We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with good staff”
Review of Hotel Rothaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rothaus
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel with good staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Hotel Rothaus, Luzern is a good hotel. We reached the hotel 2 hours before the checkin time. The staff was very courteous, and promised us that despite of early arrival, she will ensure to allot us the room as soon as it gets vacant and cleaned up. And she did that. Moreover, she offered us a waiting room to take rest and offered us the usage of free internet. The staff is very courteous. The rooms are of average size, bet well kept. The interiors are ethinic. The restaurant is very famous and the food quality is great.
Overall, a very nice hotel with a courteous and helpful staff. The decor of lobby area and the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhuvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    44
    56
    27
    13
See reviews for
36
44
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I spent 4 nights at this hotel together with my husband. It is a nice small hotel at a convinient location of Lucerne. The rooms are clean, the service is very good. I would recommend it to anyone who does not want to spend a lot for accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_79Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khobar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

Ugly small room, no AC, very old furniture. Insects in bathroom. extremely expensive.

unprofessional staff.

I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faylasof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I lived here with my girlfriend snd we loved this place very much. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweRRp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

The Best Western Rothaus is an easy 15-20 minute walk from the Luzern Rail Station. Pick up a city map at the Tourist Office to get started, then follow the Brown Hotel signs to the hotel. The lady at the reception desk was great when I arrived at 1000am, she took my bags as it was too early to checkin and pointed me in the right direction for the bus to Mt. Pilatus. Upon return, I waited 5 minutes at the desk for the manager to finally come out to give me a room key. He was sooooo busy. Had dinner in the restaurant which was very good as well as the service. Noticed the manager was involved in entertaining his friends so maybe that was why the front desk was not important. Breakfast was great ..cereals, breads, meats, cheeses, eggs, juices, teas and coffee..The room was extremely clean and the bed and pillows very comfortable. This hotel was quite adequate for a one night stay but not at all a welcoming, friendly attitude from management. They could care less if you come back or recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuJuB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

This hotel is OK, but not great. The rooms are very dated (i.e. carpet on the walls and fixtures straight out the 70's) but the beds comfortable and sheets clean. If you're at all precious about your hotels, then this place isn't for you. We've stayed at many 3 star hotels and the dated feel detracts from this place when you initially arrive, but essentially it does the job and is certainly much cheaper than other hotels in lucerne.

On the upside, the breakfast is quite nice (for a cold buffet) and the hotel is a short 5 mins walk to the lake / centre of town and 10 mins from the train station. There's also a great bar (Bar 58) directly accross the road, but it can be a bit noisey when everyone leaves at the end of the night. The bus to Mt Pilatas, leaves nearby (definately recomended to do!) and the staff are relatively helpful. There's some nice little local restaurants nearby too.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Rooms are very dated
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Traveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
200 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

Our experience reflects what other reviewers have said: 1. The location is good – a quiet location just a few minutes walk from the Chapel Bridge and the old town. 2. The reception desk staff is often not present (I think they are understaffed, and staff covers the desk, maintenance, and some functions within the restaurant). So you should be self-sufficient! 3. Your experience at this hotel will depend greatly on the location of your room. We were on the quiet side (i.e., not facing the street with the pub) but we were on the first floor and we heard the hallway noise from a group down the hall in a special function room/hall. The room was OK for a European city (which are usually small). 4. We booked at the TI, upon arrival one Friday evening at the Lucerne train station. The TI called around and got us a good price relative to other choices – but more than other reviewers paid on the BW website. (Warning: tour groups/buses seem to find their way here and take over the small lobby and clog the elevator and perhaps the restaurant.) The best thing of all was that a smoke-free bar/restaurant (“Restaurant 3 Konige”) was right next door at the corner. It was a wonderful refuge from the smoking EVERYWHERE in Switzerland; the staff was friendly and the food good and makes the location of the Best Western that much more convenient. The bar was often full of Americans looking for relief; we had a guilty pleasure of a hamburger and pomme frites as a respite from Swiss cuisine we’d been enjoying. These meals were also relatively cheap, given the cost of most restaurant meals in Switzerland.

  • Liked — Breakfast; Location in Lucerne, and value
  • Disliked — Noisy event room down the hall
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosmo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 68 in Lucerne
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 68 in Lucerne
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#34 of 68 in Lucerne
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#31 of 68 in Lucerne
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothaus

Property: Hotel Rothaus
Address: Klosterstrasse 4-6, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Rothaus)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rothaus 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with restaurant is centrally located in a quiet area at the rim of the old city; the staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rothaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucerne
Best Western Rothaus
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing