasant atmosphere, verging upon elegant. The wait staff could not have been more attentive.

The location of the Hotel Wilden Mann was perfect--within a few minutes walk of the Chapel Bridge and the bus and train stations. The walk to the Lion Monument was longer but reasonable and a good way to see some of beautiful Luzern.

Over all, we were more than satisfied with the Hotel Wilden Mann and would plan to stay there again, were we to travel again to Luzern.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Emma
Thank you for your great and long review. Thank you for your time to share your experience with us.
All your comments are highly appreciated and pay our daily efforts.
Look forward accommodating you soon again with us.
Your Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Always on the hunt for a great stay during my business travels, I've developed a true affection for Hotel Wilden Mann. The charming, cozy interiors have been updated while maintaining a traditional feel. The restaurants are not only a good value for Lucerne, but an exceptional value for the quality of the dishes and their presentation. Close to the train station and in the historic center, pedestrian travelers are right where they want to be. The staff is polite and service-driven, offering both helpful suggestions and assistance with genuine smiles. Refined, but not stuffy, Wilden Mann is my top choice in Lucerne.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Caron

It is always a pleasure having you with us. Thank you for your constant fidelity!
Thank you for sharing your great review with the Tripadvisor community!
Your kind comments confirm our efforts to provide our guests best quality and service at best value.
Look forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards.
Your Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I like titling my reviews according to the top 3 things i enjoyed the most; and this hotel had the above.

First of all, being a family trip i wouldnt live here on my own, its too expensive for one. With a loved one or your significant other, by all means. Why?

Because it has beautiful interiors, i wouldnt call it kitschy, but it could rub off some that way. Deep dark colors, lush and rich. I'd describe it as stereotyped honeymoon-destinations-as-portrayed-in-american-films-but-stepped-up-a-couple-of-notches-for-being-in-switzerland-and-therefore-authentic.

The beds are comfortable, pillows could use some more volume. The bathrooms are large spacious and clean!

The hotel has two restaurants and they serve excellent food.

Besides being comfy and honeymoon-central, the location is again, central, theres a catholic church, the wooden bridge, its a 5 minute walk from the train station central, and pretty much the center of town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tato_delanoriega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Tato

Thank you for your costly time you took to do such an extensive review on the Wilden Mann!
Your great comments on interior design, comfort of the rooms, food quality and location are really much appreciated. Thank you for recommending us!
We look forward having you soon with us again as a couple or as a part of a family party.
Best regards.
Your Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is located very close to the train station. It is less than a ten minute walk from there and only a few minutes from the river and old town. A lovely old hotel with modern upgrades. There are two restaurants on the premises. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a lovely dinner in the Burgerstrube. A shout out to our favorite waitress, Sabina. She is friendly and engaging and very knowledgeable with food preferences.
We received a welcoming email from Peggy at the front desk and a second email with information on finding the hotel easily from the station. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lechat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Lechat98

Thank you for staying with us! Thank you as well for your great and detailed review!

Your comments on Sabina and Peggy, about our service & property and the location in the heart of Lucerne are much appreciated.

Look forward accommodating you soon again.

Kind regards, your Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I should complain about the internet - it was good most of the time, but would drop at times. So if you have a business conference online (like I did) you must warn your colleagues at the other end of the line.

Other than that, we had a great time. The front desk was very helpful - buying and booking our tour tickets, sharing information about good sights to see and good restaurants, and especially helpful in getting boring passes printed!

Breakfast staff were also very friendly - bright and cheerful making breakfast a pleasant meal as well. As in many hotels the daily fare didn't vary, but it had a good number of choices and the smoked salmon was good. The two restaurants on the ground floor were also convenient. While we did not go to the French one, the BurgerStube which we went to (separate comments) was reasonable with a very friendly waitress.

It was Holy Week when we visited so the hotel's location was fantastic - 2 minutes; walk to either The Jesuit church or to the Dominican one. And there are a number of good restaurants and bars nearby. For those who are audiophiles, there's a Bang and Olufsen shop close by.

There are once rooms that have view of the courtyard on the left hand side of the hotel (facing the hotel). Get those rooms - they are large and they do have a view.

Room Tip: Get those facing the courtyard if you want to have a view. The other side if you want silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear GranDia,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne. Thank you very much for your great and very extensive review!

Your comments on our team, service and location are much appreciated.

We do apologize for the little troubles you had with the internet connection. We are already solving this, thank you for advising.

It would be a pleasure accommodating you again and we already look forward to it.

Kind regards, your Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

An old Post House on the route north south of Europe before planes and trains. Lovely rooms, old beams, friendly good food free tea and good coffee.. Very near the railway station and a few yards from the wooden bridge to the old town
Would willingly return

Room Tip: I think all rooms were good but had different aspects
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Peter

It was our pleasure having you as guest at our Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann. Thank you for choosing us.
We thank you as well for your great review concerning our service, infrastructure and location.
Sharing your experience with us after your stay is much appreciated.
We look forward accommodating you soon again.
Kind regards.

Your Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Romantik Wilden Mann in Lucerne for two nights in July 2013 as an extension tour of a Uniworld Boat Cruise. The hotel was about to be celebrating it's 500 year anniversary. It is a beautiful, very well maintained, and historic building.
We did not choose our room as it was booked through Uniworld and not by us directly. We stayed in room 107 and looking afterwards at the rooms on the website I believe our room was outdated compared to others. Although it did have an updated and roomy bathroom. It was very, very hot in Lucerne during our stay and the Wilden Mann is not air conditioned. We did learn, however, that the only air conditioned building in Lucerne is the Stadtkeller restaurant. As a result, our room was very uncomfortable. They did supply us with a fan after it was requested but unfortunately it just blew the hot air around. Consequently, we slept very poorly despite the windows being wide open. We also had to ask for a top sheet to be put on the bed as all that was provided was a duvet! Really?! The room temperature was about 90 degrees!
We did not eat dinner at the hotel as it is very expensive. We chose to eat at one of the outdoor cafe's as the price was a little better and there at least was a breeze. However, we did have the breakfast buffet as it was included in our package. It was good, but not outstanding. And of course, the dining room was uncomfortably hot even first thing in the morning.
The location of this hotel can't be beat. It is steps away from the famous Chapel Bridge spanning the Reuss River, close to the charming Old Square of Lucerne which is a pedestrian area filled with stores and restaurants, close to Lake Lucerne and the pier to take a boat tour, and a ten minute walk to the train station. While in Lucerne we enjoyed a boat tour of the lake and an amazing trip up Mount Pilatus.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully when booking and don't visit in July!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serenity250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Serenity250,

Thank you very much for your extensive review! It was a great pleasure for us having you as a guest at the Wilden Mann during your stay in Lucerne. Thank you for choosing us!

Your comments on the location are much appreciated. You are right, the location is ideal to explore Lucerne.

Your room 107 is a brand new refurbished room. Its antic furniture has been restored by craftsmen skilled in traditional techniques to emphasize the beauty of the valuable fabrics and embroideries. We are proud of our heritage dating back to 1517 and do our best to let our guests indulge in a bit of history. While we fully understand that our interior may not appeal to everyone we do not agree with your comment “outdated”.

Providing air conditioning in a building dating back to 1517 is a challenge to us. We do apologize for the inconveniences caused by the unusually high temperatures. As you mentioned, we did our best to make of your stay the pleasant one.

Stay with us again next time you come to Lucerne, if possible spring time or autumn and try ones our restaurants, too.

We look forward to accommodating you again soon.

Best regards, your Wilden Mann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 66 in Lucerne
977 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £134 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing