We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lucky Find in Lucerne”
Review of Hotel Krone Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Krone Luzern
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Lucky Find in Lucerne”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Hotel Krone was my second choice of hotel in Lucerne and when my first choice turned out to be ridiculously expensive for a family of four - I took the cheaper option which turned out to be a great decision. Our room was very spacious by European hotel standards and was lovely, clean and airy with super comfortable beds. We walked here easily with our wheelie bags from the railway station and were delighted to find the Hotel Krone in a gorgeous location in the old town. Our check-in by Ivan at reception was very enthusiastic and welcoming. We loved the location of the hotel in the old town, it was easy to walk everywhere. There was a good choice of food at breakfast and all the staff were friendly and helpful. No problems with Wifi on the 3rd floor. We stored our bags here all day after check-out while we explored Mt Pilatus. This has definitely been my favourite hotel on our Europe trip thus far.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    205
    75
    20
    13
See reviews for
134
171
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is an excellent hotel and location for anyone going to Lucerne. Within easy walking distance of the majority of the city's sites and attractions. A great value for this area. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side, one of the upper floors. Great view at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchMcCluhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Great looking hotel in a nice convenient location. Only challenge we had was that there is no AC. Opening the windows at night is the only option to cool things off which unfortunately lets bugs in and the street noise. Windows have to be closed by 4am as that is about when the traffic picks up. I am sure on cooler days there is no issue. Otherwise pretty average.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZfamilyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

In the best location possible, the midst of the picturesque old town, next to the river and all the restaurants. The hotel doesn’t have air-condition and the room’s facilities are quite basic. The stuff was rather nice, but couldn’t help with the poor Internet connection. We had to go down to connect.

Room Tip: Don't miss the "gold trip" to the Pilatus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hava C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here with our two teenage boys in a family room. This is a no frills hotel, but the service was excellent and it was spotless. The free breakfast was nice especially with a family, and included breads, meats and cheeses. It is a short walk to the boat and train stations, and is in the heart of old town. A great place to stay to tour Lucern.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It may have been from all the traveling I had been doing, but I felt like I just melted into their bed. The location is perfect as it's right in Lucerne's downtown plaza. Room is very spacious, and we could see the plaza from our room! Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Krone in Luzern for one night in June 2013 on our way from Italy to Germany.
We were looking for something central & not too outrageously expensive (hard in Switzerland) & the Hotel Krone was OK on both counts.
It is right n the centre of the Old Town & its façade is beautiful & historic.
Its inside is modern & clinical.
The room was of a good size but Spartan looking & wouldn't be somewhere that we would have liked to stay for more than a few days. The shower was very compact.
Breakfast was okish but didn't showcase any of the good things that the Swiss have for breakfast.
Back to cost - yes it was cheap in relation to other hotels in town but it was £200 for a night!
This kind of rate for something ordinary is a reason people think twice about staying in wonderful Switzerland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Luzern

Property: Hotel Krone Luzern
Address: Weinmarkt 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krone Luzern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk is on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krone Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krone
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing