We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do I begin...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We are currently on a sixty day independent tour of Western Europe. Today is day twenty-eight and the hotels get better with every stop. I scheduled the Switzerland Golden Pass rail tickets through RailEurope with two night stops in each major city.

We arrived at 13:00 yesterday and were expecting a wait in the lobby for our room to be prepared. I registered and was immediately "escorted" to a beautiful room. The details of how to make things work were appreciated. I sometimes cannot figure out how to turn on the lights in foreign destinations. I now know how to turn on the lights and even how to flush the toilet.

Our room (508) overlooks Lake Lucerne. The appointments in the room are very nice from the B&O TV and sound system to a properly lighted work area with multiple 220 volt electrical outlets. If you forget your power adapters they are available at the front desk. There is a nice small balcony with room for two chairs and a table. There is even an automatic awning that drops down when the sun decides to come your way. The bed is great with the usual duvets we have found at all the Swiss hotels on our tour. There is also a mini-bar, two comfortable chairs and a small table. The underside of the night stands offer ambient lighting for those late night trips to the restroom.

The concierge is there to please and in our case has done a great job from tour suggestions to making sure a taxi is ready when we are ready. The front desk sends up ice buckets since there are no guest machines in the hotel. We are old people (70+) and sometimes find the bathtubs in Europe slippery. Ten minutes after the request a tub mat is delivered to our room.

The breakfast buffet is available for about $30 and is extensive including a sparkling wine self serve station. If you stay with the Scandinavian selections you will be satisfied. The obligatory scrambled eggs were only warm and the other "American" selections suffered from steam table decay.

The Italian restaurant on the property is excellent and my review can be found under the restaurant heading on TA.

If the budget allows it stay here while in Lucerne and get a lake front room for a memory.




Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We hope to welcome you again in our house.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

we stayed two nights at this special hotel - we loved it, we had a nice very big room with a small balcony viewing the incredible views of lake luzern and surrounding mountains.
Staff is very friendly, the room is very clean, the breakfast is good , beds are very comfortable - what else do you need in a vacation.
The location of the hotel is perfect - just 10 min. walking from the old city and attractions and you can take the funicular right down from the hill

Room Tip: Aroom with a balcony and view to lake is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlomi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the MONTANA hill.

We would be very glad to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

this is the second time we stayed at the Art Deco Montana Lucern - we loved it all
we even asked for the same room as before, room 411 with breathtaking views, 2 little balconies overlooking the beautiful lake and mountains, comfy beds, clean, with nice decor
Waking up to the mountains covered in snow and beautiful lake - there is nothing like it
We took our family back and they accommodated the children well because the rooms that we had were quite big and had plenty of room. this is truly a beautiful hotel with pleasant staff and a dining room that would have the best view in the world. The decor of the dining room was
beautiful and the service staff very helpful and child friendly, breakfast amazing
thank you for making our Switzerland stay a beautiful memory
looking forward to coming back for longer next time

Room Tip: room 411 lake view, large and quite, 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaygle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Room, the view, the food, the service, the style....everything is great in this hotel. Don't miss to visit the new Beach Bar on the upper Terrace. You'll get a Miami feeling mixed with the view on the Mountains. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Markus

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you spent a relaxing time in our house. Today we celebrated the opening of our new MONTANA Beach Club, so we are glad to have your positive feedback.

We hope to see you again in our HOTEL MONTANA!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Getting a lake view room at The Art Deco Montana is a must! The room was nicely decorated with good beds. This hotel is not only beautiful and well-maintained, but well run with a friendly and accommodating staff, including Boris - the concierge who was very helpful. Dining here was enjoyable. The food and service were good. The funicular was a fun way to get down to town being that the hotel is high up on a hill. Very highly recommended!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BandJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Me and my Husband had the very lucky experience of staying here Friday to Sunday.
The hotel is lovely and we stayed in a very nice room with a little balcony overlooking the lake. We had two single beds pushed together but to be honest we weren't bothered, I have never seen anything like it, waking up to the sun shining on the water and seeing the boats and the mountain view is something i could get used to, absolutely beautiful views, this is the same in the restaurant and the bar. I recommend breakfast out in the veranda type room, walk through the dining room to the right the door is open and you can enter a glass windowed balcony type veranda, the views are so amazing to look at whilst you enjoy the tasty breakfast.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and the food was delicious.
There is a little cable car attached to the side of the hotel in the lobby which takes you down the small hill to the lake front rather than having to go out the main entrance and walk down the back street.
The bar is gorgeous, quite small but no trouble with getting served, it has all kinds or rum and whiskey if you like that tipple!! On the Friday night there was a very good piano player and on the Saturday a live band. It was very packed on The Saturday, i presume it is a popular place to go even if you are not a hotel guest.
Lucerne is lovely but extremely expensive, the views are amazing, i recommend a boat trip round the lake and it takes minutes just to cross the road and walk along the lake front into the town.
I would love to go back (although i think only possible if we won the lottery!!), we had a fantastic opportunity to stay here and i am so glad we went.

Room Tip: Any one with a Lake view is so worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Claire

We thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. The funicular from lake promenade to our hotel lobby was built between 1912-1914 and it’s the shortest funicular in the world (title from Guinness world records.) Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Montana last week for a birthday trip and had an incredible time.

The room (lake view, superior double) was beautiful and a magical spot for room service on the balcony.

The food (incl. breakfast) was faultless and enjoyed with an unbelievable view of the lake and mountains.

The Front of House staff couldn't have been more polite or helpful and we were touched by the bottle of Prosecco and the personal birthday card they left in our room.

I've stayed in many 4/5 star hotels but this one really is my favourite. I usually never stay somewhere twice, but I will definitely return to the Montana.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHBURNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear guest

Your feedback is a motivation for the whole MONTANA team, we thank you! We all hope you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £182 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing