We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We staid one night at the Montana and had a meeting in the hotel. Everything was just perfect: The room (had a newer one with wooden floor), the service (very friendly, customer oriented and charming), the meals (delicious food and good breakfast buffet) and the meeting room.
The location is great with a stunning view over the lake and the city. Easy access to the city center.
The style of the hotel is unique and refreshingly different from other hotels, especially the big chains.
We will definitively go back for meetings and some of our business partners plan a private week-end trip as they loved the hotel and the city very much.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

835 - 841 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at Art Deco Montana in October. We had stayed in Paris and hotels, chateaux and relais throughout the Dordogne before we reached Switzerland which were all lovely in their own special ways but Art Deco was truly amazing.
The staff were so friendly, informative and helpful to us in every way and with excellent English. Our room had a tiny balcony overlooking beautiful blue Lake Lucerne. It was impeccably clean, with a comfortable bed and excellent amenities.
The thing that truly set this hotel apart was the wonderful terraced dining room. Be aware that although the bar is sophisticated and comfortable, smoking is allowed and it was uninhabitable for us.
The dining room though,is simply wonderful, with knowledgeable but friendly waiters and superb food and wines, the best we ate throughout France, Switzerland and Germany. It was modern cuisine at its finest in gorgeous surroundings. beautiful buffet breakfasts are also served in this room.
The city is wonderful too, I would go back in a heartbeat and would not even contemplate staying anywhere but Art Deco. It is situated high above the lake but has an easily accessed funicular to take you to and from the street below which takes you into the city via the lakeside promenade.
Fabulous hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montanaluzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Dear Susie

Wow! Thank you very much. So great to read that you had such a wonderful stay at the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA. We think that you could not describe it any better. Brilliant., really.

We truly wish you all the best and are looking forward to having you again as our guests.

Do take care!

Warm regards,

Patric Vogel, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Very disappointing was the restaurant service, we tried to book for a diner in the restaurant but no table was available. I just find not correct that people who booked in the hotel have no table, we had to eat in the room.
The baby coat was without a real mattress and the bathroom was too small.
We found this hotel overpriced.
Otherwise, location was superb.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 188095Sandro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montanaluzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments about the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA. We would like to inform you that while booking a room directly at the MONTANA our clients will always be asked whether they like to have dinner at our restaurant. We do apologise for not supporting your spontaneous decision to dine at the SCALA RESTAURANT. We are fortunate to say that our restaurant is quite popular and therefore often fully booked in advance.

We truly hope that we are still able to win you back for the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA and to welcome you soon here in Lucerne city again!

Kind regards,

Patric Vogel, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Good hotel with really nice vue over the lake of Luzern . During the breakfast i had to chance to have my breakfast on the balcony and it was really cold out side, but with the sun and a hot chocolate and the nice view over Luzern and the lake a really nice experience. They have a cool lift to go next to the lake, if you want to have a nice walk. They have a cool bar with live music and a really good restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stixi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

very good weekend at the hotel montana, friendly staff and great room. We definitely want to come back one day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodo_1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Location of the hotel cannot be in a better position. The view overlooking the lake is magnificent especially in the early hours watching the sun rising reflecting on mount pilatus . Hotel is next to bus/tram stop with just a couple of minutes away from the city centre. Clean hotel, effcient service from all the staff, reception, waiters and housekeeping. Special thanks to Ms Weber from reception. La Scala restaurant has fine cuisine, not cheap but worth every cent. Hotel has a very handy small cable car that takes you down to the promenade in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zammitbalghy1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I've visited the Art Deco Hotel Montana now on four different occasions, the first being to "SUSS" out the surroundings by having a drink in the beautiful Louis Bar.........

We sat and watched as the sun fell behind the majestic Alps, the lights of Luzern turning the lake into a sea of precious jewels only being disturbed by the return of the graceful white steamships heading back to port like something out of an Agatha Christie Novel.

The authentic 'Deco' surrounds of the hotel only heightened that thought and I knew then that I had to return and return soon!

Our first stay was a glourious self endulgent display of pure decadence.........made so easy by the incredibly personal service we received, it was almost as if we were the only quests in the the hotel? My 40th birthday went without a hitch but I only had one regret, that I hadn't booked for another night!

So next time I did and I bought my mother along! Two fabulous lake facing rooms for two nights. Again I'd stepped back in time entering the glamourous continuously sunny age of the 1940's but with Bang & Olufsen televisions!

Fastidious service once again shone through and left us all wanting for nothing. It was as if the hotel had organised the stunning weather, crystal clear skies and unending views of the mountainous surroundings just for us!

The weekend did not end there! A relaxed sumptuous dinner followed by cocktails on our private terrace with panoramic views of the cities National Swiss Days celebrations! A liesurely trip across the lake Sunday on a traditional steam powered paddleship and a near vertical climb on a cogwheel train to the top of Mt Rigi and awe inspiring scenery is truely humbling!

I thought by this time that we had exhausted everything that the hotel had to offer but yet again they surpassed all expectations with the redevelopment of the 6th floor and unveiled 6 exquisite Penthouse Spa Suites!

An anniversary followed and what better way to show the one you love than to offer her her very own suite with not just a private terrace but a private terrace with a perfect hottub unspoilt views of the lake, city and of course the spectacular snow capped mountains!

A bed to die for but one that brings you round feeling refreshed, revitalised and ready for, I don't know? Maybe a refreshing and lung clearing steam shower or a slow and regal soak in the rolltop spa bath sitting in splendar on the mazzanine over looking your vast authentically decorated Art Deco bedroom and lounge or perhapes it should be the hottub.......? I think all three!

I can not, although I have tried, put into words how I love The Art Deco Hotel Montana or how highly I recommend it!

If you love Jazz, spoiling yourself and those you love and being spoilt by those who, I feel, genuinely care about there guest or you want to experience the magnificence of the surroundings the warmth of the welcome and the feeling of belonging then the Montana is for you!

I hope you enjoy your stay as much and as many times as I have.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuncanStaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montanaluzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2010

Wow!

Dear Duncan

We are still speechless. Read your nice words over and over again. Thank you very much for these charming comments and these so exquisite remarks about our lovely detailed ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA.

We are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed every single time you stayed so far at the MONTANA and we are truly hoping that there will be many more special moments to follow.

Until then, dear Duncan, we truly wish you all the best and would like to thank you again for taking the time to write all this down. Trust us, we totally believe that you love the MONTANA and will certainly do everything possible to keep this love going.

All the best and see you soon!

Warm regards,

Patric Vogel, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 67 in Lucerne
1,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: £172 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its hilltop location, the hotel offers breathtaking views over Lake Lucerne, the city of Lucerne and the mountains of central Switzerland. The 'living hotel' has so much to offer: 42 Art Deco rooms and 19 penthouse suites; outstanding gastronomy at the Scala Restaurant (awarded 15 points by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide) and the hotel's Kitchen Club; a variety of events in the Louis Bar and Hemingway Rum Lounge, and indulgent massages at the day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing