We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, hip hotel in the heart of Luzern.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Modern, hip hotel in the heart of Luzern.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

My family and I stayed a single night at the Art Deco Hotel Montana (henceforth called 'the Montana') in Luzern, Switzerland in November 2012. The Montana was an excellent experience and is a place I would absolutely, positively stay again. The specifics of the Montana are as follows:

--Service: Fantastic service. All staff-members I encountered were polite, courteous, knowledgeable, and ready/willing to serve our needs. Most were fluent in English, German, and French. The staff works hard to take care of you (handling your bags, making reservations, recommendations, arranging transportation, etc... No complaints whatsoever. Of note, the hotel also has a private shuttle service take took us to/from the main train station.

--Location: Located atop a hill overlooking the city and Lake Luzern, the views are spectacular. I absolutely recommend getting a lake view room (I promise, you won't regret it). Although high atop a hill, there is a outside lift/elevator that takes you down to street level and is incredibly convenient. From the lift, you're a 10 minute walk to the old city and the bahnhof (train station). I have included photos of our lake view room so you have an idea of what to expect.

--Food/Restaurant: There is the Scala Restaurant which has views overlooking Lake Luzern and serves absolutely wonderful food. Their morning brunch is NOT to be missed and includes a multitude of selections including cheeses, meats, fish, eggs, bacon/sausages, breads, pastries, cereals, and even grits. Juices, water, coffee, tea, and champagne were readily available.

--Louis Bar: A bar that serves as a cigar/whiskey/music club with similarly spectacular views. Although there is a bar/pub-style menu, it's definitely not very good for families as people tend to smoke heavily. I'd stick to the Scala or head into town. However, at night, it's very adult and has an aire of sophistication. I went solo and enjoyed excellent mixed beverages and listened to music from DJ Michel Richter (played hit songs from the 60-90s). Jazz is also a mainstay at the Louis Bar. If you are sensitive to tobacco smoke, I would avoid the Louis Bar.

--Room Amenities: Our room was modern with tasteful, elegant (but not over the top) decor. Basic room amenities were there (TV, iron, coffee pot, room safe, hair dryer, and even iPhone/iPod docks). Free WiFi was standard. The beds and chair were very comfortable. Since we had a lake-view room, the balcony included table and chairs. My wife and I enjoyed drinking morning coffee on the balcony and just admiring the spectacular beauty that is Luzern.

In short, I really have no complaints about the Montana. It was a wonderful overnight stay in a beautiful hotel in a similarly beautiful city. I highly recommend the Montana.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room - the views are utterly spectacular. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven_Flory, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Montana guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your „Montana“ experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to read that you had such a great time in Lucerne. Your kind comments about the service, room and our central location are very much appreciated.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Sven Flory
Sales & Marekting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    358
    76
    24
    14
See reviews for
248
950
52
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Spend 5 nights at hotel for a business meeting. The views from my room, the conference room and restaurant were amazing. The staff very professional and exceptionally helpful. They know the area and provided excellent restaurant recommendations. One member of our party became ill right after the conference and the staff took very good care of her - arranged doctor/hospital visit and checked in regularly to make sure she was ok and didn't need anything else. Only downside of hotel was lack of workout facility; however, they do offer discounted day passes for a great facility just down the street.

Room Tip: Since the hotel is on the hill, ask for a room with a view of the water. The views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFGaloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven_Flory, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Montana guest

We are very pleased to read such a nice feedback and we are happy, that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

The view from our hotel is just fantastic and you are able to see the nice scenery of Lucerne.

It would be great to have you as our guests again soon. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and happy 2013.

Kind regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed at the Montana on a business trip. The staff was amazingly accommodating throughout the conference and really met all of our needs.

The view from my room and the restaurant is amazing....just like a postcard.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven_Flory, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Montana guest

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

The view from our hotel is outstanding and with the shortest funicular of the world, you reach the lakeshore of Lucerne within 2 minutes.

It would be great to welcome you again soon and we wish you a wonderful Christmas and happy 2013.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We spontaneously decided to spend the night at the Montana since we didn't want to drive home after a long and fantastic evening in the Louis Bar. We were lucky to get a beautiful room with lake view (well, it was dark, but nevertheless!) and a big bathroom (plus everything we needed for just one night). The Breakfast buffet was great, as always, and so was every member of the staff who we met. It's all very elegant and fancy, but never too much - as a guest you feel really taken care of!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rothenthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Montana-guest

Thank you very much for your great comment on TripAdvisor and we are pleased that you truly enjoyed our Package “Nachtschwärmer”.

In our Louis Bar your are able to degust over 130 different Whiskeys – the biggest Whisky selection in central Switzerland.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Cant rave about our stay at the Art Deco Montana the ride up to reach the lobby is so unique plus the view of Luzern and its lake from the restaurant and the rooms is breathtaking, rooms are spacious, super clean and service is warm and with quality.

Room Tip: Rooms with no view to the lake are almost half of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olachea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Montana-guest

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.

As you already mentioned the view from our hotel is amazing and it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We celebrated a couple days/nights of our Honeymoon at Hotel Montana in September 2012. We had a delightful experience. The staff were professional and efficient and knew us by name (which was surprising given that the hotel isn't small). We hesitated on spending the extra money on a Lake Room but splurging for this room was definitely worth it. As you'll read from others, the room was spacious, very comfortable and modern. The air flow in the room was a little challenging but everything else was great. The hotel at first may appear far but walking distance or with luggage an easy bus ride 2 stops to the hotel from the train station. If you're not sure if this is the place for you, I'm confident you won't find anything better than Hotel Montana. Boris helped us make reservations before our arrival and was very attentive. Given it was a special trip, this was very important to us. We spent an afternoon drinking on the open aired terrace - definitely make time for that! We ate in the restaurant one evening (very, very early) as we changed our mind last minute on where to go. The restaurant was high-end, good but a bit pricey. We had brunch the day we left and found that to be quite enjoyable and worth the splurge again. Maybe we'll make it back there one day to try the penthouse!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Montana-guest

It is a real pleasure reading your comment and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for this great feedback on TripAdvisor.

We feel very honored, that you celebrated your honeymoon at the Hotel Montana and it is definitely worth to come back and to try our breathtaking Penthouse Spa Suites.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We spent 2 days at the end of September 2012 celebrating our anniversary.
Everything was just perfect
The staff was very efficient and friendly from the first moment.
The room was big, nice looking, modern and comfort. It had a balcony with a great view over the lake and the city. Just to make a nice cup of coffee or tea to sit there and…
At the first moment the hotel seems to be a little away from the old city but it has a funicular down the hill and it takes only a 10 min walk along the lake.
The hotel has a closed and safe car parking just across the street (for extra charge) that we had reserved in advanced.
We also had a unique gourmet dinner at the hotel restaurant. The staff was doing a lot of effort to find us a place even though it was a Friday night and a last moment reservation.
We will definitely come back !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Or_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Montana-guest

What a great feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.

The location of our hotel is just perfect. Our funicular (shortest of the world) brings you within 2 minutes directly from the lobby to the lakeshore of Lucerne.

From our Scala Restaurant you are able to enjoy a breathtaking view and it would be great to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing