We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Note to Whisky Connoisseurs ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were at this hotel for Dinner and drinks with Football friends. I just had to mention our "Whisky Somellier" …. We are Scottish and his knowledge of our national drink was way in excess of ours. I believe his name is Peer. If your wanting a lesson in Whisky you could do no better. Excellent service and excellent staff…

If you get the chance, have Dinner on the terrace on a glorious summer evening. The setting and views are breathtaking

I will definitely visit the Montana and the beautiful city of Lucerne again...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Stan

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

From the moment we arrived at The Montana All the staff were welcoming, helpful and professional.
We loved the hotel design and position, the views of the lake and mountains from our room and the restaurant were stunning. Breakfast was a fabulous feast.
We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can't run to the rooms with a lake view don't worry as there's a bar and restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Audrey

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. For the lake view room with breakfast it cost almost $500 per night. The view from our balcony is awesome. But because it's on the 2nd floor and we can be seen by guests dinning on the balcony downstairs, we did not stay long for lack of privacy.

The panoramic view of Mt. Pilatus and surrounding lake from hotel restaurant is breath taking. It’s the beautiful view together with scrumptious breakfast buffet justified the lofty price. Even if you don’t stay here, you shall still come here spend some time in the restaurant. We had one dinner here and both the food and service are superb.

The gentleman worked at concierge desk did excellent job in helping us plan our daily outings. He was very friendly and knowledgeable in explaining to us how to get about. I give him 5 stars!

However, here are some facts that deserve less than 5 stars:
1. Our room and the bathroom are a little dated.
2. There is no AC and it’s warm inside in June.
3. The funicular to access lakeside road broke down for a day. The other day it was too crowded to get in due to a party. So we had to cut through streets and climb stairs.

Room Tip: Pay extra for lake view and ask for higher floors. Book room includes breakfast.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback. The view over the lake, the mountains and the city are definitely a highlight. We are continuously investing into the infrastructure to keep ancient architectural elements preserved and newer things such as hotel rooms in the art deco style up to date.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying Montana hotel. ( late june of 2014)
I saw a lot negative comments about reception: we didnt have any issues. All of our questions / requests were promptly addressed. Concierge Boris ( I think) was very helpful and made reservation for us at the great French bistro. We had one Dinner at the hotel and it was fantastic! Breakfasts are delicious and cater to every taste. Ah and the VIEW ! - it is just spectacular. Our room was very spacious with 4 or 5 windows ( facing the street). Location is perfect. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank barcelo_maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. Lovely, that you enjoyed our 15 points GaultMillau restaurant Scala with great view over Lucerne. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our house!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent the last 2 nights of our vacation at the Art Deco Montana and really enjoyed it. We liked that the location was a little away from the rest of old town and the funicular was perfect for getting to the lake front. The staff was wonderful, lots of ideas for seeing the sights and the restaurant was top notch. It was expensive but everything in Switzerland is. We had a very comfortable lake view room with a fabulous view of the lake and surroundings.

Room Tip: can't go wrong with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Holly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Holly

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We actually missed our return flight because the hotel reception was trying to fit another couple into our taxi that we had them call for us (we had an early train to catch and a plane). The other guests in question and hotel staff kept trying to insist we share the taxi despite our impending departure time and there being plainly no room (!) in the taxi. We are a family of 3 with luggage for 2 weeks of travel. The other guests even pounded on our taxi driver's window to get in scaring my child. It was very rude and we ended MISSING our train AND our flight and spending $1000 to buy new tickets home because of this delay. Needless to say we were AB-SO-LUTELY furious. We booked this hotel 6 months in advance. We had a very expensive room on the 4th floor overlooking the lake with 2 balconies yet breakfast was not included (we were charged 25 Euros per person for a very picked over buffet). Unfortunately the beds were rock hard and the room was stifling despite 70 degree temperatures. Our room included a portable fan but no air conditioning and opening the windows lets in a slew of mosquitoes despite following the hotel information sheet to turn off lights before opening windows to discourage mosquitoes. Our daughter's bed was the fold out couch which was a loud squeaky painful wire rack covered with the thinnest mattress. She hated it. The reception staff was initially somewhat friendly but never offered any site seeing advice. Luzern is actually a wonderful place with lots of fun and interesting things to do and we were taken aback by the attitude for such a highly rated hotel. Our comings and goings past the reception desk prompted no greetings. We were left to figure everything out on our own. The staff was often very reluctant to meet standard requests for umbrellas, feather-free pillows and blankets (the room had a "pillow menu and feather-free option"), taxis. Staff were ok with restaurant bookings and room cleanings although we returned to find them vacuuming up a broken glass in our room and one time they barged in us to do turndown service. Hotel amenities were few and required phone calls for bathrobes or clean linens (we never thought it worth calling). Line of bathroom amenities misleadingly called "Green" was actually full of toxic chemicals. I understand mistakes happen in hotels but this was every day and it was just too much to garner our sympathy. Some nice things were free like apples and rubber duckies for kids. Our child was very grateful to finally have access to a bathtub. However I cannot get past the miserable and uncomfortable nights of sleep and being deliberately delayed by the hotel staff and guests to share a *full* taxi ...and then missing our flight because of it.

Room Tip: Room 404 had a nice view of the lake and 2 balconies but no air conditioning and the rooms portable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Even though we did not have a room with view, this hotel was a total enjoyment. The rooms are beautiful, and we spent a lot of time in the lounge rooms and restaurant to enjoy the sweeping views. The staff was incredibly helpful. We are so grateful to the concierge for giving us all the right tips on how to avoid the crowds on Mt Pilatus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Patrick

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our house on the top of the MONTANA hill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,013 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £182 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing