We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with amazing views on the Kapellbrücke”
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed at this charming hotel in Lucerne, which is situated directly at the river, for three nights in January 2014. The building is grandiose, dating back to the middle ages, apparently it already served as a hotel in 1200 by monks. Of course, the hotel has since been completely renovated, with great attention to details, modernized, yet while keeping the charm of its history. The rooms are well designed, with modern furniture and extremely comfortable beds, and with a balcony overlooking Lucerne with the river in the foreground, the Kapell bridge in the middle, and medieval town in the background, absolutely stunning, like in a picture book. The service is impeccable, including valet parking services, and a generous breakfast: fresh, stylish, healthy. Located next to the Weinmarkt square, we could access a number of excellent restaurants nearby, and explore the wonderful old town of Lucerne, just by walking out the door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

In typical Swiss style, classic but modern and well maintained, not scrappy at all. Small, so far from your typical business hotel chain.

Great location within walking distance of all Luzern, and great views if you get a room facing the canal.

Nice balconies to enjoy a coffee and the view, comfy chairs in the lounge, cracking fire place in winter and nice bar/bistro downstairs.

One of the better hotels I've stayed at.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank sundboell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at dis hotel for my honeymoon. Booked the lake view rooms nd never regretted my choice. The morning view of the lake is simply awesome and refreshing. The hotel has a nice water side restaurant. The rooms are excellent and the people at the reception welcome almost every request you make. There is free wi-fi in the room. The proximity to the rail station, old town area and other monuments is an added advantage.
Would definitely stay again at dis place if I visit lucerne

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vipinpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed at the Hotel des Balances when I decided to visit Lucerne for a short weekend. It was a very good experience. The hotel has character, the staff is friendly and accommodating, and service is fast.

I traveled alone with my dog, and arrived by car. The hotel is surprisingly easy to find and to access, even though it's located at the center of the city. I was able to drive right to the front door of the hotel, and made use of the valet parking service.

High points of my visit:
Parking service!
Dog-friendly hotel!
Excellent breakfast buffet!
Fantastic location!
Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annafromathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We finished our trip to Switzerland with 2 nights at this hotel. What a way to finish. This is the most beautiful hotel with a perfect location. We booked a river view room which was well worth it - the view was stunning. Walk out the front doors and you are in the old town. Perfect hotel in every way!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I've been to Luzern 10+ times, but this was my first time staying in this hotel. I have seen it many times before and it looked so charming, I just had to stay there this time. It's on the expensive side (in my book), but it's very nice. The location doesn't get any better than this. It's right on the river and in the heart of the old town. The rooms overlooking the river have an amazing view of Mt Pilatus and the lake. I loved sitting out on our balcony and taking it all in. The rooms are of a good size, clean, quiet and charming. The sitting room on the first floor is beautiful and makes a wonderful place to hang out and relax after a day of shopping and sightseeing. Breakfast is $27 per person and we thought that was expensive, so we strolled around town to find something cheaper and couldn't! So just enjoy the breakfast there. We didn't end up eating there, but I've heard from locals that the food is really good. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A wonderful hotel with a view of the old bridge, less than 10 minutes walking distance from the Lucerne main train station.

The room was exquisitely furnished, large double bed with comfortable mattress, stylish shower and toilet with many nice toiletries already packed to take away. Wireless LAN was included and worked like a charm (not the usual connecting trouble, and a very good connection also via Facetime). Built-in charger for all apple products with the respective adapters, Espresso machine with a large variety of different coffees or teas, different cups for coffee and for tea, flatscreen TV, safe and an excellent service.
Breakfast was wonderful - decorated for the eyes, with continental, Swiss, English, but also Asian variants - fresh fruit, fresh vegetables, fish, large assortment of rolls and bread, tea from samovar - huge variation of teas from Green to Black, herbal teas. Delicious decoration of the breakfast buffet, homemade jams, homemade Swiss muesli etc., freshly squeezed juices (including tomato juice).
Very polite and professional service, and the view from the room was truly spectacular.

Room Tip: book a room with view towards the Reuss/Old Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £135 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing