We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit”
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in an excellent location. Well decorated and with friendly staff. Little evening treats left in the room compensate for the slightly intermittent wifi. Loses out a 5* rating as the double bed was 2 singles pushed together but we're comfortable nonetheless.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    280
    51
    21
    9
See reviews for
204
544
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel on my own on a weekend between two business trips. Had a small single room overlooking the river and enjoyed my stay greatly. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet, really clean, my balcony had enough room to sit and enjoy the views and the amenities were of a good quality. The front desk staff was helpful in guiding me for my outing choices and even the dinner was excellent.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. We had a fantastic room with a balcony, overlooking the river and with beautiful rooms of the mountain. We had 2 small balconies with chairs. It was wonderful to wake up each morning, throw back the curtains and admire the views. The room was large and comfortable and very modern. WiFi was free. We really enjoyed the bar at night which opened onto the terrace and we loved eating breakfast outside on the terrace. This was a beautiful and romantic hotel. We give it our top recommendation. Please note that the rooms are not air conditioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendainoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel des Balances for three nights in a river view king room with balcony. The room was good size with a very comfortable bed. The small balcony had a table and two chairs and an incredible view of the river and the surrounding mountains. The bathroom was rather small but modern and very clean. A sliding frosted glass door to the bathroom was a great idea, saving on space and providing light. The room was not air conditioned and was only a problem on the first night.

We arrived on the day of Lucerne Fest. It was really fun to sit on our balcony and watch all the action. Many stages were setup and the bands played most of the night. After watching the fireworks from the balcony, we decided to go to bed. About 1:00 am, I could not take the music any longer and closed the balcony door and window. The room shut out the outside music well but it got hot in the room by morning. The next two nights were fine since we could sleep with our window and balcony door open.

We ate breakfast twice in the hotel. There are cheaper options to order off the menu. If you do decide to do the full buffet, you can also order eggs off the menu that is included in the price of the buffet. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and sat out on the terrace. It was a wonderful experience and the food was very good.

The hotel staff are all very friendly. Each afternoon, I called to request ice which was always delivered within 5 minutes. The room had a small fridge which as also the mini bar.

The hotel is expensive but was definitely worth the cost. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently stayed two nights at Hotel des Balances. We arrived at the hotel before our rooms were ready, but this wasn't a problem. the staff checked us in and secured our luggage while we took a walk around the town. Check in was 2pm and we had arrived mid morning. Staff provided details of where to go and sigths to see in the city.

Upon arrivng back at the hotel mid afternoon the staff thanked us for being patience and had upgraded our room, without charge. we now had a balacony room overlooking the city. We were provided with a complementary drink at the bar.

The main receprion is very well presented and tidy. Staff were supper friendly and nothing was a problem.

Upon arriving in our room we found a personalised welcoming note, a small platter containing peanuts and sweets. L'Occitane toileteries were also provided in the room.

Each evening staff called to provide a turn down service and chocolates. The rooms had a fan provided but we were confortable enough to leave the balcony doors open for the night for the fresh air.

We had great views of Mt Piltaus and the lake.

A lovely hotel, in a good location, beautiful views, fantastic staff and well worth the asking room price. Would highly recommend to friends and family visiting Lucerne.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwithington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ok this is not the cheapest hotel you wlll ever find but its worth it for an extra special experience. From the warm welcome including a voucher for the cocktail of the month which was very much appreciated, to efficient valet parking and a fantastic room you are set up for an experience. Our room had a magnificent view over the river and town and being on a corner had a great double aspect, the room is comfortable and well furnished. As for the restaurant....well we decided to eat there on both our evenings which speaks volumes, one night we had the taster menu, 7 courses of great food and the second night the Mediterranean menu which was different but just as good. Throughout staff were friendly and attentive. We are saving up for our next visit!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in a room with river view for two nights. The hotel is beautifully situated with a great view of the Reuss River, several of its bridges, and its busy south bank. The Hotel is in the Old Town and has many historic sights nearby. The Cultural and Convention Center, the Art Museum, and the Main Rail Station are not to be missed and are just a short walk from the Hotel after crossing the River.

The Hotel's Bar looks out on the river and serves excellent light dishes along with drinks in the evening. Breakfast is served in the same area; we had the Continental and it was very good.

The hotel is rather pricey, but we felt that the elegance, service, and surroundings justified the cost. Our visit to Lucerne was greatly enhanced by staying there, enjoying the shops and restaurants, and taking in the beauty of the setting at any time of the day. We strongly recommend the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Property: Hotel des Balances
Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing