We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, superb meal and great view thrown in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Busy, superb meal and great view thrown in”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Took a while to get in, but once we were there to enjoy the experience it was worth it. We just missed the lunch session by 5 mins, but the menu we were given was more than adequate. Service was very attentive and the food we had was excellent. I had a risotto and was one of the best. They also managed gluten free ok.

The wine choice was very good and, in summary, could not have chosen better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beech79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. Lovely that you enjoyed our 15 points GaultMillau restaurant Scala with great view over Lucerne.

We hope to welcome you again in our house!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    386
    77
    25
    16
See reviews for
275
1,017
56
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was our 6th stay at the Montana.
Luzern may well be my favourite town. I love travelling in the mountains and on the Lake and window-shopping in the Old town. This time we were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary, having first stayed in a very different Montana, 25 years ago on our honeymoon.
I reviewed the hotel in 2011, when we had been disappointed to find that the hotel was over run with conference business and as individuals we were made to feel like second class citizens. Fortunately this was not the case during our stay this week.
Check-in was efficient and the reception were friendly throughout our stay. We were allocated a lovely room on the 5th floor (the same room as last time) with great views over the lake towards Pilatus. The beds are 2 singles, but this is usually the case in European hotels. We appreciated the celebratory bottle of Prosecco that we were offered and the decorated table with a view on the Terrace where we had that our anniversary dinner. The food was excellent, much better than Jasper at the Palace. The wild garlic risotto with asparagus was excellent as was the chocolate tortolino with rhubarb puree ice cream. Service was friendly and the pace of the meal just right.
The quality and variety of the food at breakfast was good although the buffet could have been replenished more quickly when supplies ran short.
We hope to return to Luzern and the Montana but the strength of the Swiss Franc does make this an expensive option for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Lucy

First, we would like to congratulate you again to your Silver Wedding Anniversary and we are very pleased that you have celebrated this special day in our house.

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and are happy to read that you had a good time in our house. Lovely, that you enjoyed our 15 points GaultMillau restaurant Scala with great view over Lucerne.

We wish you all the best for your future and hope, to welcoming you again on the top of the MONTANA hill.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent hotel with lake facing views- our room was large and clean. Only problem was that we had 2 single beds pushed together with uncomfortable pillows- I think this is quite unacceptable for the price we paid.
Breakfast was very good with a huge selection of hot and cold foods.
We had dinner at the restaurant one night which was absolutely beautiful and very attentive service, not to mention the awesome view over the lake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Jules

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We are glad to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

During my business trip to Rotkreuz Switzerland I stayed in the Art Deco Montana hotel in Luzern. This was a great experience because of the well furnished and clean rooms, the very good service and the beautiful lakeview. This was one of my best hotel experiences ever. In the evening it is nice to enjoy the hotel bar with live music.
The hotel is located near the city center of Luzern. Luzern is a nice city to visit with many attractions, good restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: The rooms at the lakeside are the best. I recommend to reserve a lakeside room before your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin20132222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Martin

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable time in our house. It is our everyday passion to give guests a great time; starting at the entrance and finishing as a positive and memorable experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the HOTEL MONTANA.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very beautiful hotel in Luzern -- very clean and great service -- the art deco style is superb !!! I found the restaurant and the terrace a bit lifeless and not very cosy - the bar looked warm and friendly but it was a smoking bar. Would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house!

We would be very glad to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked a junior suite and the room was spacious and clean with a great bathroom and deep soaking tub. Comfortable bed. Two small balconies with fantastic views of the lake. We only stayed one night but the hotel was gracious enough to give us an early check in and late check out and we truly enjoyed the time spent there.

Woke up too late and missed breakfast, but had a delicious dinner in the restaurant and the bar had a fun atmosphere. The hotel seemed somewhat quiet as I think we were there prior to peak tourist season...hence the late checkout offered. Easy walk into town and we enjoyed just meandering around and relaxing. The front desk staff was especially helpful and pleasant. The setting and views are really stunning. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueginger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We hope to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel has very nice view, kind staff and very clean room. I spent great time with my mother. Our room has balcony, it was very romantic place. I recoomend this hotel to couple or honeymooners. It is close from main station (15-20 min on foot).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time in our house. Do you know that the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA won TripAdvisor Travelers' ChoiceTM Award in 2014 and is one of the Top 25 Romantic Hotels in Switzerland?

We would be very glad to welcoming you and your mother again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
902 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing