We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Cool, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the location, decor, cleanliness and staff were great. The room was spacious and actually had a low counter built for regular luggage! And our room had a tub! Loved that we could actually sit on our little tiny balcony that overlooked the river. The restaurant and bar downstairs are excellent. Make sure to have the desk make reservations for you though. Wi-fi was also great!

Breakfast is not included at this hotel, and I t is exorbitantly expensive at their restaurant. Also, there is no air conditioning. We just left the balcony doors open at night but I can see where this could be a potential downside.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EcoLogic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    278
    50
    21
    9
See reviews for
199
534
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a treat to spend four days at the Hotel des Balances. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a room with a terrace overlooking the beautiful town of Lucerne. It was truly a postcard view. The welcome basket was a lovely treat. The beds were comfortable and rooms were luxurious. I loved stopping in the hotel bar for drinks and appetizers on the water. The staff were professional, kind, and incredibly helpful...they helped us plan a trip into the Alps for a day (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!) All in all this hotel could not have been more perfect for us and I couldn't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a view, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nigts over an Easter break. Despite the building works going on next door to our room, and the scaffolding interrupting our super view I can only say goods things about this hotel and all its staff. The online photos do not really do it justice, it is simply a charming hotel, (without being ostentacious), in a charming little city. Once arriving in the reception area there is a super welcoming relaxing atmosphere which carries through the whole hotel. Rooms were very comfortable, lovely balcony, views, breakfast had great selection and was very good quality, buzzing bar in the evening without noise intruding into hotel, lovely welcome cocktail was a very nice touch, very centrally located both for exploring the city by foot and the surrounding area for lots of interesting touring. I would have liked to stay longer and would definately stay again on any return trip to Lucerne.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We are here now and have had a great stay except for the renovations going on next door to our room, we have a partial river view and partial view of the scaffolding......the dining scene is very good, we highly recommend NIX, which is a small quaint Italian place across the river, the new beer hall next door is quite fun as well.....we will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tradrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in business at the end of April. I had a nice room at the front of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was modern with L'Occitaine bathroom products and a powerful shower. A really nice touch was a world power adaptor left in the wardrobe, which you could use or buy. The small fridge was well filled and there was a Nespresso machine too. The service was excellent, breakfast was well prepared with fresh ingredients but as with all things here it was expensive. The hotel is a 5 min walk from a large selection of bars, breweries and restaurants. A colleague had a room facing the river which was airy with fantastic views to the lake and Mt Pilatus. My only small gripe was that there didn't appear to be a way of regulating the temperature in my room so I had the balcony doors open on the first night. Unfortunately, the 0530 street cleaning was far too noisy to sleep through, and even with the door shut, local businesses seemed to wheel their rubbish bins across the cobbles at the same time making for an unplanned alarm call. I would most certainly stay here again, only next time I'd go for a riverside room.

Room Tip: Go for a riverside room for peace and a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brands_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dénia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very comfortable Hotel. Our room overlooked the Reuss River and the Jesuit Church. Our room had tv and a small refrigerator with a selection of drinks. The Bar and Restaurant friendly Service and Good Food. The breakfast is very Elaborate and a Good Start in the Morning.

Room Tip: Room 304 is our Favorite. It Faces the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burlingame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was all about the location when we decided on this place, and it turned out to be so much more. The hotel is on the main strip after you walk across the lake (from the train terminal) and is easy to locate.

Upon entry, you can see why this is a top-rated place: It's luxuriously decorated with the right amount of sophistication. After dropping off our bags, we went down to the lounge for our complimentary drinks.

The rooms were (the only word for it) palatial and we were just blown away by the view from our balconies.

The rooms come with pretty much everything: TV, free wifi, automated coffee machine, fridge, bath etc.

The highlight was definitely the view from the balcony, it was perfect for having a glass (or two!) of red at night or fresh pastries in the morning. Everything just tasted better!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YongHwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Property: Hotel des Balances
Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing