We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok..not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ok..not excellent”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Was there in July 2010.The hotel is good as it is in worlds small leading hotels of the world.the rooms and bathroom were great,they have a bose system which has ipod dock which was a great thing and kept us enetertaining.I'll say this hotel is quite far from market when we were walking around we saw several hotels which were close to market area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guptaanant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the MONTANA hill.

We would be very glad to welcoming you again in our house.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    364
    76
    24
    15
See reviews for
260
974
54
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you visit Lucerne, this is the place to stay! What view of the lake and the convenience of taking the funicular was just great! We had a ball, everything was perfect! The balconies in our room was an added plus and I will always think of this hotel with the fondest of memories! The bar was great, I loved the decor, drinks and the live music!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostnyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the HOTEL MONTANA!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This place was fun and I loved the music theme since I love music. My room had a few balconies and it faced the lake. The views were great! I also enjoyed going up and down the private funicular going down to the street. It was a convenient way to walk into town. This was a perfect stay in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onedirectionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The good: beautiful old building perfectly located on a quiet, yet centrally located side street. Beautiful view of the lake from the restaurant, and good service.

The bad: for the extravagantly high price that we paid (relative to other Swiss hotels we stayed at during the same trip), the rooms and bathrooms were a letdown. Dated, small, in pretty bad need of a fresh coat of paint, and not particularly well appointed. Also the breakfast food was average.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carpatifara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. The view over the lake, the mountains and the city are definitely a highlight. We are continuously investing into the infrastructure to keep ancient architectural elements preserved and newer things such as hotel rooms in the art deco style up to date.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I just loved everything about the four nights I spent at Hotel Montana in December 2013. The rooms are very clean, well decorated, and comfortable (tip- get a room with lake-facing balcony, the view is well worth the extra money). The entire staff was very friendly and helpful with tips for seeing the town and area. As for the restaurant, well, I had two of the best meals of my life there. The chef is a magician and an artist!

The location is a nice fifteen minute walk from the train station, or a quick 5 minute ride on buses 6, 8, or 24 to the Casino Palace stop. To get to the hotel, you have to take a short ride on the hotel's private funicular, which is a lot of fun.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. There may be hotels right in the center of the old town, but this place is in a good, easy to access location and you cannot beat the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanBrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Ryan

We thank you so much for your opinion on tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope to welcoming you again!

Best regards
Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Short ride from the train station and you are at the hotel with the best view. Staff very friendly and made us feel special. Rooms have a small balcony overlooking the lake and village. Only real downer was the shower...extremely small. The hotel also has a tram that goes down the mountain and right across the street from the lake. The hotel has a nice cigar bar with was nice. All in all a pleasant experience. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Dave

We thank you so much for your opinion on Tripadvisor. The hotel MONTANA-Team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill. In October we celebrated the opening of our new Hemingway Rum Lounge, so we are glad to have your positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your hotel MONTANA-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with a baby in a suite.
Well equipped spacious room with great elevated view of the lake of lucerne.
Welcome package for baby even.
Comfotable bed, large clean toilet/bath, great service from front desk.
Award winning restaurant serving great food with an equally awesome view in the dining hall.
Great breakfast spread, slightly better than standard Swiss breakfast.

Room Tip: Suites are great if you can spare the cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Ivan,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. The MONTANA Team is happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the Montana hill.

We would be very glad to welcoming you and your family in our Hotel.

Best regards
Your HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing