We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location & Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location & Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent hotel, stayed in Spa Suite, only issue restaurant could have been anywhere in central europe rather than more traditional swiss that we prefer when in Switzerland. Staff very helpful. booked for 5 nights but left after 4 nights as weather very rainy and hotel were kind enough to charge for just the 4 nights.

Room Tip: Lake View worth taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleSkiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    361
    76
    24
    14
See reviews for
255
964
53
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel and really loved it. I cannot agree with amandaallen21 as we are walkers and we felt very comfortable in the hotel. In fact my husband only wore his jacket on one occasion and I would say the rest of the guests looked smart and comfortable. We chose a room at the back of the hotel because of one of the reviews. It said that the lakeside rooms got full sun and could get very hot. (No aircon) We felt we had made the right decision and were very happy with the room. We couldn't fault the food and the staff were so friendly and lovely to us. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms without a lakeside view are fine if you don't want the sun on your room all day. you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Margaret

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We hope that we can welcome you again in our house!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel Montana is a very nice hotel, nice location next to a bus stop and has great views of the lake and mountains. However, there was one thing that stuck with us that made us feel uncomfortable and would be the reason we would not stay again. This is an expensive hotel and when my husband walked down to the lobby to get some restaurant recommendations he was treated less then respectfully because of the way he was dressed. We had been out sightseeing all day and he had on jeans and a t-shirt. Nothing that was dirty or bad looking by any means, just a simple plan t-shirt and jeans. We were going to change of course before dinner but when he went down to the lobby everyone else was in suits and when he walked up to ask for restaurant recommendations he was treated less than respectfully because of the way he was dressed. The staff was rude and not helpful at all. When he came back upstairs to our room he was upset and surprised in the way he was treated.

When there are many hotels to choose from with similar accommodations it really does come down to the customer service and that is exactly where this hotel is lacking. For those of us that don't get driven around in a car to see the sights and actually walk around town, take the bus or train, and enjoy doing it all on our own, this is not the hotel for you. They prefer to cater to the upper crust, those that wear suits and heels all day and "wear their money." We are all staying in the hotel and paying for our room, therefore we should be treated in the same way. However, we felt uncomfortable the rest of our stay because of the way they looked down their noses at us.

As for the room, overall the room itself was average but the view was exceptional. The major issue we ran into was the lack of plug-ins in the room. There are not any next to the bed or anywhere else in the room except one by the desk on the other side of the room. Since there is no A/C we wanted to plug-in a fan and looked forever for a plug-in close to a window. We ended up moving the couch out, unplugging one of the lights and plugging the fan in there. The room setup just doesn't make much sense in the way everything is laid out.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a room with a view of the lake and a balcony. They do not have A/C so be prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank amandaallen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Amandaallen

Thank you very much for your review. The philosophy of the MONTANA is clearly saying that we treat all our guests equally. Every guest can wear whatever he or she wants. The only exception is the Scala Restaurant where we kindly ask our guests to get dressed a bit more elegant but still comfortable. I assume that the people in the suites belonged to a marriage or to a business event. Most of our guests are not wearing a suite at any time of their stay.

We’d like to apologize for this inconvenience. Being rude and unhelpful is not the service we provide. Actually we do our best to provide friendly and helpful services to you as our guests to make your stay an unforgettable experience in a positive way. We will forward your feedback internally to make sure that something like this is not happening again.

We hope that we can welcome you again to show you that we can do better!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this great hotel for a night in May and loved every minute - great beach bar on the second floor with a wonderful view of Lucerne,, great service and excellent wines. Definitely a must do for sunny afternoon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The art deco theme is true to form throughout the hotel. The views over the lake are wonderful, both from the restaurant and the "beach" cocktail bar. The rooms at the rear "hillside view" are relatively small and the "view" is only of the houses and apartments behind the hotel so it's worth paying a bit extra for a lake view room as the views from the rooms at the front are spectacular. The hotel offers "small doubles" as well as standard size doubles and these are not always differentiated between on some booking websites - best check with the hotel direct. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and the service exemplary. Breakfast was well worth the CFR25 a head. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you check on the room size - see note above on "small doubles".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the MONTANA hill.

We would be very glad to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed for one night in a lake-view room (why would you NOT pay a little extra for the view?!) and were very impressed. The room was massive and had 2 x balconies looking over the lake, a large sitting area, a large comfortable bed and a very high-tech "B&O" television with iPod dock.
The bathroom was quite small, but well equipped with bath and separate shower stall. However, the shower's maximum height didn't quite work for me - at 1.95m, I had to bend down to wash my hair. The staff were fantastic - we had emailed before our stay to arrange parking (in a secure garage directly opposite the hotel) and for help with booking a restaurant. The concierge was incredibly helpful - our 1st choice of restaurant was closed on the night of our stay, so a couple more emails and recommendations later, we had our booking (see my review of "The Old Swiss House".
On departure, we were given bottled water for our onward journey. Nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast was good - an impressive buffet selection with tables overlooking the lake.
The hotel felt as if catering for older guests, though this may be that the lake is a popular destination for older travelers? This wasn't a problem, but the communal areas were all very warm!
The hotel shares a funicular railway to transport guests directly down to the lakeside (the hotel sits above the shore and overlooks the roofs of other buildings). Alternatively, you can walk down the cobbled streets at the back of the hotel to get into the old town. This is a pretty route and takes less than 10 minutes to walk.
Great room. Stunning views. Fantastic service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Terry

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over Lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful hotel , great location with stunning views of lucerne lake . Fantastic breakfast . Special thanks to Marie and Alexandra at the front desk for their superb service and warm welcome . I will definitely come back to lucerne and stay at the Montana again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevsved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Trevsved

We thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing