We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Nearby Hotels
US$235
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$238
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$281
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$268
US$151
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Seeburg(Lucerne)
US$305
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$367
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$271
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,975)
Filter reviews
1,975 results
Traveller rating
1,429
419
82
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
419
82
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslouis barscala restaurantlake leveljazz barspa suiteprivate funicularlive jazzfunicular railwaycable carlake lucernebeautiful hotelthe penthouseoverlooking the lakehotel lobbyhalf boardour honeymoonan upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 1,975 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we had a great room, 5th floor with large balcony and of course amazing views. Not sure what smaller rooms are like, we had plenty of space and very comfy chairs. There is no residents lounge only the bar (uncomfortable seats) or lovely outside space if weather is fine. Restaurant was disappointing (over cooked ravoli and odd flavours which didn't compliment each other) and choice limited. Excellent breakfast.

Staff excellent, extremely helpful-terrific concierge.

Room Tip: we had mini suite, std rooms may be quite small.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley-anne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the MONTANA hill.

We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

One of the worst experience I had in recent time. From the time of check in we were facing harassment from the hotel authorities. Inspite of confirmed booking for three rooms we were told that we have booking for only one room. The excuse was that there's confusion between them and travelling agent. When our agent called them up they quickly back tracked and gave us the room. The rooms are very small and least said about the toilets. The staff at reception are very rude and always with swollen face and least courteous. Unfriendly and least interested in answering any query or being helpful. I would sincerly advise travellers not to book this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Navin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Navin

Thank you for your honest critique. First of all, we are utterly sorry that we could not win you for our ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA and that you experienced not to be cared warm hearted.

We regret the mistake happened with your room reservation but we did everything to solve the issue as quickly as possible.

Anyway, we thank you very much for staying with us and still hope you enjoyed a complimentary lake view upgrade and the gift certificate for your family for complementary drinks at our beach club.

We wish you all the best.

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were not entirely sure of what to expect at the Montana and were completely and pleasantly surprised. Very well refurbished, historic hotel. Top notch service and excellent food (I think it is rated #2 in Luzern on TripAdvisor). The views from the restaurant terrace can't be beat (they are perched on a hilltop, but don't worry there is a funicular to get you to ground level). We stayed in a corner room (room 413) with equally fantastic views. Hotel concierge was very helpful and friendly too. All in all, we have nothing but great things to say and would stay here again without doubt! Gary and Sandy Adams, Canada

Room Tip: Front corner room on higher floor (i.e. room 413) has great views over the lake and mountains.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLTravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope to welcome you again in our house.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Appeared to be a lovely hotel. Beautifully decorated and up on the hill so it overlooks Lake Lucerne. We went late night to the Louis Bar for the piano playing. Really a bar lounge and and not suitable for my 18 year old grand daughter. More appropriate for ages 40+.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in a room ; only went for the music.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucketlistend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Do you know that every thursday at 21.30 o’clock a jam session takes places at the Louis Bar?

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a fab hotel. We paid for a room with a lake view, which was worth it as Lucerne is very picturesque and was our favourite place in Switzerland.

A private funicular from the hotel takes you down to the lake level. How cool is that? The rooms are a good size and the public rooms have some beautiful art deco features. The best bit, though, is the bar and restaurant, and in particular the wide selection of whiskies and rums. The staff here were particularly helpful and friendly. Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. It's worth it. That's not true of every hotel, but it is with this one.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacD_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mac

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope to welcome you again in our house.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews