We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break in Luzern”
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“City break in Luzern”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A quirky and quaint little hotel in the beatiful city of Luzern. Right in the heart of the city, only a few minutes walk from the railway and boat stations. Very easy walking distance to all the interesting places and shops. Buffet breakfast was excellent and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the top floor and had a terrace where you could look in on other roof gardens and balconies.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALE1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Ale

Thank you very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Your comments are really much appreciated.
Look forward accommodating you again.
Your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    139
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
221
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is a gem! The rooms are charming beyond belief, and the location cannot be topped. This place is full of old-world charm. Service was impeccable, and the restaurant offers a glimpse of typical Swiss cuisine. Only complaint was the slow service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookiecookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Lookiecookie

Thank you for using some of your time to review us after your stay at the Wilden Mann last October.
Great to see, you didn’t forget us. Thank you!
Your wonderful comments on charm and quality of our cuisine are much appreciated, even your note on the service is very helpful.
We look forward having you soon with us again.
Best regards.
Your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Recently, my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann. Having stayed at two other Romantik hotels during our two-week stay in Switzerland, we had a good basis for comparison, and the Hotel Wilden Mann did not disappoint.

The junior suite in which we stayed was lovely--well appointed, bright, modern, spacious. The staff was most attentive and helpful. The traditional restaurant served delicious, authentic Swiss food at a relatively reasonable price, in a pleasant atmosphere, verging upon elegant. The wait staff could not have been more attentive.

The location of the Hotel Wilden Mann was perfect--within a few minutes walk of the Chapel Bridge and the bus and train stations. The walk to the Lion Monument was longer but reasonable and a good way to see some of beautiful Luzern.

Over all, we were more than satisfied with the Hotel Wilden Mann and would plan to stay there again, were we to travel again to Luzern.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Emma
Thank you for your great and long review. Thank you for your time to share your experience with us.
All your comments are highly appreciated and pay our daily efforts.
Look forward accommodating you soon again with us.
Your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Always on the hunt for a great stay during my business travels, I've developed a true affection for Hotel Wilden Mann. The charming, cozy interiors have been updated while maintaining a traditional feel. The restaurants are not only a good value for Lucerne, but an exceptional value for the quality of the dishes and their presentation. Close to the train station and in the historic center, pedestrian travelers are right where they want to be. The staff is polite and service-driven, offering both helpful suggestions and assistance with genuine smiles. Refined, but not stuffy, Wilden Mann is my top choice in Lucerne.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Caron

It is always a pleasure having you with us. Thank you for your constant fidelity!
Thank you for sharing your great review with the Tripadvisor community!
Your kind comments confirm our efforts to provide our guests best quality and service at best value.
Look forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards.
Your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I like titling my reviews according to the top 3 things i enjoyed the most; and this hotel had the above.

First of all, being a family trip i wouldnt live here on my own, its too expensive for one. With a loved one or your significant other, by all means. Why?

Because it has beautiful interiors, i wouldnt call it kitschy, but it could rub off some that way. Deep dark colors, lush and rich. I'd describe it as stereotyped honeymoon-destinations-as-portrayed-in-american-films-but-stepped-up-a-couple-of-notches-for-being-in-switzerland-and-therefore-authentic.

The beds are comfortable, pillows could use some more volume. The bathrooms are large spacious and clean!

The hotel has two restaurants and they serve excellent food.

Besides being comfy and honeymoon-central, the location is again, central, theres a catholic church, the wooden bridge, its a 5 minute walk from the train station central, and pretty much the center of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tato_delanoriega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Tato

Thank you for your costly time you took to do such an extensive review on the Wilden Mann!
Your great comments on interior design, comfort of the rooms, food quality and location are really much appreciated. Thank you for recommending us!
We look forward having you soon with us again as a couple or as a part of a family party.
Best regards.
Your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is located very close to the train station. It is less than a ten minute walk from there and only a few minutes from the river and old town. A lovely old hotel with modern upgrades. There are two restaurants on the premises. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had a lovely dinner in the Burgerstrube. A shout out to our favorite waitress, Sabina. She is friendly and engaging and very knowledgeable with food preferences.
We received a welcoming email from Peggy at the front desk and a second email with information on finding the hotel easily from the station. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lechat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Lechat98

Thank you for staying with us! Thank you as well for your great and detailed review!

Your comments on Sabina and Peggy, about our service & property and the location in the heart of Lucerne are much appreciated.

Look forward accommodating you soon again.

Kind regards, your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
376 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I should complain about the internet - it was good most of the time, but would drop at times. So if you have a business conference online (like I did) you must warn your colleagues at the other end of the line.

Other than that, we had a great time. The front desk was very helpful - buying and booking our tour tickets, sharing information about good sights to see and good restaurants, and especially helpful in getting boring passes printed!

Breakfast staff were also very friendly - bright and cheerful making breakfast a pleasant meal as well. As in many hotels the daily fare didn't vary, but it had a good number of choices and the smoked salmon was good. The two restaurants on the ground floor were also convenient. While we did not go to the French one, the BurgerStube which we went to (separate comments) was reasonable with a very friendly waitress.

It was Holy Week when we visited so the hotel's location was fantastic - 2 minutes; walk to either The Jesuit church or to the Dominican one. And there are a number of good restaurants and bars nearby. For those who are audiophiles, there's a Bang and Olufsen shop close by.

There are once rooms that have view of the courtyard on the left hand side of the hotel (facing the hotel). Get those rooms - they are large and they do have a view.

Room Tip: Get those facing the courtyard if you want to have a view. The other side if you want silence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear GranDia,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne. Thank you very much for your great and very extensive review!

Your comments on our team, service and location are much appreciated.

We do apologize for the little troubles you had with the internet connection. We are already solving this, thank you for advising.

It would be a pleasure accommodating you again and we already look forward to it.

Kind regards, your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Property: Hotel Wilden Mann
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing