We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was beautiful and very central for the Railway Station. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Little extras such as slippers and dressing gown etc. were a lovely touch with a small toblerone on your bed in the evening with a daily news sheet.Good breakfast and tea and coffee-making 24hours. Room was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISSY49_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Issy
Thank you very much for reviewing us.
It is really a great confirmation for all our efforts to receive such wonderful feedback from ours guest. Thank you. Look forward accommodating you soon again.Best regards.
Your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    145
    32
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
229
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I love this hotel. I have stayed there twice with my family. Fabulous breakfast. Right next door to my favorite nail salon of all time. The front desk people were very nice. The bedrooms could use a little updating but we're still nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Samantha

Thank you very much for staying with us! Your comments are really appreciated.
We already look forward accommodating you soon again .
Best regards
Your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel. It is located in a relatively quiet location right in the center of the Old City. It’s a 5 minute walk to the Chapel Bridge and 10 minute walk to the train station and to the boat pier.
The room was tastefully decorated, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuzik12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Tuzik
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne. Thank you for your great review!
Look forward accommodating you soon again in another of our 48 unique rooms.
Best regards
Your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in Lucerne for three nights while on our honeymoon. We got in to Lucerne very late due to our train being delayed, but the check in at this hotel was very quick.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. Several choices of cereals, and grains. Different juices. Pastries. The very best part of the breakfast was the staff. All of the people we saw in there were very happy, helpful and friendly.

The room we stayed in was a good size. I'm not a fan of having two beds pushed together, but that is what this hotel had - not an issue at all. Yes, this hotel does not have air conditioning, but that's part of the charm of this place. It's over 500 years old, and still in amazing shape.

The bathroom was modern, which is a major change from the room itself, since it is more in the time period with the rest of the hotel. Further, our bathroom had a tub, and standing shower. There were plenty of provided supplies for us - soaps, shower gels, lotions, etc.

The hotel is not far from the train station which is a plus for us. The town of Lucerne is also relatively small, so get a map and enjoy walking to any place that you want to get to! The location of this hotel is great since it is a few minutes from the Chappel Bridge, and Old Town, as well.

As for the noise issue that some people bring up: we didn't hear much street noise unless we had the windows open. We were in room 109 and didn't hear much from any of our neighbors.

Stay at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann! We will definitely be back the next time we visit Lucerne!

Room Tip: We had room 109. No issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear John
Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon, thank you for your time to reviewing us.
Your extended and great comments on our property, staff, provided services and location are much appreciated. Thank you!
Look forward accommodating you soon again.
Kind regards, your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandia, Spain
Level Contributor
186 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I will start by giving you the bad news. This is the noisiest hotel I have ever been in and it has no air con. Forget that and go anyway because it is fantastic!!! When we arrived we were innediately impressed by the beauty of the building. It is five hundred years old and formed originally from seven different houses. It shows. There are corridors here, there and everywhere. Steps that go up only to come down again two metres later. Old oak beams everywhere. It has a beauty all of it's own. The food is good and the staff are wonderful. As to the noise, it is next door to a brewery/bottling factory, the night shift seems to start at about 3am and the noise is horrendous if you leave the windows open as we did to compensate for the lack of air con. Big mistake. However, if you close the windows and switch on the huge electric fan there should not be muchof a problem. We loved it you will as well.

Room Tip: Stay away from the brewery if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Bill

Thank you for staying with us, thank you for your time to reviewing us.
Nice title, bad fist sentence, great comments. Thank you very much!
The noise you heard is not the due to any bottling factory, there isn’t any close to the hotel.
It was for sure the car of the recycling company. Actually ones a week they pass by to pick up old glass from the area.
That is something we have any influence on it. In fact is organised by the community for everyone and not by us.
Concerning the air conditioning, as you well noticed, we are talking about a five hundred year old building with wooden floors etc.
Trying to update such a property with AC would probably cause big damages on the historic houses. And to be honest, AC is probably needed a couple of days every year.
Ones again, thank you for your time.
We look forward accommodating you again at the Wilden Mann.
Best regards, your Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at his hotel. We have stayed here several times and have not been disappointed Our room was spacious and newly renovated. It was very clean. The location is close to most of the sights of Lucerne. We ate at the hotel one night and it was very good. The staff was very nice and helpful. A lot of nice amenities. The only complaint is there is no air conditioning and it was quite warm even with a fan plus very noisy with the windows open.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Wilden Mann guest.
Thank you for your fidelity! Thank you for staying ones more at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
Your comments on room quality and amenities as well as food and staff are much appreciated, thank you!
To update houses dated 1517 with air conditioning is not that easy.
Look forward accommodating you again.
Best regards, your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed three nights July 6-8 post cruise and we had a lovely large room with very modern bath. The Hotel also had a breakfast included and the staff very efficient and helpful. The only negative is the noise level. There is no AC and if you opened the windows there was lots of street noise. We enjoyed walking everywhere central location with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amd2632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Wilden Mann guest.

Thank you for staying at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann after your cruise. Thank you for choosing us!
Your comments on location, room, bath and staff. All are really appreciated, thank you!
It will be not very easy to install AC in houses dated 1517 however some junior suites are already equipped with.
Look forward accommodating you again.
Best regards, your Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Property: Hotel Wilden Mann
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing