We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy beds!”
Review of Hotel Krone Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Krone Luzern
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very comfy beds!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It may have been from all the traveling I had been doing, but I felt like I just melted into their bed. The location is perfect as it's right in Lucerne's downtown plaza. Room is very spacious, and we could see the plaza from our room! Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    212
    75
    20
    13
See reviews for
138
176
32
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Krone in Luzern for one night in June 2013 on our way from Italy to Germany.
We were looking for something central & not too outrageously expensive (hard in Switzerland) & the Hotel Krone was OK on both counts.
It is right n the centre of the Old Town & its façade is beautiful & historic.
Its inside is modern & clinical.
The room was of a good size but Spartan looking & wouldn't be somewhere that we would have liked to stay for more than a few days. The shower was very compact.
Breakfast was okish but didn't showcase any of the good things that the Swiss have for breakfast.
Back to cost - yes it was cheap in relation to other hotels in town but it was £200 for a night!
This kind of rate for something ordinary is a reason people think twice about staying in wonderful Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a family room on the top floor of the hotel. The room was very, very spacious for a family of two adults and two teenage boys – we just loved the size of the room! The bathroom was also very large and very well equipped. The rooms can be a little noisy and our room was next door to the hotel laundry so some noise did carry through the door and walls but it did not disturb us in any way.

The hotel does not have air conditioning but they do provide a fan. Being on the top floor it did get a little warm at times but it was not unpleasant. The breakfast was good and the staff in the breakfast room were very efficient and polite.

We really loved the location of this hotel. It was very central to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of Lucern downtown in a small charming plaza. Rooms are spacious with high ceilings and really nice. Our room overlooked the plaza outside which was really nice. Beds were comfortable and everything was really clean and well kept. Breackfast was nice and staff was really friendly during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza its a really nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terebv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This room looked made for four beds but not a huge amount of room once suitcases are on the floor and other surfaces. Nice breakfast included. Centrally located close to Chapel Bridge. Nice view of cobble stoned street and gorgeous white stone buildings. Family was happy with this room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBehncken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Picking a hotel in a far away location is always a crap shoot. The Hotel Krone is a a great location. It is located in a small, beautiful square. The hotel is pretty basic and very tourist oriented. It was very middle of the road, simple, basic. It was fine for one night, I wouldn't stay more than that.
Our room was a family room or a 4 person room which isn't easy to find in Europe. That alone gets bonus points, but it didn't come cheap. It was super stripped down, plain and utilitarian. It had a coffee maker with a generous supply of pods for the machine. It was very clean, especially the bathroom which is always a deal breaker for me.
The one somewhat disappointing thing about this hotel was the breakfast service. I will say that we had been spoiled by some amazing hotel breakfasts prior to arriving in Lucerne. I know that they aren't all as delicious and huge as what we were lucky enough to enjoy. The breakfast room is rather small, but it does literally open up onto the beautiful square. There seemed to be a lack of staff to efficiently clear tables, serve coffee and replenish the food. I can't fault the two women who were working hard to get all tasks done as fast as they could. The downside was that there were not enough clean tables for everyone to sit at. My husband and I sat at separate tables with one kid each. No big deal. The food selection was minimal when they finally refilled everything. There literally weren't enough rolls or croissants for the guests. Only one piece of turkey and no cheese. It took 10 minutes to get food. Not the end of the world, but those are the little things that you remember. I could have been happy walking to one of the many bakeries in the area and just pay for my own breakfast.
The staff we encountered upon checking in were very friendly and helpful. They lent us umbrellas for the evening when there was a downpour.
Would I stay here again, if I had to. It was a solid middle of the road hotel. No bad, not fabulous. As I said, it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed for a short weekend visit to Lucerne... The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the train station. Great location, super friendly staff, and comfortable room. They even stayed open late (until 10:45) when check-in was supposed to be done by 10. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Luzern

Property: Hotel Krone Luzern
Address: Weinmarkt 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk is on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Krone Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krone
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing