We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Balances
Nearby Hotels
US$235
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$238
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$281
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$268
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Seeburg(Lucerne)
US$305
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$444
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
807
316
59
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
316
59
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townwelcome cocktaila river view roombeautiful hotell'occitane toiletriesjesuit churchtrain stationperfect locationair conditioningsmall balconytop floorhotel barjunior suitebeautiful roomcoffee machineloved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently stayed two nights at Hotel des Balances. We arrived at the hotel before our rooms were ready, but this wasn't a problem. the staff checked us in and secured our luggage while we took a walk around the town. Check in was 2pm and we had arrived mid morning. Staff provided details of where to go and sigths to see in the city.

Upon arrivng back at the hotel mid afternoon the staff thanked us for being patience and had upgraded our room, without charge. we now had a balacony room overlooking the city. We were provided with a complementary drink at the bar.

The main receprion is very well presented and tidy. Staff were supper friendly and nothing was a problem.

Upon arriving in our room we found a personalised welcoming note, a small platter containing peanuts and sweets. L'Occitane toileteries were also provided in the room.

Each evening staff called to provide a turn down service and chocolates. The rooms had a fan provided but we were confortable enough to leave the balcony doors open for the night for the fresh air.

We had great views of Mt Piltaus and the lake.

A lovely hotel, in a good location, beautiful views, fantastic staff and well worth the asking room price. Would highly recommend to friends and family visiting Lucerne.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwithington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ok this is not the cheapest hotel you wlll ever find but its worth it for an extra special experience. From the warm welcome including a voucher for the cocktail of the month which was very much appreciated, to efficient valet parking and a fantastic room you are set up for an experience. Our room had a magnificent view over the river and town and being on a corner had a great double aspect, the room is comfortable and well furnished. As for the restaurant....well we decided to eat there on both our evenings which speaks volumes, one night we had the taster menu, 7 courses of great food and the second night the Mediterranean menu which was different but just as good. Throughout staff were friendly and attentive. We are saving up for our next visit!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in a room with river view for two nights. The hotel is beautifully situated with a great view of the Reuss River, several of its bridges, and its busy south bank. The Hotel is in the Old Town and has many historic sights nearby. The Cultural and Convention Center, the Art Museum, and the Main Rail Station are not to be missed and are just a short walk from the Hotel after crossing the River.

The Hotel's Bar looks out on the river and serves excellent light dishes along with drinks in the evening. Breakfast is served in the same area; we had the Continental and it was very good.

The hotel is rather pricey, but we felt that the elegance, service, and surroundings justified the cost. Our visit to Lucerne was greatly enhanced by staying there, enjoying the shops and restaurants, and taking in the beauty of the setting at any time of the day. We strongly recommend the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is an incredible hotel. Perfect Location, incredible staff, fantastic restaurant and food.
We literally could not find a better spot for dinner and breakfast than their balcony on the water.
The rooms are fantastically modern yet somehow within keeping of the feel of the city and the cleanliness was exceptional. The little bag of Loccitane goodies in the bathroom was a very special touch.

The staff were fantastic. I accidentally left an expensive ring in my room and they moved it to the next room we were in the following night. I lost my iphone in a taxi after I left the hotel they tracked the cab driver down and posted to my home in Australia. You cant beat that for service, trustworthiness and generosity.

Just a little note for visitors to Lucerne - the shops and most of the restaurants all close down on Sunday which made for a nice day to walk around the town but nothing was open...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were upgraded to a lake view. The room was comfortable for our 1 night stay. The bar is very nice and the drinks were excellent. A perfect evening sitting on the balcony viewing the beautiful wooden bridge, Lucerne architecture and multiple of swans in the lake. Great location within walking distance of the Lion and city sights. Recommend.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Travel2livewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews