We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place over the lake!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Ticino
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place over the lake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

To be honest. It is not cheap to stay there. But: there are sometimes when you should spoil your self. Great staff, great hotel, great view, great breakfast with nice staff (espe. the breakfast lady was very nice). All you need i quess.. if it wouldnt be so expensive, i would go there every day

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ticinotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    358
    76
    24
    14
See reviews for
249
951
52
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

We staid one night at the Montana and had a meeting in the hotel. Everything was just perfect: The room (had a newer one with wooden floor), the service (very friendly, customer oriented and charming), the meals (delicious food and good breakfast buffet) and the meeting room.
The location is great with a stunning view over the lake and the city. Easy access to the city center.
The style of the hotel is unique and refreshingly different from other hotels, especially the big chains.
We will definitively go back for meetings and some of our business partners plan a private week-end trip as they loved the hotel and the city very much.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merricks, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

My husband and I stayed at Art Deco Montana in October. We had stayed in Paris and hotels, chateaux and relais throughout the Dordogne before we reached Switzerland which were all lovely in their own special ways but Art Deco was truly amazing.
The staff were so friendly, informative and helpful to us in every way and with excellent English. Our room had a tiny balcony overlooking beautiful blue Lake Lucerne. It was impeccably clean, with a comfortable bed and excellent amenities.
The thing that truly set this hotel apart was the wonderful terraced dining room. Be aware that although the bar is sophisticated and comfortable, smoking is allowed and it was uninhabitable for us.
The dining room though,is simply wonderful, with knowledgeable but friendly waiters and superb food and wines, the best we ate throughout France, Switzerland and Germany. It was modern cuisine at its finest in gorgeous surroundings. beautiful buffet breakfasts are also served in this room.
The city is wonderful too, I would go back in a heartbeat and would not even contemplate staying anywhere but Art Deco. It is situated high above the lake but has an easily accessed funicular to take you to and from the street below which takes you into the city via the lakeside promenade.
Fabulous hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montanaluzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
Dear Susie

Wow! Thank you very much. So great to read that you had such a wonderful stay at the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA. We think that you could not describe it any better. Brilliant., really.

We truly wish you all the best and are looking forward to having you again as our guests.

Do take care!

Warm regards,

Patric Vogel, Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Very disappointing was the restaurant service, we tried to book for a diner in the restaurant but no table was available. I just find not correct that people who booked in the hotel have no table, we had to eat in the room.
The baby coat was without a real mattress and the bathroom was too small.
We found this hotel overpriced.
Otherwise, location was superb.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 188095Sandro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montanaluzern, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments about the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA. We would like to inform you that while booking a room directly at the MONTANA our clients will always be asked whether they like to have dinner at our restaurant. We do apologise for not supporting your spontaneous decision to dine at the SCALA RESTAURANT. We are fortunate to say that our restaurant is quite popular and therefore often fully booked in advance.

We truly hope that we are still able to win you back for the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA and to welcome you soon here in Lucerne city again!

Kind regards,

Patric Vogel, Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Good hotel with really nice vue over the lake of Luzern . During the breakfast i had to chance to have my breakfast on the balcony and it was really cold out side, but with the sun and a hot chocolate and the nice view over Luzern and the lake a really nice experience. They have a cool lift to go next to the lake, if you want to have a nice walk. They have a cool bar with live music and a really good restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stixi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

very good weekend at the hotel montana, friendly staff and great room. We definitely want to come back one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodo_1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Location of the hotel cannot be in a better position. The view overlooking the lake is magnificent especially in the early hours watching the sun rising reflecting on mount pilatus . Hotel is next to bus/tram stop with just a couple of minutes away from the city centre. Clean hotel, effcient service from all the staff, reception, waiters and housekeeping. Special thanks to Ms Weber from reception. La Scala restaurant has fine cuisine, not cheap but worth every cent. Hotel has a very handy small cable car that takes you down to the promenade in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zammitbalghy1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing