We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location, Comfy Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Lampung
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Location, Comfy Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel early November 2013. The receptionist was VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY... Got a room facing the inner side of the hotel instead of the ones facing the street.

Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Choices of pillows were available upon request.
2 pieces of chocolate and a bottle of water was complimentary (Nice touch with the chocolate).
Bed a little bit soft (would have been better if the bed was firmer)... But then again, it is a matter of one's preference.

Shower was okay... water pressure was good (strong)... however, water temperature sometimes drop, sometimes went up by itself.

Free WIFI during your stay. They required you to apply for a password which they sent over to your mobile phone number. Surprisingly, the username/password also work with the MONZOON network in the Mount Pilatus shop (On top of Pilatus). (Y)

Plenty of shops around.
VERY near to the Luzern Station.... (PLUS POINT)
Around 5-7 minutes to reach there through underground escalator.
Around 4-5 minutes to reach there with crossing the street above.

EXTREMELY close to Kapelbrucke... Less than 1 minute to reach there.

Breakfast was good. Standard breakfast (scrambled egg, sausages, fruits, coffee maker, chocolate dispenser)... Croissant was superb.

Used the public toilet for hotel guest in the basement.. they were clean... *good*

I will DEFINITELY stay in this hotel again in the future.
Oh and price were REASONABLE.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank htandoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guest

thank you very much for your detailed overview and description of your stay! We are sure that your nice words and your 5points rating will help other travellers to make their choice!
We are so happy that you recommend us and that we were able to exceed your expactations.

We count on your words : please return soon! Sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes and the Flora-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    578
    218
    80
    45
See reviews for
242
634
59
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Flora in Luzern. It is only 5 min walk from the train station and 2 min to the lake and Chapel Bridge and many cafés and restaurants. Really great location and reasonable price. But I think the hotel should address some issues. The WiFi in the room is a little spotty...and didn't always work so well. The hot water was not consistent (temp changes during a shower), and there was not a single English speaking TV channel out of 40 or so. Plus, you could feel the bass and thumping noise of the next door disco at 4 am! I easily went back to sleep, but had read previous reviews of this and was glad I wasn't there on a weekend! The room was very nice and fairly big, the breakfast was really wonderful and the staff was helpful. And perfect location for us. Overall a well priced B+ hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChazInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest

thank you very much for your feedback. Your remarks will allow us to re-adjust everything to our standards as you should not have any problems with WIFI and water temperature!
Please accept our sincere apologies - We will double check with our technicians.

Furthermore, we are gald that our service provided has been heartly and professional!
We do hope that you will give us the chance on a future trip to proof that we are able to get an A rating!
Sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was one of our favorite hotels of a three week trip to Europe. Not the most luxurious by any stretch, but definitely one of the most memorable places we stayed at. The staff was courteous, professional and helpful. The location can't be beat, close to the train station and a minute's walk to the bridge. The design of the room was one of the things that stayed with me. Gorgeous colors, comfortable bed, definitely not a run of the mill hotel room. The hotel has a bistro linked to it, great place for a drink and snack. The breakfast was also really nice. Not really a bad thing I can come up with about this hotel. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Still trying to find out where they find that deer head (false of course!) mounted to the bedside wall, loved it! For a visit to Luzern or a one nights' stay before heading to Zurich airport (which is what we did), can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest

thank you so much for your recommandation. We are sure that it will help us to gain more and more Ameron Hotel Flora fans!
We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our Smart Premium rooms as well as the culinary service of breakfast and dinner.
By the side : the dear head is from the company Karé design! Happy you liked this little touch!
Thank you very much as well for pointing out our team as courteous, professional and helpful!
That is a big motivation!
Please return in near future! Sending warm greetings from Lucerne!
Jessica Ternes and the Flora-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

A lot of reviewers complain of slow check in, we did not experience any time issues but it would be nice to receive a smile and a warm welcome. Quite perfunctory. We arrived and our room was in excellent condition. The bed was super comfortable and lovely duvets. What I think this hotel needs is a heart, we decided to eat lunch on the first day and felt we were just a trouble in an overcrowded lunch service. We requested a gluten free meal for my husband and felt we were just tolerated. However the evenings were so different the restaurant manager Thomas came to our table and discussed my husbands dietary needs even introducing us to the chef. Breakfast is excellent, plenty of options.

That's where the good stuff ends .

I'd suggest you not pay for any extra for the convenience of a coffee machine, initially you get four pods and the paperwork says that you get the first refill free, a bottle of mineral each day. Well we did not get the refill complete on the second day and we are still waiting for mineral water after the first day. This evening I even had to call for a cake of soap, none for two days. But the room service had the time to add a sticker to the toilet roll, "feel good. " What a joke having to call up and ask for basic toiletries in four star hotel. And how hard is it to leave a spare pillow in the cupboard. I am still waiting to find the pillow menu. Maybe room service were too busy with the toilet roll stickers to leave one in our room. I'd suggest saving your money and opt for the basic room can't see value when you have to pay for extra pods when you have already paid extra for coffee in the room.

The location to the station is excellent and so near the old town that little things let down this lovely hotel down.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower, if you have limited mobility. Our room had a very tall bath and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear guest

thank you very much for taking the time and sending your feebback.
We deeply regret the incidends happened and that we may have disappointed your expectations.
Personally, I regret that we missed out to notice on property as I am convinced we would have found solutions for you.
A warm and welcoming service as well as your well-being is very important to us.

It would be our great pleasure to convince you with our heartily and highly professional service on a future trip to Lucerne.
Sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Famagusta, Famagusta, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

we have stayed there for 3 nights. We have really enjoyed our staying. Room was really clean and tidy. Also, Ameron Hotel has the best location. Everything is nearby, train station, shops, restaurants, clubs and so on..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataSa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear guest

thank you very much for your top rating of 5 points. We are very happy that we were able to convince you with our cleaness as this is the most critical point !
We will transfer your compliments and this will be a big motivation - especially for the housekeeping team!

Sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes and the Flora-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel Ameron flora has may be the best location in Lucerne. its just 5 min walk form the railway station so no taxi required. And from Hotel its just a 2 min walk to chapel bridge. Everything is nearbby or just 5-10 min walk. We felt that the staff of the hotel is not welcoming. we had to wait for a long time for the check in. Rooms are very small then shown on the website. We had a bad experience. We had paid in advance through credit card but the hotel was not having details of the same. they had wasted my 45 mins while checkout. so you are advised to keep hotel payment receits with you once you are travelling to this hotel. Hotel does not even have double beds. they combine two double beds into one double bed. It is not comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear guest

we are very sorry to learn that there have been problems on check out and your remarks will help us to re-adjust our standards. Please accept our sincere aplologies for any inconvenience caused.
Most of the Swiss hotels offer twin bedded double rooms as Queen and King is not the general standard. We do hope that beside those things you enjoyed your overall stay!

Best regards, Jessica Ternes - General manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Flora hotel is in the perfect location to walk all over Lucern at a value price. The included breakfast is filling and tasty. Only a 5 minuet walk from the train station so you do not need a cab. The Globus department store is around the corner so your two main points to locate the hotel are Globus and the chapel bridge water tower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest

we are so happy about your top rating!
Thank you so much for your kind words and recommandation...

Our buffet breakfast and friendliness of our team is very appreciated. Your review is a bif motivation for the entire team.
Best regards, Jessica Ternes and the Flora-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Property: Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Address: Seidenhofstrasse 5 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameron Hotel Flora is in a prime location, 500 ft from the Chapel Bridge and 320 yards from the train station and Lake Lucerne. It has stylish rooms. You can park your car on site and reach the historic Old Town or the KKL Culture and Congress Centre within a 5-minute walk of the property. The modernly furnished rooms feature air conditioning, minibars and satellite TV. From January-March 2016, guests staying 2 nights or longer receive the two-day Winter Tell Pass, which provides unrestricted access to the public transport and ski lifts in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flora
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing