We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a vast, and generally empty hotel when we stayed. Might be a lot more fun at a time when there are actually other people staying rather than empty floors and restaurant spaces.
It is marketed as a 5 star but really a bit less...
Room was large but sparsely furnished. We didnt feel the that the decor was actually consistent with the claim of quality art deco style. Nice view of the lake from the room was good however. Bed consisted of two singles pushed together, so not a great nights sleep.

The funicular made walking into town easy, only about 10 minutes along the lake shore. Ok for one night but if we were any longer we would probably have relocated to the town centre somewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mike

Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously investing into the infrastructure to keep ancient architectural elements preserved and newer things such as hotel rooms in the art deco style up to date. The MONTANA is a 4 star hotel and not a 5 five star hotel.

Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

While pricey, this hotel was a fun place to stay. You can walk to city center or take the bus which stops near hotel. The funicular to the hotel was fun, but slow.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We splurged and enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was fantastic. The views from the dining area were beautiful. The breakfast buffet was the best we had.
Our room was average, but it did have a nice balcony which gave us a little view of lucerne from the far end.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbh-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. The perception of the prices is very individual and the impression if they are perceived as moderate or high is at the moment strongly linked to the currencies. The Swiss Franc is very high compared to other currencies these days. Just to let you know, that we did not increase our prices.

The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Was there in July 2010.The hotel is good as it is in worlds small leading hotels of the world.the rooms and bathroom were great,they have a bose system which has ipod dock which was a great thing and kept us enetertaining.I'll say this hotel is quite far from market when we were walking around we saw several hotels which were close to market area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guptaanant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the MONTANA hill.

We would be very glad to welcoming you again in our house.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you visit Lucerne, this is the place to stay! What view of the lake and the convenience of taking the funicular was just great! We had a ball, everything was perfect! The balconies in our room was an added plus and I will always think of this hotel with the fondest of memories! The bar was great, I loved the decor, drinks and the live music!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lostnyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the HOTEL MONTANA!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This place was fun and I loved the music theme since I love music. My room had a few balconies and it faced the lake. The views were great! I also enjoyed going up and down the private funicular going down to the street. It was a convenient way to walk into town. This was a perfect stay in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony and view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onedirectionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The good: beautiful old building perfectly located on a quiet, yet centrally located side street. Beautiful view of the lake from the restaurant, and good service.

The bad: for the extravagantly high price that we paid (relative to other Swiss hotels we stayed at during the same trip), the rooms and bathrooms were a letdown. Dated, small, in pretty bad need of a fresh coat of paint, and not particularly well appointed. Also the breakfast food was average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carpatifara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. The view over the lake, the mountains and the city are definitely a highlight. We are continuously investing into the infrastructure to keep ancient architectural elements preserved and newer things such as hotel rooms in the art deco style up to date.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I just loved everything about the four nights I spent at Hotel Montana in December 2013. The rooms are very clean, well decorated, and comfortable (tip- get a room with lake-facing balcony, the view is well worth the extra money). The entire staff was very friendly and helpful with tips for seeing the town and area. As for the restaurant, well, I had two of the best meals of my life there. The chef is a magician and an artist!

The location is a nice fifteen minute walk from the train station, or a quick 5 minute ride on buses 6, 8, or 24 to the Casino Palace stop. To get to the hotel, you have to take a short ride on the hotel's private funicular, which is a lot of fun.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. There may be hotels right in the center of the old town, but this place is in a good, easy to access location and you cannot beat the view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanBrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Ryan

We thank you so much for your opinion on tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope to welcoming you again!

Best regards
Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,025 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
958 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £177 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing