We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are a total letdown”
Review of Hotel Rothaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rothaus
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is in a great, central location. Reception area is quite presentable with a friendly service. Breakfast was good too - for a Best Western. . But the rooms are a total letdown. Old, dated, uncosy, I thought only hostels and youth centres would look like that - so a one star for the room and ugly bathroom. Ours was on top of it overlooking the main street which was very very noisy until morning hours. The price doesn't reflect all this, so next time we will choose to pay extra and stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is a little walk away from the trainstation but it's not to far. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the 5th floor. There was a nice big balcony with loungechairs, a separate toilet and a neat and tidy, but not to big, bathroom. The only thing we missed were the tea and coffee stuff but the rest of the room was perfectly okay, with the sittingcorner and (of course) the separate bedroom. The breakfastbuffet is also good with several choices of bread and yoghurt.

Room Tip: The elevator makes some noice, so stay away from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard-Roadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Easy walking distance to downtown and the major sights, old town and shopping strreets close by. good breakfast, friendly staff. Parking close by for CHF 22 per day. Free wifi worked well Rooms very clean and have all one needs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kiefer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

When I opend the hotel door for the first time, all I could think was that awful "old" smell of cigarette. That smell was overwhelming everywhere at the hotel. Hotel itself and the rooms are old and dated. Rooms had no soundproofing at all, so you could hear noice from the corridor all night long. There was no instructions where to find a hotel parking and it was difficult to park in front of the hotel even for a quick stop to unload the car. I would pass the breakfast. They could do so much with a small make over. Staff and the location were ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Good hotel in central Lucerne. Included breakfast. Service good, friendly and helpfull staff. Therooms are a bit small but normal for a standard Best western hotel. The price is around 150 francs for a double.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gobystolsvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Wonderful location if you want to see the old town of Lucerne. Near to everything. Parking was difficult and had to pay for this. Staff was very freindly and accomidating. Was able to park the car and explore the town on foot, which was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here for 2 nights during our vacation in Nov 13. The location is very good as it is walking distance to the train station, chapel bridge and Lucerne Old Town. They have been providing good customer service by allowing us for early check in. Both check in and out process were fast. The continental breakfast that provided by the restaurant was good and the hotel staff was polite. The room is normal size as compared to other Swiss hotel. Overall it is convenient to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotham0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 66 in Lucerne
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 66 in Lucerne
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#35 of 66 in Lucerne
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#20 of 66 in Lucerne
350 reviews
0 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#23 of 66 in Lucerne
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 66 in Lucerne
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothaus

Address: Klosterstrasse 4-6, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Rothaus)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: £84 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rothaus 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with restaurant is centrally located in a quiet area at the rim of the old city; the staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rothaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucerne
Best Western Rothaus
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing